We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was lovely as it was on our previous stay, rooms can be small but really nice.Didn't think the food was as good as our last visit, asked for medium steak, and came well done and dry.Took
It back, and within a couple of minutes with another, which was as bad as the last one.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bnt1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
There are newer reviews for Cathedral Quarter Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here on a Travelzoo offer, absolute unbelievable value for money. Check in
very efficient, room small but beautifully formed, Really comfy bed. Standards of Service and Cleanliness excellent. Cocktails in Bar Sixteen were excellent. Evening Meal and breakfast were superb. Thank you for a wonderful stay and put the offer on again soon, please ..............

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here recently and could not fault anything. There were extremely helpful staff in every area of the hotel. The level of cleanliness and service was second to none. The restaurant was welcoming, the food was delicious and the service was first class. A very nice hotel indeed & I would certainly recommend this to you.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T4978KDsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Cathedral quarter Hotel weekend of 17th May, there were 8 adults in the group. The staff were very pleasant and couldn't do enough to help, rooms were comfortable and clean, the food was delicious. A special mention to Luke the on night reception, how did the proposal go??

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here on business with colleagues and would certainly stay again. The rooms aren't large but well appointed although the parkay flooring,clearly part of the original building, was loose. The reception area is a stunning and staff were friendly and efficient. Parking is not on site ( there are about 4 spaces) but public parking is one minute away. This area of Derby has bars and restaurants in abundance and within 100 metres of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent in a very pleasant dining room. Good value for money overall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Poor service overall and would never go back there! We stayed on my wedding night as had guests staying at our house so thought would be more peaceful to stay at hotel after a long day... When we arrived at the hotel we weren't allowed in for over an hour due to the fire alarm going off, there was a party at the hotel and someone had drunkenly set the alarm off. when we were eventually allowed in the lift was out of order and no help to carry luggage to second floor even though staff could see we were in heavy bridal outfits!!!
The standard double room itself was clean but like a shoebox...if your clostraphobic DO NOT BOOK A ROOM HERE...YOU WOULD BE BETTER GOING TO THE TRAVELODGE EVEN!!! no dressing table with a mirror even though I'd rang the hotel to confirm there was as my beautician was due to arrive the next morning to get me ready for day 2 of my wedding..she did get me ready but it was a struggle as the pictures displayed of the rooms are nothing like the rooms themselves!

Advised of late check out but cleaners were waiting outside the door eager for us to leave we could hear them banging as if to say hurry up and get out!!!

Overall would never go back or recommend it to any friends or family...

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetyjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was a one night stopover on our journey from Kent to Anglesey and we chose it as it was centrally situated. Friendly reception and all staff good. Food in restaurant and setting was excellent and whole experteience including an excellent nights sleep was great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traderay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.6 mi away
The Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Address: 16 St. Marys Gate, Derby DE1 3JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £75 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with Clink Beauty Rooms, conference rooms, Bar 16 cocktail bar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter
Cathedral Quarter Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing