We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS The staff make Victor Meldrew look like Santa Claus.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed 18 August 2014

At first appearance this hotel/bird sanctuary look very nice. But once inside it's very shabby.
The staff ARE NOT friendly or welcoming (apart from the Canadian barmaid who was the only member of staff I saw smile)

The room.
Bed - dirty. And it was a twin and both the same
Shower - mould everywhere and dirty.
The room in general, looked like a 1 star hotel in Bagdad.

We had 5 rooms booked and the best of them was "Ok" at best.

There are nesting pigeon in the walkways to the rooms, with bird droppings on all walkways to the rooms. Making it dangerous underfoot as the floors are all wood.

Although this is the sort of old fashion pub my self and partner love to stay in. This place is very run down and the staff need some extreme customer satisfaction training.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

This gentleman was one of a party who misunderstood or misheard our directions to Bruton Way car park and instead parked at Gloucester Railway Station, which cost a lot of money. They then accused my assistant manager of giving them incorrect information. We have a mantra about parking and say it up to 30 times a day "We recommend that you park at Bruton Way NCP, which is opposite the railway station. It is a pay on exit car park and if you collect a voucher from reception when you check out you will only pay £3.50 per 24 hours"
Having made this error the guests were somewhat aggressive at check-out and just stood staring me down for some time.
As then left I overheard them say something about 'TripAdvisor' and I knew they would then make up a bad tale about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

After walking around the dirty run down town of Gloucester looking for somewhere decent to eat we came upon The New Inn which looked very impressive so we decided to eat in the restaurant.
On entering it looked a little shabby and not A1 with cleanliness.
We ordered drinks and our meal. After half an hour asked if our meal was coming and was told "Yes it's coming" after another half hour we decided to leave as it is unacceptable to wait an hour in restaurant with only a few people in. We paid for our drinks to a very surly waitress with no please or Thankyou or explanation for the delay.
In the right hands this beautiful building would a great tourist attraction in an otherwise run down city.
Great opportunity for someone with the right business knowledge and aptitude to turn a beautiful building into what it should be

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

This guest did not stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here recently with family and was pleasantly surprised. After reading some of the reviews was a bit apprehensive. Lovely atmosphere, very "olde world" - not a straight line in the place but rooms were clean and beds were comfy. Yes it was noisy but we were warned that Friday and Saturday were live music nights. That all quietened down soon after midnight. The seagulls didn't though and they kept up a chorus most of the night. Parking is a slight problem - be prepared to find your place and walk to the hotel. Once you are there relax and enjoy the central location and lively Gloucester!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 159SMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments - a shame others don't see the positives!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The New Inn is desperately in need of some tender care, the courtyard is quite charming, but the rest of the inn, the rooms etc are in bad condition. Shower was poor, bed was poor, quite noisy rooms. The best that can be said is that it is cheap!"....

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Stravaiger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. Sorry that you were unhappy with your room but you cannot generalise about the whole hotel on the vbasis of seeing one of our 33 rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here 2 nights and friends did the same last week. Its a great old inn with all the old beams one could wish for. The rooms are what one should expect in a historic building – do not stay here if you want a square box with no character. Bed was good, room was clean, plumbing all worked.

Unfortunately it is spoilt in 2 areas – one out of control of the owners, one in their control:

Firstly, Gloucester council seem to be doing their best to drive residents out of the city with road cleaners and dustbin men being very noisy at 5:30 in the morning – this is not necessary; but is out of the control of the New Inn owners (I had the secondary glazing closed but this has little effect on a cleaning machine just outside the window).

Secondly there are those things the New Inn owners can change, namely:

1) The WLAN does not work in any real sense. There are 3 NewInn networks, all fail to connect (I have a new laptop and know what I am doing; I also reset one of the routers as advised to no avail).

2) Breakfast is supposed to be at 07:00 but was not ready until 07:15 – a small thing but many people have trains/buses to catch and I had work appointments – this is completely under your control so you have no excuse not to sort this out. On a similar vein the reception is locked up until just before 07:00 so if you have to leave early then you had better ask what you are expected to do with the key when you leave.

3) When you walk into the New Inn the first thing that you experience is a loud TV in the bar – making the entire bar area useless except for a few diehards. This was the same all 4 days I walked in so was not an accident.

Finally the thing that will really stop me using this hotel again was the attitude of the staff – OK there is British quirkiness which tourists are perhaps prepared to put up with, but I just felt you couldn't be bothered.

There is no point putting up a sign saying Tripadvisor are holding you to ransom when you are not facing up to those issues you can change.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alexken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your comments.
1/ Agreed there is nothing we can do about this.
2/ There are in fact 12 Wi-Fi zones, all recently professionally upgraded, and all are working - I have just vwalked around the hotel and tested them.
3/ Breakfast does start at 7am.
4/ If you leave before breakfast time leave the key in the room! Simples

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I have just enjoyed a night at the New inn .wow what a wonderful building with history. It was exactly what we expected cob webs and all lol . All staff were friendly and helpful although very busy . The wonky floor boards and ceilings ,slanting bedroom furniture all added to the ambience of the weekend.ate in the restaurant food was good although in midst of change.breakfast was extremely enjoyable will hopefully return for Xmas market.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisabiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for your comments - we look forward to seeing you again at Christmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The New Inn, Gloucester is a Grade I listed hotel and is the most complete surviving example of a medieval courtyard inn in Britain, they say. It's supposedly haunted by Lady Jane Grey who apparently declared herself queen in the gallery overlooking the courtyard. However as she was beheaded over a hundred miles away in London, the fact that we didn't hear her despite being in the room next to the Lady Jane Grey and finally that I don't believe in ghosts, that's a bit of a tall tail I think.
Although the place has many charms and is good value for a short stay, it's no doubt more interesting to hear about the poor service. Or to be fair mediocre service. not just the attitude of staff which was off hand enough to be approaching rude, but the fact that the hotel reception, restaurant, pub, a coffee shop and a wine bar all share the same internal courtyard space but all seem to be run as completely independent businesses. Staying in a room doesn't mean you can order to it and you have to pay as you go along. It's just bizarre.
Gloucester itself needs some urgent regeneration and there are some signs of that in the dock area but that needs to be spread out. Perhaps being a 2015 Rugby World Cup host city status will help. We chose Gloucester as a convenient West Country location and visited, Bath and Bristol which were excellent and can easily be reached by train or car. I think there's even a bus (but I couldn't recommend that). I think next time we'll go straight to either of those, however, the probability is we'll return to the New Inn one day, the building itself is just about worth it and very nearly compensates for all the other minuses. If those were addressed my score and no doubt their takings, would soar.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank D_Scene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

These are not separate busineeses but all part of our lovely hotel. As you paid for your room on arrival there was no facility to charge food and drink to your room - this is standard practice and is in no way 'bizarre'
I take exception to your comments about my staff being offhand and rude - that is a complete fabrication - the team are a really friendly bunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
371 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#19 of 21 in Gloucester
384 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
868 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn-Relaxinnz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Address: 16 Northgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: £53 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn-Relaxinnz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard on first and second floors. There are no ground floor rooms. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music on Friday until midnight and karaoke on Saturday until 12am. Kindly note that we are in the City Centre and guests are advised this is not the place for a quiet break. Reccommended parking is available at Bruton Way NCP (opposite the railway station) - GL1 1DG. Drop off area in New Inn Lane GL1 1EA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The New Inn-Relaxinnz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester
The New Inn-Relaxinnz Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing