We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for City Break”
Review of Jurys Inn Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Derby
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ideal for City Break”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Two nights with friends in a destination central to our homes. That's the answer to 'why Derby?'
Enjoyed the city and the easy access to the moors. Good nights out with plenty of food and drink choice. Breakfasts were very good. We were on floor nine so had none of noise mentioned. It was a tad of a nuisance when key card stopped working, twice!
The car parking was full on arrival so were directed to car park nearby which was fine. Access to under ground car park is very tight and it is a walk with luggage. Couldn't see a way round this!
Staff were very pleasant. Sunday night was really quiet and booking.com produced a good value deal, not the £400 previously mentioned- no where near it!!
Well worth a visit and Derby is an interesting city centre even without all the shopping!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa S, Guest Relations Manager at Jurys Inn Derby, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Steve_G..

Thank you for your recent review here on trip advisor,

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here in Derby, and even more delighted you had time to explore the delights of the area and all it has to offer. I do hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

Mark Bussey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    665
    214
    78
    38
See reviews for
323
527
91
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertforshire England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just stayed for 2 nights in the Jurys Inn Derby, friday and saturday.First problem is the parking.Limited spaces at the hotel and if you are lucky access from the basement to the reception is very poor.You have to lug your cases up the ramp on to the pavement and round to the hotel.If you are disabled or elderly like me this is not very clever.Reception fine and the rooms are ok.Small double bed not good for a big bloke like me.Booked evening meals and used the resturant on the ground floor. Very dismal decoration and the service is so slow.
The menu is very basic and the food is served luke warm and undercooked.The first evening we were woken by the fire alarm at 2am ,set off by a mindless resident.No fire.Then the noise started from the people returning from a night out in Derby.Running along the corridors,banging doors and making as much noise as possible in their rooms.
The following evening was not any better.Noise from adjoining rooms from 1.30 untill 4.00am.
We complained to the receptionist who said she would bring it to the attention of the manager and as a good will gesture wave the £3.00 car park charge.2 rooms for 2 nights cost me £400.00. Not cheap.Did not enjoy my stay and would not go back there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Higgins88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa S, Guest Relations Manager at Jurys Inn Derby, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Higgins88,

Thank you for your recent review here on trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that your stay with us was not an enjoyable one and I have reviewed the issues you experienced with my management team. I would like to apologise for the issues you experienced and I am sorry to hear also that the food was not satisfactory and that on this occassion your stay was interupted by noise by other guests. If you would like to discuss further then please contact me at mark_bussey@jurysinns.com and I would be more than happy to discuss further the issues you experienced.

Kind regards

Mark Bussey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as we had a friends wedding nearby. Great location into town or various venues, can walk to these although we got a taxi as we had high heels on. Hotel gladly called a taxi for us.
Rooms are quite big and the one we had had a great view. Everything you needed in the room was there. Comfy bed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t30cudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa S, Guest Relations Manager at Jurys Inn Derby, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Jurys Inn Derby . All guest feedback is used constructively to continually improve our hotel services and ultimately guest satisfaction.

Thank you for your positive comments relating to the team and spacious room I was delighted to read such nice comments. All our team work incredibly hard each day to try and deliver a high level of service. Your kind comments are appreciated on all levels and will be passed onto the team.

Kind regards

Mark Bussey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Cheap stay thanks to VISIT DERBY website. Check in smooth nice friendly receptionists. Room cream, gym fab, 10 min stroll to town... Better to park slightly out of centre." Used car park here too. Breakfast nice. Can't complain. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa S, Guest Relations Manager at Jurys Inn Derby, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Jane W,

I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay here at Jurys Inn Derby.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jurys Inn Derby in the very near future.

Kind regards

Mark Bussey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed for a weekend as a base for Alton Towers. The hotel was very smart on good value for money. Rooms were clean and staff were very friendly. The only problem is parking. The car park is situated under the hotel but there is no direct access to the hotel so you have to carry you luggage onto the pavement up the hill and into the hotel. There are not many spaces so if you arrive later in the day they try and push you to go to a nearby public car park. All in all a good central hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa S, Guest Relations Manager at Jurys Inn Derby, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Steve R,

Thank you for your recent review on Jurys Inn Derby I was delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, but was sorry you struggled with parking. We do use another car park on Chapel street also and as a city hotel are lucky to be able to provide these car parks at discounted rates. I do understand your frustration with car parking as like any city it is not always the easiest especially on our premises which is limited.

Thank you for bringing it to our attention and I do hope we can invite you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards

Mark Bussey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

If you are in Derby then you can't go wrong staying here.

Good prices, good service and good food in a relaxed bar area. its also in a pretty central location though its a £5 cab ride from the train station.

Would deffo stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa S, Guest Relations Manager at Jurys Inn Derby, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Umar M

Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed the hotel and we look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Bussey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Visited Jury's Inn Derby for a night. The room was OK for the price paid, being clean and having the facilities expected.

It should be noted that the beds are only standard size and not as good as a Premier Inn and that there is no choice of pillows like at Premier Inn , which are massive, which is no good if you like thinner pillows like our family.

However, the resteraunt was very poor! We had 2 children's meals and 2 adult meals , £7.95 and £24.95 for the 3 course options with an additional £6 supplement for the steak. The kids spaghetti ad meat balls came with chips not pasta (with no explanation), the kids cheese burger came with no cheese (this was sent back and we were halfway through our main before it came back, with one impatient child!). My steak was so thin that it would have been the medium asked for, for about 30 seconds, not surprising then that it came well done! My wife's pork loin filet, was a chop!

Service was very slow, despite us being one of the first in when it opened and there only being a handful of people in there.

On the plus side, the sticky toffee pudding was nice, but the meal was of poor quality and poor value for money, particular given the plethora of good quality resteraunts and pubs on the hotels doorstep.

Same disorganisation in the morning at breakfast. There always seemed to be one or more of of the hot buffet items empty and we had to use mugs for juice as there was a glass shortage (not too much of an issue, as with most places the juice glasses were like thimbles).

There was a good selection for breakfast and the quality was reasonable (even though the toaster was only toasting on one side).

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChemicalJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa S, Guest Relations Manager at Jurys Inn Derby, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear ChemicalJasper,

Thank you for your recent review here on trip advisor,

I was sorry to hear that on your recent stay at Jurys Inn Derby the food and service did not live up to your expectations and would like to apologise with regards to the issues you experienced. I have shared your review with my food and beverage team and we have acted upon the issues you described.

Thank you for your honesty in sharing your experiences here on trip advisor. Your feedback is very much appreciated as this helps us to improve and all feedback is good feedback.

If you would like to discuss these further then please do not hesitate to contact myself at mark_bussey@jurysinns.com and I would be happy to discuss further.

Kind regards

Mark Bussey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.2 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
425 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Derby

Property: Jurys Inn Derby
Address: King Street, Derby DE1 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Derby is ideally located within the city's Cathedral Quarter, ideal for both business visitors, due to the proximity of Derby's thriving business district, and leisure guests keen to explore the city's rich history and culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from a variety of museums, concert halls, markets and galleries as well as a pleasant walk from Derby's shopping epicentre, St. Peter's Quarter. Alton Towers amusement park, Kedleston Hall or the beautiful Peak District are a short drive from the hotel. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also enjoy a workout in the hotel's cardio gym. If arriving by car, the nearest public car park is available at Chapel Street car park, a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel boasts 213 comfortable bedrooms for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds with crisp linen, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Derby at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Derby Hotel Derby
Jurys Inn Derby Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing