We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable”
Review of Albert Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Albert Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I needed a bed for the night at a sensible price. I was attracted to this hotel as it is central and had free parking which most hotels in Gloucester can't offer. My room was clean and comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast good and internet free. Nice little bar for a cosy atmosphere too. Some guests are smoking somewhere - I could smell it in the corridors. All in all, functional and friendly. Only one complaint was that the TV was installed so high up I couldn't get it into focus and it had a poor signal.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank GSS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2010

I stayed at the Albert Hotel as a last minute thing - big mistake! The place is a throwback to the old 70s B&Bs - full of house rules, shoddily furnished rooms, badly maintained and giving the guest a sense of being there on the sufferance of the management.

The room I was in had no bathroom, (that was two floors below), two thin and totally inadequate towels, and not even a bar of soap was provided in the room. It was a twin bedded room yet there was only one very small bedside lamp between the two beds. The furniture - what little of it there was - was cheap and mismatched. The mattress was cheap and lumpy, the bedclothes cheap and nasty.

And then there was the miserable service - breakfast was only served 'between 8 and 9am' (a whole hour - wow!), and then you had to vacate the premises by 10am or, you were warned, you would be charged for another night's stay! The place is plastered with signs from the management - everywhere you look there are signs telling you to do, or not to do, various things. The whole atmosphere of the place is unwelcoming and even adversarial.

Which wouldn't be so bad if they were providing a great service, or nice accommodation. But they're not. It's awful, substandard, and totally inadequate to meet the needs of the contemporary traveller. And to add insult to injury they £40 for the privilege of staying in this shabby room! Incredible really that such a place is still in operation in this day and age.

Avoid at all costs................

Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
9  Thank Jazzer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

BE WARNED if you are tempted to reserve a room at this hotel. We had to cancel our booking due to illness more than a week before we were due to stay. The proprieter then decided that there was a 15 DAY CANCELLATION CHARGE of the full price of the room even though these terms are not on his website and were not communicated to us when we made the booking. We were never sent a confirmation so there was nothing in writing either. When my partner disputed this with the proprieter he became aggressive and abusive. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and NEVER encountered a 15 day cancellation charge.
I was upset and completely shaken by my experience of this proprieter - a very unpleasant individual and not at all friendly as procalimed on their website.

Stayed: August 2008
5  Thank KittyBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Fine and functional. Stayed here on a one night stay in August 2008. It's essentially a British B&B experience - didn't even realise it was a hotel till we ventured downstairs to find a bar near the breakfast room.

Nearly gassed by the plug-in air fresheners at reception - they've got to be the worst welcome to an accommodation site - just what scents are they trying to hide?

Was lucky enough to secure room 14 which means a convoluted climb to the obviously recently refurbished attic. This room certainly wouldn't be accessible by young children, the elderly or disabled as the stairs here were nearly vertical.

Car park behind hotel is pretty tight, but probably a mercy. The road up to Kingsholm Rugby Ground is fairly rough. Didn't sleep well at night (was a Saturday admittedly) listening to a street fight at 1am.

Breakfast of Full English was nicely done, not too much, not too little.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cangarwbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

Stayed one night. Our group used two rooms. The bathroom in the smaller was quite small and not particularly up-to-date. Staff was very helpful but there are few places nearby to eat at night. It is very close to the city centre and walking to the Cathedral and the docks was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andariego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

Brighton, England.
An adequate small hotel for my short visit. Large comfortable bedroom (but with lots of loose timber pieces in and on the clothes wardrobe and under bed, plus a dusty ancient TV set in second wardrobe). Good shower facility. TV set in use too high on wall unless sitting in bed opposite. Good breakfast. Sole member of staff helpful, if asked, but no other conversation. Saw no-one else in charge. Pity the room-folder information did not start with words of welcome instead of warning that use of credit card or cheque would incur £3 surcharge and that said card would also be used to pay for any damage to hotel, or the 'fines' for annoying other guests. Rather forbidding, I thought!
The hotel occupies a good position for sightseeing but lacks atmosphere inside.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrightonAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2007

Lovely place to stay just outside the town centre. We ate in a fantastic value Chinese restaurant a few yards away from the hotel.
Thers are lots of stairs at the hotel which weren't a problem to us but could be to others. There were 6 of us on a biking trip and our bikes were stored no problem and the owner organised a taxi for our bags. We all slept well and had a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlegems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#19 of 21 in Gloucester
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
648 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
865 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Address: 56-60 Worcester Street, Gloucester GL1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albert HotelFamily run Bed and BreakfastCity Cenre LocationFree Car ParkFree Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing