We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab cake and brekkie. Family friendly ”

The Parlour Tea Rooms
Ranked #205 of 691 Restaurants in Derby
Description: We are a family orientated business offering good quality food (many home made) at reasonable prices. We offer; - Eat in, take away, (picnic boxes, summer months) - Text your orders before collection (less waiting). - Specials boards - Wide selection of food and snacks - Free USB charging points - Disabled toilet and baby changing facilities - Wheel chair and pushchair friendly - Groups welcome with prior booking - Log burner (winter months) - Small dogs welcome inside (larger ones welcome outside) - Adjacent to a working farm with tours of the animals (check with staff for open days/times) - Local to Markeaton Park and the walled garden - Free car parking (guests only) - Small selection of toys and gifts available
Restaurant details
Description: We are a family orientated business offering good quality food (many home made) at reasonable prices. We offer; - Eat in, take away, (picnic boxes, summer months) - Text your orders before collection (less waiting). - Specials boards - Wide selection of food and snacks - Free USB charging points - Disabled toilet and baby changing facilities - Wheel chair and pushchair friendly - Groups welcome with prior booking - Log burner (winter months) - Small dogs welcome inside (larger ones welcome outside) - Adjacent to a working farm with tours of the animals (check with staff for open days/times) - Local to Markeaton Park and the walled garden - Free car parking (guests only) - Small selection of toys and gifts available
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

I visited today with a couple friends and our children. Food was gorgeous and the cafe is so beautiful! I was surprised quite how EASY it was to find from the park. It is literally just out the gates as you go up between the craft village and the walled garden!!
We have all bought (multiple) cake slices home with us for afternoon treats!
Will definitely be very much a regular!

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markrG3305OU, Owner at The Parlour Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Hannah,
Thank you for your kind review of you and your friends. We always welcome new customers especially those with young children. Hopefully we are now easier to find as we are also olhave diections on Google maps and our Website.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

A lovely venue for a get together with friends. We booked the function room for afternoon tea for a group of 14. The staff were friendly and helpful, both when dealing with enquires and on the day. The table looked beautiful when we arrived, with delicate china, traditional cutlery & fresh flowers. The food was delicious and good value for money. The Parlour tearooms helped to make this a special & memorable day. I would definitely recommend popping in!

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank KilburnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markrG3305OU, Manager at The Parlour Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you for your kind words and lovely review. We really enjoyed having you all to tea and was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and the china. Our best wishes to the hen!
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

And how long ago is it that someone made eggy bread for you?
This is a delightful tea room and a joy to sit outside on a sunny day
We had some lemon drizzle cake too. Excellent
There's a healthy mini menu for mini people ...toast with cheese egg or beans for breakfast (under £2) and how about a fish finger sandwich after 12am for £3?
This is great food served by 2 lovely ladies. I can't fault it
We're going back this week for their quiche and some more cake

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank StickofRockDerby_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markrG3305OU, Manager at The Parlour Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our food and look forward to you coming back again and hopefully you can sit outside and enjoy the sun again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

A breakfast cob and a pot of tea is just what you need on a wet and miserable day to cheer you up. The tea rooms are well laid with good decor and the warm and friendly greeting from the staff makes you feel relaxed. There is a good menu choice of items plus some yummy looking cakes to choose from plus I loved having tea in a china tea cup. I parked on the road outside but when the tea rooms get busy you may be best to park in the Markeaton car park and walk the short distance down to it.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank johnhp702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markrG3305OU, Manager at The Parlour Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very pleased that you were satisfied and enjoyed our relaxed atmosphere. We always try to make our customers feel very welcome.
Please come back again for one of our cakes or cream teas.
In regard to parking, we do have parking space in the field we share with the heritage farm next to the nearby garden centre (100m) when the weather improves and we are busy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Such a lovely cosey cafe with beautiful ambience. I have been a few times already since it opened and have had the breakfast every time. You can choose between a 4, 6 or 8 piece breakfast and
Choose your own items. It is never greasy and they even offer vegetarian sausages.
My 18 month old also approves of the breakfast!
All the drinks are served in vintage China which adds to the atmosphere along with the roaring log fire.
We have also sampled a few of the delicious cakes. Unfortunately we always scoff our food and cakes too fast and forget to take photos! The cakes are amazing and the Victoria sponge was humongous! They have also had gluten free cakes every time I have been in.
The cafe is situated is a farm which is due to open to the public very soon. This paired with the fact that it is a 2 minute walk from the markeaton park craft village makes it a perfect place to take the kids after they have burnt off energy on the park.
All the staff are lovely and friendly and service always comes with a smile even when they're really busy.
The parlour is a firm favourite with us and we go on a weekly basis for Sunday brunch and a play on the park to wear the little one out.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markrG3305OU, Manager at The Parlour Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words Hannah. We always try to encourage families by offering a small selection of outside toys for small children to play on whilst patents taking a rest. We hope soon to open our function room for a mother and baby club, children's parties and to have a child friendly area for parents.
Please come back for more cakes and hopefully the farm will be open soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Parlour Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Parlour Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing