We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of communication”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lack of communication”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel but unfortunately they really let themselves down when it comes to communication.

I tried to book my wedding here but after sending several emails that I never received a response, we decided that our money would be better spent somewhere that actually wanted to do business with us.

If I was the owner of this hotel I would suggest that instead of using the likes of groupon to make a quick buck, get a decent communications team for your hotel along with a dedicated events team.

I will not use this hotel again due to sheer frustration!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunsQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    198
    111
    81
    84
See reviews for
102
311
22
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel with a real sense of grandeur.
Lovely breakfast in a beautiful room and great bedroom. The service was excellent. I will definitely be back. Its in a fabulous buzzy area of Derby

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Elise4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I attended a dinner at the hotel. There were around 100 guests and we were treated to an excellent meal with fabulous service. The commentary on each course and the wines added a little extra. I had also booked in, the room rate, £79 was super value for a quality boutique hotel. The breakfast was excellent and the service friendly and personable. I will be booking in every time I need to stay in Derby and considering this hotel for an event oft own.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My first stay at this hotel and will definitely go back. Staff are lovely, room was amazing (room 22), well worth paying little bit extra for a suite, great price for 2 adults & 2 children. Breakfast was also included in the price and was also excellent. No negatives at all, hopefully will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

came here on Sunday 23rd Feb for afternoon tea. There were 6 of us all together we had a great selection of sandwich fingers and cakes plus an extensive tea menu (you can have coffee if you wish). The staff were very good and the service was great.
All in all it was a great afternoon with great friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chefie1701a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I booked this when me parents came up to Derby to visit me for a weekend. The entrance is stunning and I was struck by how attentive and kind the staff were to my mum and dad. Both parents informed me that their room was clean and extremely comfortable and that breakfast was fantastic both mornings. The bar staff really bent over backwards to accommodate no alcohol beer for my dad and on the Sunday afternoon, whilst waiting for the taxi to take them to the station we were brought coffee by a waiter. A lovely touch, and i'll be using word of mouth about this lovely place! Might even book in for afternoon tea or a spa treatment myself!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We booked an afternoon tea for eight for my son's Graduation. Although the Hotel does not have its own car park we were able to park outside on the street easily. Straight away we marvelled at the beauty of this Hotel and wished we had booked rooms to stay. The Grand Staircase with light flooding in from the stained glass windows made the perfect backdrop for our photos. The afternoon tea itself is definitely a cut above others we have enjoyed, with a real focus on the 'tea'. You are given vials of teas to sniff and choose from including the usual black teas and white teas, with interesting blends such as chocolate. Their Lapsang Souchong has a smokiness that supersceeds any tasted before (i.e. brands available in supermarkets) and every member of the party can choose their favourite. The sandwiches and cake were so plentiful they could not be finished even though they were scrumptious. The staff were helpful and the whole experience made Graduation Day special for us. The special offer we used made the meal excellent value.

Room Tip: You can see Derby Cathedral from the Hotel and its a great base for Graduation Guests as you can eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Property: Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Address: 16 St. Marys Gate, Derby DE1 3JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with Clink Beauty Rooms, conference rooms, Bar 16 cocktail bar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter
Cathedral Quarter Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing