We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good service and helpful staff, but oh dear the car parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jurys Inn Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jurys Inn Derby
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good service and helpful staff, but oh dear the car parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Jury's price matched a comparison site so that we got a very good B&B rate on a Friday night.

Once in the hotel (see below) everything was fine, save for the mattress which sagged to the middle, making for an uncomfortable night.

Staff/srvice could not be faulted. We ate in the bar which was very good value.

Car parking is an issue: no direct access to hotel from underground car park and drop off facility (not signed) still leaves you with a walk from main road. Even worse if car park is full - no sign until you have already turned in and you have to go round again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Manager at Jurys Inn Derby, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Tony1941

Very happy to hear our team here at Jurys Inn derby looked after you I will ensure all feedback is passed on to the team. I am however sorry to hear the bed did not meet your standards and may have been uncomfortable to sleep in, if you can contact me on the below email address with information of what room you stayed in we will be able to tend to the matter.

If you wish to discuss the matter any further please do not hesitate to contact me

Thank you once again

Louise Johnstone
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    641
    207
    77
    36
See reviews for
311
509
87
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hello! start of a song at Ibrox!! stayed for the weekend of Rangers visit to Your town Room was clean smart and suitable for our use great atmosphere in Bar especially night before game, staff were patient and put up with Scottish excitement,with constant singing and a few (sweary! )words (sorry!) great breakfast good hotel to say in for couplel of nights Thanks Juyrs

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Manager at Jurys Inn Derby, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Supergers

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Jurys Inn Derby, I have passed on the feedback to the team. We look forward to having you again.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Louise Johnstone
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked a twin room for the one night. The room was not ready until 14.45 but the staff were polite and very apologetic. Room was clean and in good condition. We had lunch in the restaurant. The food was well presented although the portions were small and the price was a tad high.

The design of the hotel means that it lacks any atmosphere and it was a very hot day so we chose to have a drink outside. However there were no shelter from the sun and the tables were dirty with empty glasses not collected so we chose to have a short walk into the city centre where there were pubs with beer gardens and suitable shaded areas.

Its a shame really as this could be a really nice hotel if they would only invest in some basic amenities to enhance the atmosphere. That said it still offered comfortable, air conditioned rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Tait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Manager at Jurys Inn Derby, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Tom_Tait

Thank you for taking the time to review Jurys Inn Derby furthermore I would like to apologise for our shortcomings during your stay.

Please be assured that feedback will be passed to relevant departments and management team. With the use of these comments, further training can be implemented and standards can be raised, I apologise you did not experience this during your stay.

If you wish to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to contact me on the below email address

louise_johnstone@jurysinns.com

Thank you

Kind Regards

Louise Johnstone
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in July. Would highly recommend for short stays, business travellers, etc. Staff were very friendly, room and all areas in hotel were clean and comfortable. The location made it very easy to get in and out of Derby, get we were within walking distance of the city centre, restaurants, shops, etc. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank long_way_2_tipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was very pleasant to stay in, the staff were friendly, the room well presented and the facilities also good. The problems which limit this hotel are two things: carparking and information.

Good luck getting a space in the carpark, and be prepared to end up having to park a little way away and pay for parking overnight, but don't worry, the hotel will give you a discount, if you're clever enough to ask for it anyway! This is quite an irritating feature of this hotel.

Secondly, information. Don't expect to be told everything you need to know (such as about parking), for example: it would have been helpful for some small explanation that you will need to leave your room key in a slot to get power whilst you're in the room... Maybe for some this is obvious, but actually, it only takes a couple of seconds to explain!

Overall, better than many hotels, but just a couple of little, avoidable, bugbears.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Manager at Jurys Inn Derby, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Gazio

Thank you for taking the time to review Jurys Inn Derby, I would like to apologise that you did not receive the welcoming you should have in regards to information given at check in.

Unfortunately we do not advertise our car parking as it is extremely limited. So as to not disappoint our guests we advise that parking is available at Chapel Street, with discount, I understand this information and more was not given to you....Please be assured your feedback will highlight a key training tool for us and will help improve consistency in our service.

If there is anything I can do to assist in the future please do not hesitate to contact me on the below email for any assistance.

louise_johnstone@jurysinns.com

Once again please except apologies for our shortcomings and hope this does not stray you away from using our hotel again.

Kindest Regards

Louise Johnstone
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the first night of our holidays on the way further north. On a quiet Sunday evening we had no problem using the very small on-site car park and the receptionist was welcoming. The room, on the 9th floor, was very clean but quite sterile and lacking in those little touches which can make a good hotel very good. The bar was more comfortable and the service was excellent. They serve Costa hot drinks and had a fair range of bottled ales too.
Being very tired, we decided to eat in-house too. The food was good enough but not exciting. The service was good, if slow to recognise our arrival. The bed was very comfortable, both of us were asleep very easily. Lots of lovely hot water for a bath in the morning but towels were beginning to wear a bit thin.
Breakfast was a self-serve affair with a huge range of foods on offer and lots of reminders that one only had to ask for anything not on display. The quality was good, although some of the fresh melon looked as if it had been around for a while.
My husband used the public lavatory on the ground floor and came back saying it smelled very strongly of urine and the overheating made it worse. Overall, this was good value but the whole place lacked character. We would probably return if we were passing through but wouldn't seek out other hotels in the chain.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Manager at Jurys Inn Derby, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Melanie W

Thank you for taking the time to review Jurys Inn Derby, your feedback is very detailed and has highlighted some points we are beginning to address within the hotel, especially in regards to the gents toilets, I apologise for any discomfort this may have caused to your husband during your stay.

We are always looking to improve standards and atmosphere and thank you for your comments. If there anything I can assist you with in the future please do not hesitate to contact me on the below email.

louise_johnstone@jurysinns.com

I would be happy to assist, once again I apologise for any short comings and hope that you may consider us again if in the area.

Kindest Regards

Louise Johnstone
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for family wedding. Cleanliness, room really good. Did feel a little like they had to find us a room. It was busy but we had booked months ago. Breakfast was good and extensive but was a little too much help yourself it would have been good if at least cutlery etc had been on table.
for purpose it was good.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
1.2 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Derby

Property: Jurys Inn Derby
Address: King Street, Derby DE1 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Derby is ideally located within the city's Cathedral Quarter, ideal for both business visitors, due to the proximity of Derby's thriving business district, and leisure guests keen to explore the city's rich history and culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from a variety of museums, concert halls, markets and galleries as well as a pleasant walk from Derby's shopping epicentre, St. Peter's Quarter. Alton Towers amusement park, Kedleston Hall or the beautiful Peak District are a short drive from the hotel. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also enjoy a workout in the hotel's cardio gym. If arriving by car, the nearest public car park is available at Chapel Street car park, a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel boasts 213 comfortable bedrooms for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds with crisp linen, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Derby at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Derby Hotel Derby
Jurys Inn Derby Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing