We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient and Charming”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

One of the problems with Trip Advisor is the way that poor reviews hang around like bad smells in an enclosed room. The new owners have obviously made a great effort to make the New Inn the jewel it should be. There is a way to go but they deserve credit for what they have done so far. My room was clean, cheerful and everything worked as it should. The building is wonderful with crooked stairs and wonky floors. The price for a twin room was very reasonable and it is difficult to imagine a more convenient place from which to explore Gloucester.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review - we do appreciate it when our efforts are noticed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    214
    123
    73
    77
See reviews for
58
306
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently spent 3 days at The New Inn. We used to stay there in the late 70s early 80s on cricket tour. As we are now more affluent we booked a superior room this time. We had the Lady Jane Grey suite on the 1st floor - there are 2 - I think the other one must be the one with a four poster bed. It is a lovely big room which fronts onto the High Street. As I had requested a quiet room I asked if there were any other rooms but was assured that as the road is pedetrianised it would be very quiet. However there was noise from pedestrians in the evening and rubbish collection/street cleaning and deliveries from the early hours. We already knew about the seagulls so these other noises may have been irrelevant. The room had large window with thin white curtains which meant it was light from around 4.30 at this time of year. One of the curtains was hanging by one hook when we arrived. When I reported it the manager said he would try and come up but he was' on his own'. He did eventually come and managed to suspend the curtain by 3 or 4 hooks promising to have it fixed properly the next day. My husband found another hook on the floor which he added and that is how it stayed for the rest of our stay. Properly hung thick ( light obscuring ) curtains would be a real improvement. We invested in earplugs and eyemasks as a solution to these problems. Also there were only 3 hangers in the wardrobe - the manager promised to 'look for some more' but again nothing was forthcoming. A quick trip to the 99p shop solved that problem!
We were only provided with2 tea bags and 2 pots of milk. When we asked for more they were willingly provided in abundance - it would just be nice not to have to ask.
We also had difficulty connecting to the internet from our room although we could get a good connection to the router. The manager implied it was a problem with our computer but we didn't speak to anyone who had managed to connect from their room and we could easily connect down in the coutyard. My son, who I rang for advice, suggested I try and reboot the router , which is what I would do at home, but I didn't like to interfere.
Unlike some we found our way to the car park easily using the post code on the website but then wandered round Gloucester trying to find the hotel. We eventually found a quick route between the two via Kings Walk and New Inn Lane. It would be useful if a description of this route could be included on the website as the Kings walk end of New Inn Lane is not obvious.
We felt the breakfast was adequate. I personally would appreaciate some fruit salad rather than a bowl of whole pieces of fruit which are difficult to handle without a sharp knife.
This is a fabulous building weel worth a visit. I understand that it had falled into disrepair and that the new owners are undertaking refurbishment. This may seem a rather nit picking review but I am just trying to suggest some small things that together with a slightly more proactive management style that could make things much better in the short term.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilloUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review. The matter of curtains has been raised with the owners and is being addressed, and we have ordered more coat hangers. Regarding the internet you did actually tell me that the problem had been your own computer's security settings, not our wi-fi system!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

After a previous stay in the room with a four poster bed, i knew that a normal room would be a little bit less atmospheric for valentines day. But nether the less i liked the hotel. This time around though i was dissapointed to find no hot water in the morning and that the towels were a bit on the small side. apart from that a good nights sleep

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review. As you stayed here five months ago, prior to our taking over the hotel, I can make no comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Room no' 102
After trying to find the place as it is extremely hard to find and Satnav doesn't seem to know either, we then had to go back to the car and move it closer but still not close enough. No Car Park is rubbish.
Room was not clean at all.
Bed isn't comfy.
I have pictures of the window area which is disgusting.
No noise but seagulls are extremely loud all day and night.
Breakfast a bit rubbish. Tasted old like it was yesterdays.
Checkout at 10am, went down at 9:45am and no one on the desk. Had to walk around for 5 minutes trying to find someone.

Gloucester in General is a horrible place. Don't do it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I am sorry you were unable to find the hotel easily - it is right in the city centre where it has always been for the last 564 years (and that's why we don't have a car park - the hotel was built with stables!). We do supplypostcodes of car parks on our website and those of major booking agencies if you care to look and other guests' SatNavs seem to work OK.

I apologise for the roof outside, but it is not ours. I will endeavour to get the owners of that building to clean it.

Yes seagull are noisy - your point being? For breakfast we provide two types of fruit juice, 6 cereals, Danish pastries, croissants, bread and rolls, tea, coffee, museli, yoghurt, fresh fruit, fried & scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, baked beans, fried bread, mushrooms, tomatoes - I could go on but think I have made my point. Your suggestion that we provide 'yesterdays' food is totally untrue and may be libellous. Suggest you read other recent reviews! And slagging off the beautiful city of Gloucester in general is cheap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

i recently spent a memorable night at the new inn hotel
i was absolutely enchanted by the building and setting. i stayed in the "oak suite" with a four
poster bed,dark wood panelling and period style soft furnishing. the resident ghost did not put
in an appearance but in the wee small hours it felt a lot more spooky. to add to the atmosphere
there was even a production of macbeth in the courtyard.
the only critisism was the england/brazil football flags hung up in the courtyard, totally out of
keeping and should have been banished to the bar.
breakfast was tasty and plentiful and served as a buffet . the staff were friendly and helpfull

Room Tip: choose one of the 2 four poster suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steph s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments. I take your point about the flags - they'll soon be gone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What an amazing hotel full of history and friendly,Happy staff my first time here and while be staying here again ideally situated as i came up to photograph Gay pride and will be using this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokedaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind remarks - much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed in from a historic point of view. Really quirky and in a brilliant location. Okay the rooms are tired and need some renovation but the room was clean. The buffet breakfast was good and food replenished as it ran out. The evening menu was a little boring but I'm sure the new management will look into this. Very helpful staff. One of the highlights of our stay was the filming of a period drama in the courtyard which involved some beautiful horses pulling a carriage.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyOxted_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments - it is always pleasant to be appreciated. We know the rooms are in need of renovation and this is under review -we are pleased to have at least got them up to an acceptable standard of cleanliness following two years of neglect under previous management. With our new kitchen team in place we have launched a new menu and will also be featuring daily specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn-Relaxinnz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Property: The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Address: 16 Northgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn-Relaxinnz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard on first and second floors. There are no ground floor rooms. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music on Thursday and Friday until midnight and karaoke on Saturday until 2am. Kindly note that we are in the City Centre and guests are advised this is not the place for a quiet break. Reccommended parking is available at Bruton Way NCP (opposite the railway station) - GL1 1DG. Drop off area in New Inn Lane GL1 1EA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The New Inn-Relaxinnz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester
The New Inn-Relaxinnz Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing