We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptionally clean and functional B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albert Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Albert Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptionally clean and functional B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

I have stayed at The Albert now about 8 or 9 times and have found the rooms and bathrooms exceptionally clean on every visit. The decor is light and modern and there is Free parking and free Wifi which is a bonus. Breakfast is available from 7am onwards so suits me fine.

The Hotel is ideally located towards the centre of town but the surrounding area seems fairly quiet at night so no disturbances to my beauty sleep.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and I'm sure I'll be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OptimizedTuning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
3
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

I needed a bed for the night at a sensible price. I was attracted to this hotel as it is central and had free parking which most hotels in Gloucester can't offer. My room was clean and comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast good and internet free. Nice little bar for a cosy atmosphere too. Some guests are smoking somewhere - I could smell it in the corridors. All in all, functional and friendly. Only one complaint was that the TV was installed so high up I couldn't get it into focus and it had a poor signal.

Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank GSS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jazzer4
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

I stayed at the Albert Hotel as a last minute thing - big mistake! The place is a throwback to the old 70s B&Bs - full of house rules, shoddily furnished rooms, badly maintained and giving the guest a sense of being there on the sufferance of the management.

The room I was in had no bathroom, (that was two floors below), two thin and totally inadequate towels, and not even a bar of soap was provided in the room. It was a twin bedded room yet there was only one very small bedside lamp between the two beds. The furniture - what little of it there was - was cheap and mismatched. The mattress was cheap and lumpy, the bedclothes cheap and nasty.

And then there was the miserable service - breakfast was only served 'between 8 and 9am' (a whole hour - wow!), and then you had to vacate the premises by 10am or, you were warned, you would be charged for another night's stay! The place is plastered with signs from the management - everywhere you look there are signs telling you to do, or not to do, various things. The whole atmosphere of the place is unwelcoming and even adversarial.

Which wouldn't be so bad if they were providing a great service, or nice accommodation. But they're not. It's awful, substandard, and totally inadequate to meet the needs of the contemporary traveller. And to add insult to injury they £40 for the privilege of staying in this shabby room! Incredible really that such a place is still in operation in this day and age.

Avoid at all costs................

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank Jazzer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Brighton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

BE WARNED if you are tempted to reserve a room at this hotel. We had to cancel our booking due to illness more than a week before we were due to stay. The proprieter then decided that there was a 15 DAY CANCELLATION CHARGE of the full price of the room even though these terms are not on his website and were not communicated to us when we made the booking. We were never sent a confirmation so there was nothing in writing either. When my partner disputed this with the proprieter he became aggressive and abusive. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and NEVER encountered a 15 day cancellation charge.
I was upset and completely shaken by my experience of this proprieter - a very unpleasant individual and not at all friendly as procalimed on their website.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank KittyBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

Fine and functional. Stayed here on a one night stay in August 2008. It's essentially a British B&B experience - didn't even realise it was a hotel till we ventured downstairs to find a bar near the breakfast room.

Nearly gassed by the plug-in air fresheners at reception - they've got to be the worst welcome to an accommodation site - just what scents are they trying to hide?

Was lucky enough to secure room 14 which means a convoluted climb to the obviously recently refurbished attic. This room certainly wouldn't be accessible by young children, the elderly or disabled as the stairs here were nearly vertical.

Car park behind hotel is pretty tight, but probably a mercy. The road up to Kingsholm Rugby Ground is fairly rough. Didn't sleep well at night (was a Saturday admittedly) listening to a street fight at 1am.

Breakfast of Full English was nicely done, not too much, not too little.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Feeling a bit on edge with slightly run down area
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cangarwbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

Stayed one night. Our group used two rooms. The bathroom in the smaller was quite small and not particularly up-to-date. Staff was very helpful but there are few places nearby to eat at night. It is very close to the city centre and walking to the Cathedral and the docks was very pleasant.

  • Liked — Centrally located
  • Disliked — Bathroom equipment outdated
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andariego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2007

Brighton, England.
An adequate small hotel for my short visit. Large comfortable bedroom (but with lots of loose timber pieces in and on the clothes wardrobe and under bed, plus a dusty ancient TV set in second wardrobe). Good shower facility. TV set in use too high on wall unless sitting in bed opposite. Good breakfast. Sole member of staff helpful, if asked, but no other conversation. Saw no-one else in charge. Pity the room-folder information did not start with words of welcome instead of warning that use of credit card or cheque would incur £3 surcharge and that said card would also be used to pay for any damage to hotel, or the 'fines' for annoying other guests. Rather forbidding, I thought!
The hotel occupies a good position for sightseeing but lacks atmosphere inside.

  • Liked — Walking distance of all amenities
  • Disliked — The bare essentials good. Warm welcome poor.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrightonAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: 56-60 Worcester Street, Gloucester GL1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albert HotelFamily run Bed and BreakfastCity Cenre LocationFree Car ParkFree Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing