We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location in a lovely building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Central location in a lovely building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way to Wales and booked via Travelzoo on a great package. We were really impressed with the building, check in was quick and efficient and everyone was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a cocktail before a tasty three course dinner. The hotel is centrally located and we were able to park outside. Parking is limited but we understand there is a secure public car park nearby. We slept soundly and were surprised how quiet the room was despite being in the centre of a city. Breakfast was beautifully cooked - poached eggs perfect! We would definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    198
    111
    81
    84
See reviews for
102
311
22
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Booked one nights stay with travelzoo and got a really good deal. We paid extra for a king size bed and when we arrived we got a free upgrade to a suite. The room was amazing with a mezzanine bedroom, huge shower, nice bath with relaxing lights and tv, overall really impressed with the room.
We used a car park which was only a 5 minute walk away and paid only £3.70 for the whole stay.
Food was absolutely superb, served in a lovely dining area, nice and relaxed with excellent staff.
In fact all the staff were extremely welcoming, attentative, made us feel special and are a real credit to the hotel.
Shops are a stones throw away with lots of bars also.
Would not hesitate to stay again

Room Tip: Okay god the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deano1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked this hotel as a treat for a night away with Travelzoo, as they had a special offer. It was a lovely hotel the food was just amazing both for Dinner & Breakfast. The rooms are very nice and although they had originally given us a ground floor room with only a shower I asked if it was possible to move to a room with a bath which they did no problem at all. Only downside the lift was not working and the 3rd floor was quite a climb, but it was worth it. We. had a wonderful soak in the bath and also used the rain shower in the morning.
The coctails were great also.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsyclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford Upon Avon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed on friday 2nd May for a trip down memory lane from when my husband was an apprentice footballer for Derby County in 1980/81. We wanted to visit our old haunts and chose hotel because of the look and location.
I booked this hotel through a deal on travelzoo and what a deal it was!
The room, food , location, evening meal and breakfast was top class. The restaurant itself was immaculate, the tables nicely spaced apart and the table wear was classy with flowers on the table a lovely touch,but what really made the stay so enjoyable was the employees.
The waiters and waitresses in the restaurant for both evening meal and breakfast are a credit to the establishment. friendly and engaging, attentive and very professional. Despite being very young,all had lovely customer care skills.
Compliments to the Chef also! All 3 courses were superb.
Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Room 28. not big but perfectly formed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here on the 20th April 2014 for a friends wedding. We had issues checking in because there was a wedding the previous day so all the staff were frantically trying to set up for my friends wedding at 1400hrs. As a result we weren't able to check in until 1230 which didn't leave me much time to get ready.

Apart from that minor glitch at the beginning the rest of the stay was great. The staff did a brilliant job for my friends wedding.

Our room was beautifully decorated although it could have been cleaner. Currently living in military accommodation, my husband and I are well accustomed to cleaning to a very high standard and I'm afraid our room would not have passed a march out inspection.

Having said all this we enjoyed our stay and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 4CrazyCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I treated my Mother in Law and myself to an afternoon tea for an early mothers day treat.

The building and setting in the hotel are absolutely stunning and it was relatively quiet when we arrived, getting busier as we left.

We treated ourselves to a glass of bubbly and took advice from the waiter to tasting specific teas before eating and stewing the tea for the proper time. The food was beautifully well presented and lovely to taste too. We weren't rushed and everyone seemed to be enjoying ourselves. Excellent portions and a good serving of tea too.

If there was anything that let the service down it was getting anyone's attention to get the bill at the end, however a large group had arrived. Also the waiter could have done with a quick check over in the mirror as not only did his shirt not quite cover his belly but he had some lovely stains on his tie! Nothing that couldn't be rectified swiftly!

Definitely recommend this venue!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The reviews I read about this hotel were very positive and one of the main reasons for choosing to stay here. Perhaps I was unlucky, but apart from the location (parking is safe and close by) I thought it tried too hard. Some of the things in my room didn't work, pre-ordered dinner didn't come, the room was noisy from squeaky floors, and the room was much smaller than it looked in the pictures and per description.

Room Tip: Get the biggest you can afford. If you are plus size then better to stay out of town in a place wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Property: Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Address: 16 St. Marys Gate, Derby DE1 3JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with Clink Beauty Rooms, conference rooms, Bar 16 cocktail bar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter
Cathedral Quarter Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing