We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aston Court Hotel(Derby)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
287
216
137
98
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
216
137
98
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaopulence restaurantpolice stationa private dining roomcathedral quarterbottle of proseccosunday lunchlovely hotelcourse mealsecure car parknight porterfull englishlovely roomparksafesixteenkingsizewedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
796 - 801 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2009

A girlfriend and I saw that they were having a murder mystery night and decided to treat ourselves to the whole package. Really glad we did! Hotel receptionist was really nice and friendly, not in a snobby way - really genuine. I was a woman alone until my friend arrived, but the staff made me feel that I was not out of place, they were so friendly. I noticed other single women in the bar, so this is obviously a place that specialises in the single traveller. Barman knew how to make a real vodka martini, by the way! Room so clean and fresh! The murder mystery night was great, the actors were superb, and I didn't even know who was acting and who wasn't to start with. Great night!

But here's the best bit. The hotel is in the nicest part of a city that I have ever been in and we didn't even know that when we booked. It's beautiful! You walk out in the morning and the pedestrian streets and cathedral are a delight to be in. Like a Dickens thing!

If you're looking for a really fab weekend, or even just a GOOD hotel then this is good one. The staff really pull together, you can tell they get on well. The ambiance is not like posh and snooty, distainful hotels, this one genuinely want to see you! Great for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Have previously stayed at Finesse hotels in Nottingham and Belper, found them good, but this place is outstanding. From the moment we arrived, on a cold December evening, nothing was too much trouble for the staff; if only all check-ins could be this efficient. The hotel has been beautifully converted; it was originally the county council HQ, built in the 1890s and retains its Victorian grandeur. In the relaxing and comfortable bar, again the service was perfect. Ben, the manager, really knows his stuff. We didn't eat dinner here, but will certainly do so next time: breakfast was excellent and the dining roomm is spacious, the staff again friendly and helpful. This place is exactly how a 4 Star hotel should be. There are some fine hotels in Derby, but this is really the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan-Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

I cant really comment on the interior of this hotel, as I didnt even get this far! Booked weeks in advance to stay last June, to attend an event in derby. Got a good rate and was pleased to be staying in a nice hotel, as it was my partner and I's anniversary. Two days before we were due to leave for derby, we get a call from The Cathedral Quarter hotel. A very uninterested sounding man who informs us that they have double booked and in fact, there is no room for us. We had booked vis Late Rooms and apparently, the person at the hotel who checks the Late Rooms bookings had been away and not checked.

Which leaves us hotel-less at the last moment, with both of us at work and with little time to sort out suitable alternatives. No offer from the hotel to help us out. We called Late Rooms who said they would speak to the hotel and ask them to ring us back and try to help us. Waited all day - no call. rang back the hotel and the same man answers - no apology, he sounded like we had just woken him up. He said - after we asked - he would try to get us into another hotel. We were concerned, as a large music festival was being held nearby and we thoyght hotel rooms may be thinn on the ground. Eventually, we booked us into a hotel. One check on trip advisor showed us it was far below the standars promised by The Cathedral Quarter hotel, with poor reviews. We refused it, and ended up booking into the ramada Encore, which was lovely (although not the romantic, botique hotel experience with spa treatment, which we had planned!)

anyway, regrettably, im sure double bookings do sometimes happen. What annoyed us most though, was the lask of interest when dealing with it. We wrote a letter to both head office and the hotel itself. We received a call from the hotel while we were in Derby to offer us a free meal in the resturant. We were not around that evening so had to decline. Then, when we returned home, we received a letter from head office saying they were 'looking into our complaint.' That was the last we heard from them.

Id recommend you give your hard earned cash to a hotel that cares about its customers and steer clear!

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank sunnydelight26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Booked as a birthday surprise, on arriving was greeted with a warm sincere welcome,
checkin process was fast and courteous, what an entrance, was advised about the facilities times of dinner breakfast, wake up calls etc, and then a young man carried my girlfriend bag to our room

After exploring the usual treats in hotel rooms phoned reception asking for a bottle of wine, 1minute later a gentleman appears at the door offering me a full wine list to choose from and informing me that if i liked he could wait or alternativly call direct to the restaurant to place our order, chose the wine there and then and in no time at all the wine was delivered oh joy



We freshened up and went out to see the local shops 2 minute walk and there was an alandins cave of stores

returned back to the hotel with our bags of goodies and booked a table for dinner, we were advised that it was a busy evening and booked our table @ 9pm, not really a problem for us as we still had our shopping to check and finish our wine


Went down to the bar lounge at 8 .15pm and was greeted by a young lady host who shown us to a table inquired about our day and if we had any plans for dinner, we explained that we have made a booking and the lady checked and confirmed that with us from her booking dairy,then we were presented a drinks list by the barman who took our order and then returned with 1 exotic cocktail and my not so exotic bottle of beer,

The bar was a nice enviroment for a drink and the attmosphere was relaxed and nicely lit,

The young lady host returned to invite us to our table in the restaurant WoW what a room this is, was greeted by the Restaurant Manager whom introduced himself offered the menus and explained who would look be looking after us this evening and was very informative to the surroungings in which we sat.

A young man offered to take a bar drinks order and we were presented with a water menu and wine list and of course with the occasion we certainly obliged
The Manager took our order so we were settled to enjoy the occasion

We received a Chefs taster dish which was explained and what a lovely touch prior to our staters, starters were lovely fresh well presented and tasty,
We had about a 20 minute wait from when our starters were cleared to our main course arriving but this was certainly not an issue as the wine and attentive service we were receiving and the attmosphere from the surruonding guests made it more enjoyable


This food was somthing else, never had desserts or Coffee just rolled back to the bar to finish our evening off .

Was too late for breakfast but phonned down to reception and tea juice and toast was delivered to our room.

Really enjoyed the surprise and the experiance will certainly return

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We booked the Cathedral Quarter hotel a month ago after reading some glowing reports and left feeling very disappointed in the service we received.

The hotel looks impressive - great menu in the hotel, a range of rooms and a lovely lobby complete with towering Christmas tree and a hostess.

And that's about it - it just looks good - scratch the surface and you quickly realise that appearances can be deceiving.

Rooms- we stayed in a king bedded double - which was basically a twin with the beds pushed together meaning that you could almost fall down the middle. There was only one robe and one towel each. There were two tea bags and two milks so that we had to call and ask for more within half an hour of arriving.

Bar menu - We ordered two club sandwiches on granary bread - which were supposed to come with salad and home made crisps. We also asked for chips on the side - which they clearly could have provided given that they were available with the fish and chips and the steak and chips - but we were not allowed them. The sandwiches arrived on brown bread and with crisps out of a packet on the side. Only a small thing but not what we ordered nonetheless.

Room Service- we decided to order dessert and wine to have in the room. We also asked for peppermint tea and some teabags for breakfast. We ordered two desserts and ice creams. An hour later we received a call from reception saying that neither dessert was available and the only dessert we could have was a chocolate tart - that we could have complimentary because of the error on the menu. Twenty minutes later my partner went to reception to find out what was happening and it transpired that the dessert had not been ordered. He ordered more wine from the bar and brought it back up to the room himself. The desserts arrived 5 minutes later - no tea bags, no peppermint tea and no apology.

Breakfast - we considered ordering this to the room but there was no card in the room so that we could to order it this way. There was no one to seat us in the restaurant so we helped ourselves to a table. We asked for tea and toast. The tea was served by the waitress dumping a tea bag in each of our mugs and topping up with water and then milk in quick succession. We received one measly piece of toast each and had to ask for more. The cooked breakfast buffet was cold and the butter was practically frozen. The fruit was plainly out of a tin and served in syrup.

In summary, with the exception of the grand design and expensive fixtures and fittings - everything in this hotel feels like it is done on the cheap.

I have had better service in a travel lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tam1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews