We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel I've stayed in!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Melksham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel I've stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

chose to stay here with two of my friends for New Year's Eve, the staff were amazing and friendly! the location is really good if your looking for a night out too, it was only a few minutes walk to the pubs and clubs, also it is located right next to the train station which was handy! defiantly stay here next time I'm down in Gloucester :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurenbiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    41
    43
    23
    53
See reviews for
18
45
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent a day at this hotel on a Friday.

The "reception" is behind the bar inside the pub (no signs to indicate that)

We had to wait around 15 mins for the barman to print out the paperwork.
You have to pay in advance for your stay.

The room was okay, nothing fancy, not the latest furniture, but we only wanted a place to stay overnight so that wasn't the problem. They had a live band playing in the pub, and sleeping was not an option unless you can handle very loud music. It felt like we're trying to sleep in a music festival. Breakfast is full English, included in the price.

Recommended for a cheap stay in Gloucester, but only on a weekday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazoonnga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

newcastle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here for August bank holiday weekend as my son and I were visiting an event at Cheltenham racecourse. The price was very reasonable. We arrived by car - it was dark and there was a lot of noise from the bar downstairs. It is next to the railway station on the edge of the main town centre. We found it difficult to know where to book in at first until we realised that you just go to the bar and ask ( but found it difficult to make myself heard). However- staff were very helpful after this. Bedrooms are cosy -if a bit dated- and clean. The lady who serves breakfast is really kind and pleasant and will accommodate your individual needs. The breakfast buffet is perfectly adequate- not with everything the large chains might provide- but sufficient cereals, toast, jams etc. I would give it 4 stars and don't think 'average' quite does it justice but then it couldn't be given 'very good' either! Wish tri[p advisor had a 'good' setting!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josie93Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Nice cosy hotel. Good breakfast served. It was a pity that the hotel was pretty empty so it lacked any atmosphere the bar and dining room were empty although the food was very good and good value, so I was surprised considering it was Saturday night. After dinner we walked into town to a pub which was much more lively. Our room was comfortable and clean but the decor and bathroom needed a facelift and the water pressure was poor, so shower was not very good. Overall our stay for one night was good but I think a little over priced at £85.00

Room Tip: Room was on second floor which may have accounted for poor water pressure in the shower. Also there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed for one night in room 28 (beware of the steps down in to the room!) and having read the reviews were slightly worried but all was OK. This was a top floor room with a window to the side of the hotel and yes there was some noise from the road, but a nice touch in the room was the fan, so if you like a cooler room close the window and use that.

Everything worked that we used and the shower was fab. The room was clean and presentable. No wi fi (not offered as I recall). The bed was a king size and very comfortable (and I am fussy).

The stairs leading up to the rooms are basically the noisiest in the world, but are there are doors off them I suspect not a problem, the night we stayed it was almost empty so hard to judge.

Some of the hotel could do with new carpets and some love, but at the price we paid I cannot complain and yes I would stay again.

Breakfast was a bit hurried and the sausage served in the full English was dreadful...spend some more on them chaps come on!!

We did not dine nor drink in the hotel, the staff were all nice but the bar was almost empty so hard to judge the type of customers it attracts.

I would stay again, very handy for the station which is next door, as the name might suggest.

Room Tip: I would go top floor as the roads are busy locally. Also some rooms have tiny showers...room 28 was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watfordpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hotel location for visit to Gloucester was excellent. Room was surprisingly quiet as it is located across the street from the rail station. There is a lot of street traffic noise which personally does not bother me, but others may find it loud. I also stayed on a Monday and I bet it is a lot nosier on Saturday! Single room small but adequate and bed was fine. Ensuite bathroom small and a little dirty , but good hot water. Room appeared to be refurbished; full cable small flat screen TV was excellent as was the full English breakfast included in rate which was very good for the money.

Room Tip: If you don;t like street noise ask for a room in the back. However, you may find the pub noise more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Gloucester is a great base for exploring the Cotswalds and the Station Hotel is directly across the street from the train station and bus stops are a couple of blocks away. The hotel offered the ambiance of an English inn (which it is, the pub is downstairs) and a pleasant and clean en suite room with a comfy bed and space to put stuff. Breakfast was served in the mornings and the pub offered food for limited hours at lunch time. In the evenings, folks gathered for beer and conversation. We explored the lovely Cotswalds and also took a walking tour of the historic town. The Waterways Museum with canal boat ride was awesome - don't miss it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.4 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Gloucester Railway Station Bruton Way, Gloucester GL1 1DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station Hotel was built in 1880 and is located in Gloucester opposite the Train Station. It is only a 5 minute walk from the bustling Gloucester city centre. There are 23 recently refurbished ensuite guestrooms at the hotel which all include satellite TV, tea/coffee making facilities, Wi-Fi and a hairdryer. While staying at The Station Hotel guests can enjoy some tasty food in the very traditional restaurant, there is also a cafe bar, a sports bar with its own uniquely designed pool table and a very comfortable lounge area . There is various entertainment throughout the week this is advertised in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Gloucester
The Station Hotel Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing