We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Swansea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I did not stay at this hotel, however I did pop in for some food before I dropped a friend off for a train journey. Despite signs everywhere that had been put out that day stating that food was served all day, I was told that this particular day it is not the case but not told as to why. I was then told by the barmaid that I could park my car in the car park behind the hotel as it was owned by the manager. 2 minutes later, very luckily I walked outside to get something and noticed a lady from the council locking the car park, it was only by sheer luck that my car was not locked in there overnight. It turned out that the "car park" she was referring to was a single space in a different direction to where she had pointed. We then ordered some drinks, two of us had a beer and the other two had a packed of crisps and some squash. The barmaid told my friend that he had to order a drink as well as crisps if he wanted to stay. We resisted replying that we would have ordered meals and drinks had she been serving them. She and the manager then told my other friend that a soft drink "wasn't enough" to stay but then sold it to us anyway. We quickly finished up and left. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lilchicamanpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    41
    44
    23
    54
See reviews for
18
46
33
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

the hotel bar was good, the hallway up to the rooms was being redecorated , but I think they should concentrate on the rooms instead. the room was very clean and the bathroom more than adequate BUT the room needs updating ,the colours were very drab and the furniture was old fashioned pine units and too big and cumbersome for the room and not necessary, less is more in some cases ,he room was unbearably hot no air-con but had a fan which was a bit noisy and didn't make much difference NOW good points ! tv was a modern flat screen and good coffee and tea making facilities, shower excellent, bar downstairs very good and great welcome. we booked with booking.com and the confirmation was a bit confusing as on one part it said it had been paid and then on another it said to pay on arrival. we paid on arrival which was hassle free and as we were a bit early we had a drink in the bar. when we returned later there was good music being played and stayed for a few drinks before bed, we had breakfast included but had to leave early the next day before 8.30 am so missed it, but the food that was being served during the day looked great. you can see they are trying to update the hotel and for a nights stay I would say it was ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I made a booking through Bookings.com for 2 nights for a young guy working in the area.
I received a call in the evening to say the manager would not let him check in as the room wasn't paid for. I spoke to the manager and he stated that I hadn't paid for the room. I gave him the confirmation number of the booking. He was adamant I needed to contact head office (which was closed) I contacted Bookings and they called the hotel to confirm the booking. He still wouldn't let the guy check in. He was rude and unhelpful even though I explained that he didn't have enough money to pay himself he still wouldn't let him in. This is a young man who was working nights who didn't have anywhere to stay. I had to find him alternative accommodation at 10pm at night so he wasn't stranded in Gloucester. Terrible service

Room Tip: Ensure payment and proof of payment before entering this hotel because the management has no conscie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Salo, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Very pleased to have ended up staying in this hotel for the two nights I was visiting Gloucester and will gladly stay again if in the area. The room was neat and tidy, bathroom facitilies worked well and were sufficient. What makes this hotel worth staying in is the very warm welcome and treatment by the owners and the staff not to mention the lovely food served. The atmosphere in the downstairs pub was lovely and cosy, too. Adding to the positive experience was the perfect location close to the train station.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Soile K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Four of us stayed here on Gold Cup day. We arrived in the morning and were shown our rooms.The rooms were fine, breakfast was good, and the service from all the staff was excellent. We will be returning next year, only this time ten of us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I don't normally write reviews (good or bad) but I feel others must be warned. I have never before encountered such unfriendly behaviour from a place of business. He refused to serve me the drink I wanted then when my acquaintances and I were finished our drinks they were immediately cleared away and we were told to leave, for no reason other than he didn't want us there. The owner of this hotel is a xenophobe, unless you are a local you will not be welcome. Trust me - the treatment you will receive will not be pleasant - do not go here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.3 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Gloucester Railway Station Bruton Way, Gloucester GL1 1DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station Hotel was built in 1880 and is located in Gloucester opposite the Train Station. It is only a 5 minute walk from the bustling Gloucester city centre. There are 23 recently refurbished ensuite guestrooms at the hotel which all include satellite TV, tea/coffee making facilities, Wi-Fi and a hairdryer. While staying at The Station Hotel guests can enjoy some tasty food in the very traditional restaurant, there is also a cafe bar, a sports bar with its own uniquely designed pool table and a very comfortable lounge area . There is various entertainment throughout the week this is advertised in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Gloucester
The Station Hotel Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing