We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class guesthouse in the centre of Derby”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chuckles Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 25 Derby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“First class guesthouse in the centre of Derby”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed for two nights while on a course in Derby and I think I did far better than the others on my course who were at places such as Jury's or Cathedral Quarter. Glen & Nina were friendly, welcoming and helpful and I felt very much at home but also looked after. They've really thought about how a guesthouse should work and as a previous reviewer said, everything was clean & comfortable (especially the bed which had a decent mattress!) Breakfast was excellent, especially the homemade marmelade and stewed fruits. Ideal location too for getting around the city. I'd definitely recommend Chuckles and would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pem243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for such a glowing report and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. With best wishes, Glenn and Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
21
43
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I spent 5 nights in Chuckles last October when I went to Derby for a conference and I was sorry I had to leave! Glenn & Nina are simply SUPER welcoming, I felt almost at home. As they know I wouldn't eat English breakfast (and I'm Italian) they bought a panettone for me!! I really appreciated it and the delicious breakfast with home made jam (slurp!), toast, fresh fruit and berries, and a good coffee.
What really astound me was how spotless were the shared facilities, toilets and showers. I guess they clean then almost every hour! Moreover, they are all new and very well-functioning, with soap, shampoo and hair conditioner as well. My room was a double room because all the singles were busy when I arrived so I was lucky ^.^ It will be probably a bit small for two people but absolutely bearable. My bed was very comfortable. They cleaned the room every morning and put clean towels every two days. Flawless!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you to see you again when you are next in Derby. And the pictures look good too ... Glenn & Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We did an overnight here with friends on our way to Willington Mercia Marina & would definitely stay again. Every thing was clean, comfortable & very well presented. Nina & Glen were attentive to our needs & very helpful with local information. The breakfast was superb & done to order. Location is good with the main centre of Derby in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: The twin room was quite a bit bigger than the double so if you need a bit more space the twin is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review and hope the rest of your holiday was as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I spent nearly a week in Chuckles when I first moved here and was waiting for my accomodation. It's an absolute gem, right in the centre of Derby.

The breakfast is of a very high quality, cereal, a cooked breakfast with nice bacon, decent eggs, plus toast with jams and marmalades made by owner's mum.

The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Tasteful yet eclectic decoration. An individual business with real customer service in a sea of anonymous chain hotels.

In short, this is probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in. If I ever have people coming to visit and there's no room for them to stop, I send them to Chuckles.

Room Tip: It's bang in the centre of Derby, so perfect for ale tourists. However, it is right in the middl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for the positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A lovely guest house situated right in the heart of Derby. A few minutes walk from the centre, very safe area and lovely staff. Very friendly and home-cooked breakfasts. Very clean room and large washing facilities. Very, very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank tool552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Nina and Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Nina and Glen run the most perfect guesthouse in the centre of Derby. No en-suites but super rooms, great showers and delicious breakfasts. My husband and I have stayed there twice before and this time we went with my sister. It was a hit with her too. A home away from home. Keep up the excellent work!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daycation186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thanks again Jessica. Always a delight to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed at chuckles for a week back in April. It was a real find and excellent value. Comfortable beds and everything spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were outstanding with acombination of the hearty English and abundance of fruit The owners could not have been more helpful and welcoming in many ways given that I was new to derby. Thanks both of you

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thanks Kathy, it's lovely of you to take the time to write a review and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Nina and Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
0.7 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuckles Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuckles Guesthouse

Property: Chuckles Guesthouse
Address: 48 Crompton Street, Derby DE1 1NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Derby
Hotel Class:3 star — Chuckles Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Chuckles Guesthouse Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing