We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique gourmand experience !”
Review of Gloucester Studio

Gloucester Studio
Ranked #77 of 372 Restaurants in Gloucester
Price range: US$128 - US$193
Description: Visiting Gloucester Studio requires you to book the entire venue (seats 8) or select a date from the available special events or cookery classes. Gloucester Studio is a rustic retreat of a hidden restaurant (as seen on Hidden Restaurants with Michel Roux Jr). Seated on reindeer hides around a cracking fire, guests have their meal cooked in front of them by the Pyromaniac Chef.
Restaurant details
Description: Visiting Gloucester Studio requires you to book the entire venue (seats 8) or select a date from the available special events or cookery classes. Gloucester Studio is a rustic retreat of a hidden restaurant (as seen on Hidden Restaurants with Michel Roux Jr). Seated on reindeer hides around a cracking fire, guests have their meal cooked in front of them by the Pyromaniac Chef.
Reviewed 24 February 2018

This is unique eating experience in a home set-up. It unfolds in a garden shed on tiny street in Gloucester. We all wondered whether we had arrived in at the right place!
Once we entered we found ourselves in a cosy back yard with 4 different types of fire running in parallel, designed to imprint various flavors to our delicious meal. The food preparation show (!) as well as the menu was an ... 'experience'.
The choice of menu was eclectic, inspired from many cultures, in surprising combinations. The outcome was striking, unique and of course delicious ( never thought I would enjoy onion marinated in lemon juice!)

This place is on an expensive side, but for a 6 course meal, with a selection of 6 delicious wines in between courses we thought that 100£ per person was a fair price ( we found that most ingredients come from highly selected sources and the the meal preparation had been started few days in advance to reach the desired perfection... )
The venue has space for 6-8 people so it would be ideal for a gathering of friends. We shared the space with other 2 friendly couples.

This venue is ideal for a 'Special Occasion'. 2 of the man in the party had booked it as surprise to impress that beloved. You can not be other than impressed!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DOMNITA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PyromaniacChef, Owner at Gloucester Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Thank you for your detailed review Domnita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2018

One of the most interesting and well thought out meals I've ever eaten. Kathryn combined a level of preparation and attention to detail with a light touch and spontaneity that produced food that was outstanding. The result was complex and rich, but also wholesome and satisfying. The food really suited its idiosyncratic setting and the result was a very satisfying evening. Great wine. Great value. If you want something special and unusual, come here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PyromaniacChef, Owner at Gloucester Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Thank you Rod, I’m so glad you had an enjoyable evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

We were thrilled to have won a days 'cooking with fire' lesson. Kathryn immediately felt at home. We were part of a small group to be the first to experience these lessons. It was a brilliant experience. We have come away with lots of ideas of what to cook on our fire pit at home. It's just a shame we don't have the hut to go with it. The day was relaxed, lots of delicious food and accompanying wine. I would highly recommend you try out this experience.

Thank debbieGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PyromaniacChef, Owner at Gloucester Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

I'm glad you enjoyed your day. I look forward to hearing about what you cook at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

When we first arrived being welcomed into this little amazing restuarant we immediatley felt all cosy and instantly knew we were going to have a lovely time.
The food was cooked in front of us which makes you feel you are witnessing the amazing flavours that were being cooked unfolding .
We were then lucky enough to taste these amazing smoked cooked food items, with the smoked chicken which was especially lovely and the gravy that went with it too.
From beginning to end Kathryn made us feel welcome , and catered to everyone needs above and beyond - Thank you Kathryn for the lovely meal and experience

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tellylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PyromaniacChef, Owner at Gloucester Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

I'm so glad that you had an enjoyable visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

My wife and myself were lucky enough to have won a fays cooking lesson . We were shown different methods and ways of cooking on fire. We cooked a whole chicken wrapped in a dough casing on a open fire , tending the fire as we went through various other things. The day was brilliant and enjoyable,Kathryn has a great approach and a great knowledge and love ahat she does. Would highly recommend it.

Thank Jeffjohnson1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PyromaniacChef, Owner at Gloucester Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you for being such interested and enthusiastic students.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gloucester Studio also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Gloucester Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing