We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Jurys Inn Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jurys Inn Derby
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had another real enjoyable stay!!! A very well located Hotel conveniently located to the city centre.
Nice staff. The room was airy and maintained to a high standard. Looking forward to another business trip to this city as I shall definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    689
    222
    82
    38
See reviews for
340
544
94
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great value for money!

We chose the hotel because we were going to Alton Towers and we definitely made the right choice.
I think we were lucky to get a parking space under the hotel and although there are not many spaces available, I was surprised to find it was reasonably priced.
The receptionists were very efficient and friendly and check-in was seamless. The bedrooms and the hotel in general were also spotlessly clean and the kids enjoyed filling their water bottles at the water station along the corridor - more than once!
The location of the hotel was perfect for us to walk into the centre of Derby to have dinner. Breakfast was a buffet style and the hot food looked really fresh with plenty of choice. Again the staff at breakfast were friendly and extremely efficient. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

All in all we had a perfect stay and although it was forecast rain, it held off when we were at Alton Towers. Fab!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel twice. Once on my birthday last year just for the night and then for two nights on the 28th May for my boyfriend's birthday. The hotel itself is lovely, and so are the staff. Like most reviews are stating, the one bad thing about the hotel is the parking and actually finding the place! (Although I think the sat nav was to blame). We got one of the spaces in the hotel car park as we got there for around 12pm! (If it was any later, I think we would have struggled)

We didn't drink in the hotel as prices looked a little expensive from the menu in our room, so I can't comment on that service! (We went into town which is a 5 min walk away and drank/ate there)

However, we did have the breakfast which was absolutely beautiful! Nothing to fault, staff were pleasant and the choice for breakfast was brill.

I paid £172 for the 2 night stay with breakfast on both mornings, plus £12 parking. It does sound a little expensive but it was worth it :)

We will be back :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Manager at Jurys Inn Derby, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Jessy H

Thank you for your feedback, very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much the last time, that you returned to us again. I will ensure your comments are passed on throughout the team and I am glad we looked after yourself and your boyfriend.

Thank you once again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Louise Johnstone
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Helpful friendly staff. 2 nights £105, Unfortunately on arriving at our room we found the previous occupant still in there! (3pm) but we were quickly moved to another room. The batteries in tv remote were flat, but we didn't watch much tv. Breakfast was good but expensive (£8.50 or £10).

The bar was handy at the lobby, but we went out into Derby to check out the pubs and restaurants. Nightlife seems quiet in the centre (5 min walk) until around 10:30 when the 18 to 30 age group arrive and liven the area up.

Overall a nice hotel, well situated, and room price is good (just hotel bar and breakfast too expensive)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Buddingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We arrived in glorious sunshine and found a place to park under the hotel [ one of the lucky few!] The hotel was superb, check in took a while issues with computers [as is the norm I see] seventh floor with a magnificent view of the cathedral. Bar was ok priced but £2 for a bag of salted cashew nuts..I did point out that I would want them fed to me for that price! On the second evening I purchased a bag of nuts from the nearby Tesco. Room was spacious and clean with an awesome shower. 2 nights stay in a city centre for £99 including parking charge. Perfect

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Arriving at Jury's Inn on Friday night in somewhat of a rush, I drove up to the car park to see that it was full and there was no room! The car park was not very large, certainly not sufficient for a hotel of this size. There were no signs advising of alternate parking so I proceeded to drive around Derby for 15 minutes looking for somewhere suitable to park. Eventually I came across a car park not too far from the hotel.

A 5 minute walk to the hotel, now even more in a rush.

Having now arrived at reception, all was going well until the receptionist said 'oh' and then proceeded to tell me that the computer had crashed. I went an sat down and waited some 25 minutes. I was now not in a rush, I was late

After waiting 25 minutes, the receptionist came over, handed me the card and told me I was on the second floor. No usual advice on how to get to the room, time of check out etc, just 'you're on the second floor'.

What a terrible start to our stay at the Jury's Inn.

There were however some very good aspects to this hotel. The rooms were spacious, stylish and clean.

The food in the restaurant was very nice, although the portions were a little small. Our waitress Adele was lovely, very attentive, very pleasant and did an excellent job of looking after us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWandererHimself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Manager at Jurys Inn Derby, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear The Wanderer Himself,

Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the issues you faced when arriving at our hotel. On the day in question, the systems did go down, however this does not mean we should have slipped on our usual friendly and informative greeting for check in. Feedback has been given to the departmental manager and further training with be implemented with the team.

I am pleased to know that Adele looked after - it was in fact her first day with us - I have passed over your comments.


Please feel free to contact myself directly to discuss the matter further on
louise_johnstone@jurysinns.com

Once again please accept my sincere apologies for the issues faced

Kind Regards

Louise Johnstone
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here as a family and I would have no complaints about the hotel or the staff at all. The staff were so friendly and helpful. It was really good and very clean. Didnt eat there though. The menu was expensive. My problem was with the lack of parking and having to pay for it. On the saturday night we werent even guarenteed a spot and would have to pay in a public car park at 7 pounds a night. Taught it was cheeky expecting guests to pay for parking.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Aishling G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
1,594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
482 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Derby

Property: Jurys Inn Derby
Address: King Street, Derby DE1 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Derby is ideally located within the city's Cathedral Quarter, ideal for both business visitors, due to the proximity of Derby's thriving business district, and leisure guests keen to explore the city's rich history and culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from a variety of museums, concert halls, markets and galleries as well as a pleasant walk from Derby's shopping epicentre, St. Peter's Quarter. Alton Towers amusement park, Kedleston Hall or the beautiful Peak District are a short drive from the hotel. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also enjoy a workout in the hotel's cardio gym. If arriving by car, the nearest public car park is available at Chapel Street car park, a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel boasts 213 comfortable bedrooms for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds with crisp linen, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Derby at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Derby Hotel Derby
Jurys Inn Derby Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing