We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but a few small isssues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but a few small isssues”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I will write this review in the style of Channel Four's Four in a Bed. All categories marked out of ten.

How did we rate our hosts at the Cathedral Quarter Hotel - Reception staff pleasant but not informative as they did not explain check out times, location of the restaurant and the time for breakfast. One of the staff waiting on at breakfast was miserable. Score seven out of ten.

How clean was the Cathedral Quarter Hotel - Generally quite clean however, there was some dust on the lamps and one of the cups was dirty. Score eight out of ten.

How were the facilities at the Cathedral Quarter Hotel - Amazing building. Reception area lovely. Our room (number one) was small in size but acceptable. We were initially really pleased with the room.The bed and furnishings were modern and comfortable. There were dressing gowns and a safe. Unfortunately the room was let down by the lighting as there is none anywhere near the dressing table and mirror. The room was very hot and the air conditioning blew hot air even if the temperature was at its lowest setting. The radiator in the bathroom is controlled by a switch outside the bathroom which looks like one of the light switches and being unaware of this we actually added to the heat by having the radiator on. We did manage to reduce the room temperature by tying the net curtains up and leaving the windows open all night however this was not ideal as we were on the ground floor. Score seven out of ten.

How did we sleep at Cathedral Quarter Hotel - Like a log. The bed was very comfortable and the solid construction of the building meant no noise was heard from other rooms. Score Ten out of ten.

How did we rate the food at the Cathedral Quarter Hotel - Dinner was a flat iron steak, very tasty. The water we were given with the meal had obviously been standing for some time and tasted tainted. We requested a jug of fresh water but when our glasses were low a waiter came and topped the glasses up with the tainted water. We both had the full English breakfast. The sausage test was passed, good quality but the bacon was hard and both poached eggs were 'snotty'. Service was slow. Score six out of ten.

Location of the Cathedral Quarter Hotel - Just outside the centre of town, a short stroll from the shops and bars, Score ten out of ten.

Value for money at the Cathedral Quarter Hotel - We paid £69 for two people, bed, breakfast meal and a cocktail. This represented fantastic value, a steal.

Would we come here again? YES. All of our criticisms were minor issues which I'm sure can be dealt with by the hotel management.

Room Tip: In room one the radiator is controlled by a switch that looks a light switch. Check the air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manicoverdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    208
    120
    86
    89
See reviews for
110
330
25
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. We went for a weekend break and staff were really brilliant - some treat you as though you are inferior when they think you are on a break. I requested a quiet room and got one. It was not large but really well equipped (fridge, dvd ....) and really comfy bed. superb soundproofing. My daughters shared a room with a sitting room which I would highly recommend if you are with friends or family so you can all meet up. Staff were also brilliant at finding and booking local activities for us. Restaurant food was terrific too - one of the best meals I had had for ages. a few minutes walking distance to city centre yet in a quieter road. this is a boutique hotel in the best sense of the word.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 889anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicvamp
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in June as a romantic getaway. The reviews were generally good and this hotel advertises itself as a boutique hotel.

We had a warm welcome on check-in and the room (a king bedded one) was of reasonable size so as not to feel cramped. It was very clean with a high spec bathroom which was lovely and obviously recently refurbished. The shower was hot and powerful and lovely basin. The only thing about the decor that put me off was that the curtains and feature wallpaper are black which I personally do not find a restful colour - but it was well decorated and of high quality. The windows do open a few inches - this is a ground floor room and obviously for security reasons one would not want them opening more! It was a hot day and there was a sufficient flow of air to cool the room. I was surprised and disappointed that there are no biscuits offered with the tea and coffee which is a small detail but seems cheapskate - its nice to have a biscuit with your drink when you have been on your feet and its the little touches that are important. This is an hotel not a travel lodge.

The breakfast room is lovely; bright and airy and beautifully set out with the usual selection of pastries, fruit, meat and cereals together with a hot offering. The breakfast foods are extremely well presented even the meats are neatly folded and attractively showed off. The pastries were warm and fresh. The full English was a good sized portion and the ingredients seemed good quality although the sausages are quite solid and hard. The only let down with breakfast was that the poached eggs were overcooked and not runny inside and we were extremely disappointed to find that what other reviewers say about the breakfast being luke warm and almost cold seems completely true. This let down what could have been a really tasty breakfast. I hope this improves as more people feed back. Also, if you like your bacon fat soft and not crispy then do request it as otherwise it is hard and crispy (the way I like it but not my husband).

So in summary, a lovely place to stay which is let down by a few things that could be easily rectified with a little attention; this would make it an outstanding place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vicvamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here for one night in May rather than drive the hour back North.
got a deal on the Hotel website for £69 - including breakfast.
Room at the rear of the hotel on the second floor, rather small but adequate for the purposes of my stay.
air con was fine, Bed was great - room could do with a refresh of paint.
Bathroom good, no bath, shower not at all powerful which was disappointing.
Breakfast choice excellent, cooked fresh, with great service.
overall a good experience for the price!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teekaysUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUILDFORD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Disappointing is the only way to describe our stay. Given the key but the room was not made up. Room was very, very warm and no air con and the shower head was broken so was in a fixed position because it had been cable tied to the holder. Asked the waitress what was included in the Travelzoo offer and was told to choose a starter, main and a dessert only to find out that this was not the case at checkout and when it was pointed out to the Receptionist she went on and on and on and on about how they had lost so much money on the Travelzoo offer and wouldn't be doing it again and if we weren't happy to write in to the GM. Did we realise that one of the other hotels in the Group had closed down because of business .............. Whilst this was enlightening it had absolutely nothing to do with the fact that we had been told one thing but this was untrue ............... maybe they get more money this way. Breakfast - very, very poor - barely warm as was the coffee. Shame because it would have been an ideal place to visit twice a year as it is mid point between where we live and our friends. Room 20 - I'd avoid oh and room 1 where our friends stayed .............. no air con in there either. We would not recommend nor revisit

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derby hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed one night 7th June a treat for Hubby. Check in was quick, room tidy but dark everything black which I didn't like (room 6). Cocktails good waitress very nice, food excellent and lovely setting. We had steak and it was very tasty, hubby had cheese and biscuits I had sorbet which was delicious. Decent bottle of Merlot and fairly prices at £18. Had a jaunt around Derby and then back in Lounge for a nightcap. Room was hot I couldn't open the window and air con didn't appear to be working. Didn't find the black particular good for inducing natural sleep although bed and pillows were very comfortable. Staff all very friendly and staircase beautiful excellent offer wouldn't want room 6 again but purely for the colour. Best part meal and how good restaurant staff were, it made it seem very special and not rushed.

Room Tip: I found the décor abit daunting in room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a fabulous weekend here. The food was lovely and the staff were very friendly. We'd definitely go here again. The location is ideal for the town centre, shopping and nightlife. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
3.6 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.1 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Property: Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Address: 16 St. Marys Gate, Derby DE1 3JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with Clink Beauty Rooms, conference rooms, Bar 16 cocktail bar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter
Cathedral Quarter Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing