We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very economical”

East Midlands (EM) Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
East Midlands (EM) Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Derby
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stay here a lot whilst working in Derby, and it suits me great. Very economical on the wallet, and has all the facilities I need whilst here:- kettle, iron, shower, fridge, microwave, freeview TV, free WiFi and car park. Warmer rooms would be nice, but other than that I don't really have any issues for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petec84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

Basic, clean, did what it said on the tin,

Owner could do with brushing up on his English but that's about it really!

Showers were clean, toilets were clean, rooms were clean, comfortable beds, not sure if it is a guesthouse though, I'd go for hostel... Tv with free view, free wifi and free parking, can't complain!

Room Tip: Stayed in room without a number, second on the left as you go in, bit of traffic noise in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Bad point shower upstairs still not working,down stairs shower room no light and dirty.the shower broken tiles on the floor in the shower itself.bedding was very thin and 1 pillow.heating was on min.free drinks but not cups to make it in.no towels and no lamps as we were a party of 3 it meant we all had to go to sleep at the sametime.on the plus side the bed was comfy.the tv worked free parking and free wifi.

Room Tip: Bring your own bedding towels and cutlery and dishes.its more a hostel than a guest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annette733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Room was very cold, the toilets were dirty, poor reception and welcoming to the hostel. Ok, you pay for what you get, but I have never stayed in a hostel so bad! Would not return, would rather pay a little extra, very noisy in the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirklbts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

For £22 a night don't expect the ritz. it was clean tidy and warm. good sized carpark. 15 minutes walk to city center. Room was a good size with a good sized kitchen to cook your food.plenty of fridge space for storage.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 86e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This triple room was booked on our behalf so we didn't know what to expect. It wasn't really the friendliest welcome, but worse was the room - tiny, cold, sparsely furnished, no towels provided (had to ask). No en suite, upstairs shower broken. Other guests were a bit weird and also quite noisy - and the place stank of fags and kebabs, despite an apparent no smoking rule. Overall a bit grim. Avoid.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbobbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I needed to catch an early flight from East Midlands airport and I was just looking for something cheap. This was the cheapest place in Derby, and for good reason. It was clean enough but it just seemed horrible and dodgy. Next time I'll pay a bit more and upgrade to, well, anything else would be an upgrade.

Stayed: June 2012
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.4 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#17 of 29 in Derby
502 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Derby Cricket Ground hotel
4.3 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Midlands (EM) Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Midlands (EM) Guesthouse

Address: 100A Douglas Street, Derby DE23 8LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Derby
Price Range: £31 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — East Midlands (EM) Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the centre of Derby, this newly refurbished guesthouse offers reasonably priced, comfortable, clean private rooms and friendly and helpful multi-lingual staff. Within easy reach of East Midlands Airport and with a great central location, East Midlands Guest House is an excellent base for those visiting the region. Derby is a good starting point for many tourists, as there are great attractions in the surrounding region; The Peak District and Nottingham - home of the legendary Robin Hood. Derby also has one of the largest shopping centres in the East Midlands - Westfield, which is a very modern and impressive shopping facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your East Midlands (EM) Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Midlands (EM) Guesthouse Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing