We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I really enjoyed my stay at Frogfurlong”

Frog Furlong Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frog Furlong Cottage
Lincoln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I really enjoyed my stay at Frogfurlong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stopped at Frogfurlong Cottage four about four years after securing a long term contract In Gloucester. I can only say that welcome I received during this time was excellent. The accommodation was perfectly adequate and had the feel of a typical Gloucestershire rural cottage.
The accommodation was comfortable and cosy and away from the main building , so you can come and go as you please because of this you always feel you have your own space and not intruding on the hosts space.
The rooms are clean and fresh with fresh flowers The breakfast is fantastic with fresh local produce and always served hot with plenty of tea or coffee.
This accommodation is very rural and a car is required to get out and about but this adds to the charm of this Bed and Breakfast location.
This is a very nice place to stay and the owners are very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Will need transport for this rural location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

As some of the reviews say ' they are helpful & lovely' 'You need transport' They are the only remarks we would agree with sadly. We received a warm friendly greeting on our arrival. Our friend was shown her room ' a converted garage ' Not what we were expecting, this garage room is detached from the main building, the next morning at breakfast she remarked how vulnerable she felt! She also said it was not very clean. Our double room was tiny, the bathroom was too big? Both rooms are old fashioned (Chintzy) The word 'Twee' comes to mind. As with our friend we felt the room needed a really good clean. I'm aware they have gone with a style becoming of a cottage feel but this was a Shabby attempt. Other Irritations : The bathroom had a carpet fitted that felt grubby under foot, The shower was a waste of time it took an age to get hot and because of poor water pressure due to the design of the system! ' Im a plumber by trade by the way' you had to position the shower head half way down the riser rail and kneel down to wash your hair!! After dark their was no external lighting in the garden? which you have to pass through on your way to the room My iPhone torch app came in useful. There was a motion light outside the garage room which begged the question is that for the benefit of the guest or the security of the Wedding cars which are housed in the same area? They have in the garden a Well in which you have to pass on your way to the room, their isn't a lot of room to pass and the roof is dangerously low. they have a dog, it's inexcusable to not clean up Its mess. I swam in the pool for about five minutes, as i looked around the pool area i noticed a familiar scene. (Shabby.) Mucky towels left in a chair, Pool equipment left lying around on the poolside, i also noticed a wrench fixed to a Radiator valve that was dangerously sticking out? The boiler is at the side of the bedroom i didn't see a Carbon monoxide alarm which is a worry. The teapot in both rooms were very stained. The breakfasts were OK. This BB left you feeling disapointed and in need of a good shower. We won't be going back.
.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennyr1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nostalgia79, Owner at Frog Furlong Cottage, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
The accommodation we offer is in two small independent units,, both originally stables in the 18th century, this is always explained in detiail to prospective guests. One room is small but cosy and warm with a large en-suite bathroom. There is no chintz in either room , all decor is fairly plain and non-obtrusive but in keeping with an 18th century country cottage. The rooms are cleaned meticulously before each new arrival. The carpets are new in both bathrooms and are water repellent so they may feel strange to the touch. As we are not on a Main Water supply the water is pumped directly from our well which is inspected regularaly by the local authorities. We explain to all our guests that the pressure in the one shower is lower than from a Mains water supply. We explain that they have only to hold the showerhead a little lower than usual in order to get a satisfactory flow. This has nothing whatsoever to do with the design. The bath is a large corner bath with fast flowing very hot and cold water. There is a clearance of several feet to either side of the well. And the wellhead is at the usual height for an 18th century construction, people cannot walk under it! The swimming pool is used daily by all our family and the youngest ones' towels are left over a chair to dry for convenience. These are not mucky, they are washed regularly. The pool is offered free of charge with the understanding that it is essentially our own private pool with our belongings in there and the cleaning equipment to hand as it is regularly cleaned each week. There are garden lights throughout the property, 8 exterior lights in total and a simple request at the entrance to the guest accommodation to put the lights out when they retire. There are also solar lamps illuminating the entrance path. There are no street lamps as we are very rurally situated which is what we advertise. A carbon monoxide alarm is not necessary as the area is ventilated to the required standard and has been checked just recently by a qualified engineer. Unfortunately on departure the complainants suggested we had overcharged them when in fact we had accepted a single occupancy of a double room and had made a 50% discount even though the room had been booked for two people. This led to a contretemps and the resulting outcome .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Clive and Anna get it just right! On arrival we were greeted with broad smiles and given all the help we needed. They are friendly, welcoming & particularly helpful. The breakfasts are cooked to order and always wonderful - enough to keep us going all day! Our room had a very useful fridge with fresh milk. The location is very peaceful, quiet and a perfect walking distance to the local pub/restaurant. We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bembridge-House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

Had to find a place to stay for weekend at short notice as let down by another B&B. Anna was very helpful and even though they were going to Goodwood the same weekend, they were happy to accomodate us and ensured that her friend Pam was available to show us round and cook breakfast etc.
Lovely location, very quiet, yet has all the facilities of gloucester only a few minutes drive away.
Room was small but cosy, yet had everything we wanted/needed. Great corner bath in ensuite. Very nice to have pool on site although it was cooler than we would have liked but is near end of season.
Nice garden to chill out in and plenty of walks in area right from front door including Geocaches if thats your thing.
Breakfast excellant and at a sensible time....
Was recommended to dine out at nearby Queens Head and booking made for us - very glad we did as excellant meal.
Nothing was too much trouble - we will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dralphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Stayed for two nights here...anna and clive are lovely hosts. The place is just right if you want to enjoy a quiet peaceful time...is at very easy distance from shopping and restaurants in cheltenham...you do need your own transport though if you stay here.
The house looks lovely and rooms have their own enterance so you are free to come and go as you please. breakfast is great as well...

All in all could not ask for more from a weekend break.
The only small down side was the mattress...:( they were a bit saggy. but I was 8 months pregnant so perhaps a bit fussy in any case...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hinasharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2008

Homely little B&B, everything we need, big corner bath although room on small side, cosy shall we say! Indoor pool looked great, we aim to return during the Summer when it is open. Breakfast excellent, owners friendly. All in all a great stop over.

  • Liked — The pool looked great, only open in summer though.
  • Disliked — Room was maybe a bit small
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winters_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

My friend and I stayed for a couple of days at the frogfurlong cottage. It was a cute little place and the owners were very nice and extremely helpful. The breakfast was yummy and the ambience was homely.

We loved our stay at the frogfurlong cottage.

Only problem was: You need a car to be mobile even though there are buses and taxis but it is not very convenient if you have limited time.

  • Liked — price and seclusion
  • Disliked — travel options
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank poogiewoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog Furlong Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog Furlong Cottage

Property: Frog Furlong Cottage
Address: Frogfurlong Cottage Frogfurlong Lane | Down Hatherley, Gloucester GL2 9QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Gloucester
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Frog Furlong Cottage Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing