We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

So my new boyfriend whisked me away- both had never been to derby. What a wonderful hotel! Lots of character and depth. Room was quite small although very well presented! Placed in the heart of derby, really close the the cathedral and surrounded by lots of restaurants. The only thing was that at night it can get very noisy! The local pub and bells kept me up a tad but overall lovely!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love123466789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Events C, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and i hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicholas Hough - Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous time at afternoon tea at the Cathedral Quarter Hotel. The selection of sandwiches and cakes were very nice and the service from the staff was great. We were even given a guided tour of the hotel from the Manager and what a lovely hotel it is very stylish. If anyone is looking for nice treat I would definitely recommend the Cathedral Quarter Hotel I will be going back very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellenjay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Events C, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and i know the Food and Beverage team will be particularly happy to hear such great feedback. I'll certainly be sure to pass your kind comments on to the team.

Kind regards,

Nicholas Hough - Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

What a great afternoon. We had a glass of champaine with afternoon tea. And couldnt fault it, service was friendly and attentive even though it was busy. Rav attended to with a smile. Faultless. Cant wait to book a spa day with the girls with tea and cocktails to follow... if you are thinking of afternoon tea as a treat you wont go wrong the hotel is so opulent it screems arc deco which just goes right with afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Events C, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Its great to hear such positive comments on your afternoon tea experience and to hear your planing to come back to use the hotels Spa facility's. Please feel free to contact me directly to arrange your Spa day with the girls as we really do have some fantastic packages available.

Kind regards,

Nicholas Hough - Deputy General Manager
nhough@thefinessecollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

If you want a good base for a visit to Derby and the surrounding area look no further than this hotel. Our room was comfortable,well furnished and spacious enough for two.The bath room and shower where excellent.The dining experience was enhanced by its location in spacious and tasteful dining room. Evening meal was very good and the breakfast was as good as you will get anywhere.
Needless to say all the staff where very attentive and efficient and gave the impression they where proud to work there.
Location is close enough to everything whilst being in a quiet side street.
Get there early as parking is limited but there are nearby car parks.
Overall, a very enjoyable experience and will go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickandRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Events C, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such great comments. I was very happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your experience here at Cathedral Quarter Hotel. I'll be passing your comments on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicholas Hough - Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Wow! Beautiful hotel! Entrance and staircase very grand. Very nice rooms and staff extremely attentive! Lovely restaurant and excellent food both for lunch in bar and breakfast! Good location for city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spikeyd77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Events C, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicholas Hough - Deputy General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed this weekend making the most out of the “Grab the bull by the horns “ deal. At £49 for 2 steaks, room and breakfast you can’t go wrong. As ever the room was beautiful. The meal was gorgeous, steaks cooked beautifully. The atmosphere in the restaurant is perfect – really relaxing, not rushed – Perfect!
We were planning to have drinks around Derby afterwards but because we were so calm (and full) after dinner we decided to have a few quiet drinks in the bar instead, again the atmosphere was faultless.
We have been coming to the Cathedral Quarter Hotel for a few years and although we have always thoroughly enjoyed our stay this visit has to be the best- everything was spot on! We only live 10 miles away but keep coming back to treat ourselves.
Thank you to all the staff for another brilliant visit. Love this hotel and this deal so much I will be back at the end of August – Can’t wait!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keggs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Events C, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback. Keep your eyes on our website, We have some great offers coming up.

We look forward to welcoming you back in August.

Kind regards,

Nicholas Hough - Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The whole team at the Cathedral Hotel in Derby did an outstanding job for the celebration of my mother and father's joint 80th Birthday party. The catering for 65 people was excellent and the team were especially good at dealing with the children who were at the event. In addition, the venue was fantastic and the guests who stayed over all priased the rooms. I woul have no hesitation recommending the hotel for a special event or short stay. Thanks again to Rav, Ryan, Callum and Mark.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derby
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,903 reviews
8.2 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
324 reviews
3.6 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.5 mi away
The Georgian House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Address: 16 St. Marys Gate, Derby DE1 3JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £81 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with Clink Beauty Rooms, conference rooms, Bar 16 cocktail bar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter
Cathedral Quarter Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing