We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, view is great, air con brilliant, rooms well equipped, service with a smile, breakfast was lovely, a great all ”
Review of Jurys Inn Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jurys Inn Derby
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value, view is great, air con brilliant, rooms well equipped, service with a smile, breakfast was lovely, a great all ”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We are a family of 4 with 2 toddlers visiting family nearby. Finding value is not easy but this hotel completely exceeded expectations. The warm spell meant the air con and the ice machines facilities were very well appreciated. We had 3 beds and a pull out bed, all very comfy for just £40. I have paid nearly triple that for just the same or even less before now. It's a clean and modern hotel with friendly, welcoming staff. Nice bar, gym and has outside seating too. The view from our room overlooked the cathedral which was lovely. The buffet breakfast had lots of choice and was fresh and topped up continuously to make sure there was plenty for all and children under 12 eat free, again presenting great value. Probably one of the best hotel experiences for the money. The only very slight downside and I mean very slight, is that there is nowhere near enough car parking spaces for the hotel. There is a multi storey only 3 mins walk away though but obviously there is a charge, although very reasonable. It would be useful if there was details of the parking locations on the hotel website. Personally i think the hotel facilities and value more than make up for the minor parking issue. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afamilyof4away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    677
    218
    81
    38
See reviews for
333
535
93
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Thought we would have a change of venue when visiting Nottingham for my most recent graduation at the National College - and Derby is not too far away with slightly better deals for this particular night.
We could see the hotel, but actually getting to it and the parking was not my way to end a tiring journey after a full day's work!! The room was good and the air conditioning was a god-send as we had to keep our window closed (on a VERY hot night) due to the all-night roadworks under our window :-( although this was not entirely the hotel's fault.
Evening meal was tricky - my choice was not available, so I asked for an alternative and ANOTHER alternative was served and then returned to the kitchen...... a failed attempt to create what I ordered was dished up and I gave up then!! Management and the ever-smiling waitresses were really good - they were full of apologies (even though it was chef who had failed) and management waived the charge :-)
Derby was lively and the hotel is well placed for the city centre.
Self-service breakfast was quite good - and we were fed and watered ready for the short hop to Nottingham. The lack of parking and left me standing like a lemon at the front of the hotel waiting for my husband to work his way round the one-way roads........
Accessing via public transport for a weekend city break - not a bad idea, but I think we should have looked for a tad more luxury and ease of access - especially as it was my birthday too!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a front of hotel room during the roadworks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during the hottest week in July '13. Good location for exploring Derby. Good sized room, bed comfortable - room/ensuite had everything one needed especially the air conditioning !! Also good that there was a water/ice dispenser in hall outside room. Breakfast was adequate but all self service....if you weren't at breakfast by 0930 almost everything was packed away but they would still serve you breakfast. Room service not advertised but could still get food delivered to room but with a £3 ''Tray charge'', which we thought was a bit much. Very disapointed about the barmeal we got downstairs...soup insipid....burger burnt on outside,raw inside...chips overdone...meal expensive..... Receptionist was a lovely girl (from Belmullet in Ireland)...helpful when we needed advice about places to eat in Derby and general info...all given with a lovely smile !!........

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maws77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I come to Derby 8 or 10 times a year. My first time to stay at Jury's. All my usual hotels were full. Jury's had availability, and now I know why. The car park was designed on the back of a fag packet. There is VERY limited availability, the car park has no direct access to the hotel and on top of that they CHARGE when you use it. Other hotels have much better parking and its complementary to guests.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Nice hotel and handy for Cathedral bars and restaurants BUT there is no way of getting to reception in a car or taxi i.e. no drop-off or vehicular access.
There is a car park in the basement but there have cleverly stopped the lift from accessing that floor. Not only that, there are no stairs, you must walk out, up a hill and round the block to get to reception, arriving sweaty and grumpy

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoaringVole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I thought I was back in Australia when I saw the iron & board! Only at this hotel for one night (paid £44 for room only). Good sized room on 9th floor with lovely views and floor to ceiling window, crisp white bedding and no unnecessary clutter around. It took me a few minutes to find the hair dryer but it is on a hook under the TV shelf. Staff were most helpful, restaurant staff just great for my evening meal (stayed in because of the air conditioning), Breakfast (£8.50) was good. (Had planned to go into the city centre for both dinner & breakfast but it was just too hot for me last weekend). I never have a cooked breakfast (which looked excellent) and was delighted with the options on offer to me. Comfortable lounge area away from the bar and also seating on the outside terrace. Have never stayed at a Jurys Inn before but will definitely book with them again and tell all my friends. PS. Have just booked my daughter, son-in-law and their 3 children in to a large family room at Jury's Inn, Plymouth for 1 night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view (provided you don't mind heights).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were going to Alton Towers, however not to the theme park, but the house itself for a ghost hunt, so was essential we had a hotel with 24hr access as we'd be returning very early morning and most b&bs in the area dont accept this, which is totally understandable (i'd HATE to be woken up at 4am by people coming back from one of these overnight ghost hunts myself)

We'd booked up the hotel in advance and gotten a really good rate of £83 for 2 nights, as we were driving up from Epsom on Friday night after work and leaving Sunday after spooks :)

We arrived at 1130pm to the infamous `full` car park sign, and altho knew this was an issue didnt have to worry as there was information the ticket barrier advising where to go for alternative parking. We parked up and walked into the hotel and checked in.

The room was a `triple` ie double + single bed arrangement, but only had cups for 2 (i'd understand if we'd booked as a couple, but there was actually 3 of us so hoped maybe would have added a 3rd cup) not a deal breaker at all but still :)

The room had very good airconditioning, which was essential, AND very good curtains which were also essential as we were going to be sleeping well into the morning on Sunday and needed not to be woken by daylight.

We didnt use the restaurant or bar as we just popped into the city itself (which was a stones throw from the hotel)

We would definitely use this hotel again.

One comical thing of note we were politely advised IF we had any issue with people being too loud/rowdy that they'd do everything they could to move us to a quieter room. Fair play to them for being honest about the potential for rowdy guests, but it was never a problem :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaywalker2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
1.2 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Derby

Property: Jurys Inn Derby
Address: King Street, Derby DE1 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Derby is ideally located within the city's Cathedral Quarter, ideal for both business visitors, due to the proximity of Derby's thriving business district, and leisure guests keen to explore the city's rich history and culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from a variety of museums, concert halls, markets and galleries as well as a pleasant walk from Derby's shopping epicentre, St. Peter's Quarter. Alton Towers amusement park, Kedleston Hall or the beautiful Peak District are a short drive from the hotel. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also enjoy a workout in the hotel's cardio gym. If arriving by car, the nearest public car park is available at Chapel Street car park, a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel boasts 213 comfortable bedrooms for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds with crisp linen, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Derby at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Derby Hotel Derby
Jurys Inn Derby Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing