We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TravelZoo Voucher Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“TravelZoo Voucher Stay”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed one night 7th June a treat for Hubby. Check in was quick, room tidy but dark everything black which I didn't like (room 6). Cocktails good waitress very nice, food excellent and lovely setting. We had steak and it was very tasty, hubby had cheese and biscuits I had sorbet which was delicious. Decent bottle of Merlot and fairly prices at £18. Had a jaunt around Derby and then back in Lounge for a nightcap. Room was hot I couldn't open the window and air con didn't appear to be working. Didn't find the black particular good for inducing natural sleep although bed and pillows were very comfortable. Staff all very friendly and staircase beautiful excellent offer wouldn't want room 6 again but purely for the colour. Best part meal and how good restaurant staff were, it made it seem very special and not rushed.

Room Tip: I found the décor abit daunting in room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    206
    119
    84
    87
See reviews for
108
324
23
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a fabulous weekend here. The food was lovely and the staff were very friendly. We'd definitely go here again. The location is ideal for the town centre, shopping and nightlife. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Beautiful boutique hotel located in the heart of Derby, minimalistic but stylish rooms, friendly & efficient staff, first class service, ideal for a business base or romantic break, excellent location. Simplistic & Elegant

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidhWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with my wife on trip to Derby for my birthday.

Room was spacious, clean and tidy. Decor modern and elegant. Comfy bed!

For breakfast I had Full English which was brilliant. They also had a wide range of options the the continental breakfast which my wife took advantage of.

Located close to city centre and right next to two multi story car parks.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Give it a go!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had bought a voucher on Travelzoo. When I went to book it I was informed that all the rooms on that date had gone so the only option was to upgrade to a king size but as it was only an extra £10 that was absolutely fine. When we arrived, the receptionist was initially ‘frosty’ and she sent us off to our room that was tiny; a box room on the ground floor. Returning to reception to query this we were told we had been placed in a standard double. Funny… I didn’t think there were any available that night! Anyway, she mellowed a bit and reassigned us to a much bigger room on the second floor. Be aware, if the lift is still broken this is quite few stairs with a case. The décor is getting a bit scruffy and a bit patchy in places but the room itself was good. Really hot though and the air con didn’t seem to work. We had our cocktails in Bar Sixteen and mine came bizarrely decorated with a cheap purple plastic peg attached…. It tasted good though. The hotel is in a great location but it doesn’t have any outside space which is a shame in the summer. Most of the staff were very friendly and attentive. Dinner was just ok but champagne breakfast was fab.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank furryferretderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyde cheshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was lovely as it was on our previous stay, rooms can be small but really nice.Didn't think the food was as good as our last visit, asked for medium steak, and came well done and dry.Took
It back, and within a couple of minutes with another, which was as bad as the last one.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnt1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here on a Travelzoo offer, absolute unbelievable value for money. Check in
very efficient, room small but beautifully formed, Really comfy bed. Standards of Service and Cleanliness excellent. Cocktails in Bar Sixteen were excellent. Evening Meal and breakfast were superb. Thank you for a wonderful stay and put the offer on again soon, please ..............

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
1.1 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.6 mi away
The Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Property: Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Address: 16 St. Marys Gate, Derby DE1 3JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with Clink Beauty Rooms, conference rooms, Bar 16 cocktail bar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter
Cathedral Quarter Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing