We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not perfect.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good but not perfect.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is decorated really well and the staff try hard but could really do with some coaching in order to perfect there skills. My room was a ground floor double. It was small and dark. Bathroom was tiny but it served it's purpose. Hotel was clean, evening meal was really nice and breakfast was plentiful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Niall1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    195
    110
    81
    83
See reviews for
100
306
22
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Our room was very small and consequently the paintwork and furniture were very worn, as it was difficult to move around it - walls should have been painted and carpets replaced sometime ago. It is clear that when the hotel opened a lot of thought, time and money was put into the decor, but over the years this standard has not been maintained. For instance, bedding and lampshades were cheap and did not match the quality of curtains and wall paper. It was also a very interesting concept to leave an ironing board next to the bed without making it feel like student accommodation.

The breakfast, however, was very good. The location is ideal for the city centre.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RamblingAroundAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this beautiful hotel through travel zoo and got an amazing offer.
The hotel is a boutique hotel and just down the road from the cathedral.
It's great for walking around the city centre.
Our package included dinner bed and breakfast in a standard room.
The restaurant is in a beautiful room an the service and food was excellent.
Although the room we had was compact it had everything we needed and had more than enough room for a short break.
The hotel service was excellent.
The only slight downside is that the hotel has limited parking but you do get a discount at the nearby multi-storey car park.
I'd recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank morgs1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in a suite for one night on a short visit to Derby. The Hotel is ideally situated for the city centre and surrounding places of interest. The suite was spacious with the bedroom on a mezzanine floor. It was comfortable, with plenty of furniture and three televisions. However, the carpets were dirty with lines of dust around the edges and stains in the middle of the floor. Not what you would expect! The staff were very friendly but restaurant hours were restricted. The hotel is full of character but not as sharp as it should be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaEagle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, its a lovely old building with the most amazing individually styled clocks in reception but its the staff who really make this hotel a lovely experience. Everyone without exception was smiling and helpful, the service wasn't faultless but the attitude of the staff made it so. I'd like to give particular mention to Jemma in the restaurant; I hope the hotel know how good she is - quietly efficient, exceptional.

The room we had was quite small but comfortable and well-appointed, the menu in the restaurant is limited but we had a first class meal.

Well located for shopping, pubs and restaurants and the main routes in an out of Derby.

Would definitely use this hotel as my first choice if I visit the area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuftynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business. It's a nice hotel, a bit different from the normal faceless corporates and has some character. Reception staff were lovely. Had a suite, which was not quite as expected. Lovely bed, bathroom fab, but lounge area like a motel which was a shame. Major disappointment in that restaurant is not open on a Monday which as a four star hotel is not acceptable. There is food in the bar, but this is a snack menu or burgers so not what is wanted after a long day. However the Thai Dusit is open Monday night and is excellent and just a short minute or so walk around the corner. The tapas restaurant is also round the corner too but in some kind of Derby based conspiracy also shut on a Monday.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DiggerOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed just one night in June. We loved it. We managed to get a deal which included a 3 course meal. The location was very central but the hotel was very quiet. The staff were very friendly

There is a small area for parking but a very good car park just down the road. Excellent in every way. We can recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willyNuneaton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derby
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#8 of 8 in Castle Donington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.1 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Property: Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Address: 16 St. Marys Gate, Derby DE1 3JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with Clink Beauty Rooms, conference rooms, Bar 16 cocktail bar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter
Cathedral Quarter Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing