We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place to stay”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
herefordshire
1 review
“fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 8 February 2009

we stayed here with our children on a one night stop over. the place was clean and the room was very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful the managers were more than helpful!!! The meal we had in the evening was lovely and very quick to arrive!! and breakfast was extremely enjoyable.we would definatley stay again and recommend the station to anyone looking for comfortable affordable accomadation with managers who clearly genuinely enjoy keeping thier guests happy!!

  • Liked — the management
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soph3174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    45
    46
    23
    54
See reviews for
21
48
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

We were visiting Gloucester for the Cajun and Zydeco music festival and this hotel was ideal being within a short walk of the centre and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room was clean, comfortable and warm (if a little shabby - perhaps the promised refurbishment hadn't reached it, although the bathroom looked quite new). Some people might find the rooms a little small but there was enough room for two of us to move around and store clothes etc. Although it is on a main road and we were at the front we weren't troubled by traffic noise.

Breakfast was okay - what you would expect for English B&B. The pub downstairs is fine, some very nice real ale. Central Gloucester doesn't seem to have great deal of choice of hotels so the Station Hotel is a perfectly acceptable choice.

My only negative would be that the weekend breakfast times (8-9) and 10am checkout are a bit early if you are there for leisure not business!

We ate out at a lovely family run Portugese restaurant Sebz on Northgate St - would recommend it.

  • Liked — Central location and very helpful staff
  • Disliked — Check out time!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManofBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2008

I have to say my family could not have been made anymore welcome all the staff are very professional and welcoming and could not do enough for us, our room was spotless, all the meals we had were delicious and reasonbly priced if excellent service is the most important thing to you i would recommend you stay here.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elizabethab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Have recently been and stayed at The Station Hotel which now has NEW MANAGERS! They are brilliant really welcoming and friendly we experienced nothing that has previously been commented on! All staff were friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Our room was spotless and all corridors etc were clean and tidy. I will definately recommend The Station Hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in Gloucester.

  • Liked — Friendly and Welcoming staff
  • Disliked — Nothing all standards were met
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise4761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.4 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
597 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Gloucester Railway Station Bruton Way, Gloucester GL1 1DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station Hotel was built in 1880 and is located in Gloucester opposite the Train Station. It is only a 5 minute walk from the bustling Gloucester city centre. There are 23 recently refurbished ensuite guestrooms at the hotel which all include satellite TV, tea/coffee making facilities, Wi-Fi and a hairdryer. While staying at The Station Hotel guests can enjoy some tasty food in the very traditional restaurant, there is also a cafe bar, a sports bar with its own uniquely designed pool table and a very comfortable lounge area . There is various entertainment throughout the week this is advertised in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Gloucester
The Station Hotel Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing