We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Central Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Albert Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Station Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Edward Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveller rating
129
242
140
86
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
242
140
86
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslady jane greyoak suiteold buildingwonky floorssteeped in historycoaching innamazing buildingfour poster bedwine barcentury innsaturday nightlots of charactermiddle of townncp car parkbuffet stylereal aleself service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 681 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Room no' 102
After trying to find the place as it is extremely hard to find and Satnav doesn't seem to know either, we then had to go back to the car and move it closer but still not close enough. No Car Park is rubbish.
Room was not clean at all.
Bed isn't comfy.
I have pictures of the window area which is disgusting.
No noise but seagulls are extremely loud all day and night.
Breakfast a bit rubbish. Tasted old like it was yesterdays.
Checkout at 10am, went down at 9:45am and no one on the desk. Had to walk around for 5 minutes trying to find someone.

Gloucester in General is a horrible place. Don't do it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

I am sorry you were unable to find the hotel easily - it is right in the city centre where it has always been for the last 564 years (and that's why we don't have a car park - the hotel was built with stables!). We do supplypostcodes of car parks on our website and those of major booking agencies if you care to look and other guests' SatNavs seem to work OK.

I apologise for the roof outside, but it is not ours. I will endeavour to get the owners of that building to clean it.

Yes seagull are noisy - your point being? For breakfast we provide two types of fruit juice, 6 cereals, Danish pastries, croissants, bread and rolls, tea, coffee, museli, yoghurt, fresh fruit, fried & scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, baked beans, fried bread, mushrooms, tomatoes - I could go on but think I have made my point. Your suggestion that we provide 'yesterdays' food is totally untrue and may be libellous. Suggest you read other recent reviews! And slagging off the beautiful city of Gloucester in general is cheap.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

i recently spent a memorable night at the new inn hotel
i was absolutely enchanted by the building and setting. i stayed in the "oak suite" with a four
poster bed,dark wood panelling and period style soft furnishing. the resident ghost did not put
in an appearance but in the wee small hours it felt a lot more spooky. to add to the atmosphere
there was even a production of macbeth in the courtyard.
the only critisism was the england/brazil football flags hung up in the courtyard, totally out of
keeping and should have been banished to the bar.
breakfast was tasty and plentiful and served as a buffet . the staff were friendly and helpfull

Room Tip: choose one of the 2 four poster suites
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steph s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments. I take your point about the flags - they'll soon be gone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What an amazing hotel full of history and friendly,Happy staff my first time here and while be staying here again ideally situated as i came up to photograph Gay pride and will be using this hotel again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stokedaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind remarks - much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed in from a historic point of view. Really quirky and in a brilliant location. Okay the rooms are tired and need some renovation but the room was clean. The buffet breakfast was good and food replenished as it ran out. The evening menu was a little boring but I'm sure the new management will look into this. Very helpful staff. One of the highlights of our stay was the filming of a period drama in the courtyard which involved some beautiful horses pulling a carriage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyOxted_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments - it is always pleasant to be appreciated. We know the rooms are in need of renovation and this is under review -we are pleased to have at least got them up to an acceptable standard of cleanliness following two years of neglect under previous management. With our new kitchen team in place we have launched a new menu and will also be featuring daily specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Arrived 8pm to warm and friendly welcome. Room clean but in need of some TLC. Tear in net curtain. Broken pane of glass in window. Peeling paper on ceiling. Had evening meal at hotel as found there were no other choices locally. Most of menu seemed to be unavailable but Manager did offer complimentary dessert to compensate without asking or complaining. Had fish and chips which was very good. Breakfast in morning was very good too offering excellent choice. One night stay so pretty good value for the two of us. Good central location for public transport and high street shopping if that's what you like but there is a lot of noise very early in the morning as shops and traders, and the pub, set up for the day and take in deliveries. If you want nightlife and trendy bars etc you're better off booking looking at Gloucester Quays.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments - much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews