We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

To all the moaners, who expect The Ritz, then go and pay Ritz prices. As for The Station Hotel you pay for what you get. It is clean the staff are very friendly and it is ideally situated for anyone that wants a day/night in Gloucester. Can't really fault it value for money....added entertainment are the locals outside the Hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great location, great staff - but the place is looking tired. A warm welcome was offered on arrival - and don't be alarmed by the music, it doesn't carry up to the rooms. The hotel is a minute from the station, so well located. Just that one flaw - the room really was in need of attention. Cracked tiles in the bathroom!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank o0mw0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hated this place more than you can imagine. The staff was rude and aggressive. The room was uncomfortable and the TV didn't work at all. The local is close to the station, but that's it's alone charm.

Room Tip: Get another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnWildermuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here for eight nights during a recent trip to the UK. I definitely enjoyed my stay and would stay here again. I needed a place near the bus station, as I was using Gloucester as a base to see other parts of the area and the location is literally across the street from the both the bus station and the train station. Given the length of my stay, the manager, Steve, gave me the largest of the single rooms, which I certainly appreciated. The bathroom was large and had a great shower with lots of hot water and good pressure. The WiFi was free and reliable and the free breakfast every morning was excellent. The bed was large for a single room and was extremely comfortable. If the bar/restaurant was loud, I didn't hear it at all on any of the nights. There's no elevator, but there is a locked door that requires your room key to access the hotel rooms, giving an extra measure of security which I appreciated. Gloucester is an extremely walkable town with kind people working in the shops and restaurants. There is a Tesco that opens early and stays open late at the bus station across the street. About a 15-minute walk away, through town, there is a nice outlet mall with a movie theater and great places to eat. This hotel is an excellent base for seeing the area and just relaxing if you're on a long trip like I was. I appreciated the service I received hope to be back another time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank acp0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at the Station Hotel for two nights while on a brief business trip to Gloucester. After reading some of the reviews, I was a little concerned. But the price was right and the location was right where I needed to be so I booked it anyway.

The new management should be commended. I would highly recommend this place and would definitely stay there again. My room was small, the bathroom (en suite) was up a step, but this was as advertised. The carpet looked worn; some of the furniture showed the abuse of smokers (but there was NO smell). But the place had been very well cleaned. Some damage from former abuse could not be undone, but everything was dusted, the carpet felt clean, and the bed was made up. There were even tea and biscuits to welcome me!

Breakfast was provided and it was extremely filling. Besides “traditional English breakfast” there was a bowl of oranges, pear, and bananas. The lady serving was friendly and generous with her knowledge of the area. They were very gracious about letting me check in early and then holding my bag for the day after I checked out.

The area surrounding is very run-down, but you can’t blame the hotel for that. And if you have to be in that area for work, you might as well not walk as far. The bar area might be louder over the weekend, but the two nights I stayed were quiet from the vantage point of my room (and it was right over the bar). My one complaint was the tepid “hot” water in the shower, but I suspect this is due to the ancient pipes.

Room Tip: My room was in the center of the hotel. No view. The stairs are steep. If you have a large bag ask t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Used for one night as somewhere to sleep, after a good few pints, then this is a just about acceptable place to stay. If you're visiting in the hope of a magical city break then you're going to be distinctly underwhelmed.

Steve, the bar man / manager / receptionist is probably a little less than happy in the role is currently finds himself in. While not rude in the slightest he isn't the cheeriest chap about and speed of service is at his pace, one that puts to bed the myth of the tortoise besting the hare - albeit we did get there in the end.....

The room was clean and tidy, but being on the first floor was very, very noisy until the bar closed. When calling home I was asked if I was sat next to a speaker. I was on the bed...... The shower was a great size, warm and with a decent amount of pressure.

The grub is poor. Baguettes that turn up as sarnies with no butter and stale bread and a breakfast that was inedible. The place is understaffed and under skilled sadly.

The location is spot on for jumping on the train as it's just a walk across the station car park.

A visit is a bit like dating me must be. An experience if you know how to laugh, if a bit disappointing in the bedroom and kitchen.....

Room Tip: Higher floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If this was priced as a budget hotel, I would be more forgiving. However, at just over £60/night this was an absolute rip-off.

We arrive to meet the grumpy manager, who gets confused over the bookings and annoyed that we want to order food and drink at the bar. Food eventually arrives - a steak baguette turns out to be a chewy steak between two unbuttered slices of stale bread.

Luckily we were out for the majority of the day and the railway station is mercifully close to the hotel (20m away). However be warned that in the evenings they seem to hold regular karaoke sessions, so loud that they made the floor shake in my friend's room.

In my room two lights were broken, the TV didn't work and one of the bedside tables was missing an entire draw. Probably for the best, the ones that remained were filthy and clearly hadn't been checked for a while. An empty packet of facewipes had been left in one by a previous occupant.

The next morning we have to step over broken glass in order to get into the breakfast area. Apparently there was a break-in in the middle of the night and the cleaner didn't want to wake anyone by using the vacuum cleaner (does she not have a dustpan and brush?). This wasn't exactly early at 9.30am, and personally I'd rather risk 5mins of vacuum noise than slicing my feet open.

Breakfast was a full english consisting of soggy hash browns and sausages that tasted of bleach. Washed away the taste with a cup of instant coffee and made a hasty retreat back home. Needless to say, will not be returning.

Room Tip: As far away from bar/reception as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DruCuomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#4 of 21 in Gloucester
1,191 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#19 of 21 in Gloucester
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
675 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Address: Gloucester Railway Station Bruton Way, Gloucester GL1 1DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: £46 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station Hotel was built in 1880 and is located in Gloucester opposite the Train Station. It is only a 5 minute walk from the bustling Gloucester city centre. There are 23 recently refurbished ensuite guestrooms at the hotel which all include satellite TV, tea/coffee making facilities, Wi-Fi and a hairdryer. While staying at The Station Hotel guests can enjoy some tasty food in the very traditional restaurant, there is also a cafe bar, a sports bar with its own uniquely designed pool table and a very comfortable lounge area . There is various entertainment throughout the week this is advertised in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Gloucester
The Station Hotel Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing