We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing & Luxurious, Can't wait to return again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birchover Darley Abbey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birchover Darley Abbey
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
coventry
1 review
“Amazing & Luxurious, Can't wait to return again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in apartment 32 in a superior apartment for our anniversary weekend. What can I say. This place is amazing, we were surprised at how spacious the 1 bedroom apartment actually was. The living room area was very relaxing and the freeview and dvd player was a nice touch. The kitchen was fully equipt with everything we needed as we brought in some food to make for 1 evening. The bedroom was great, comfy bed and very spacious. The bathroom was clean and modern, and the sauna was one of the best features of the apartments and adds a unique touch which we have not seen before in any other hotels/apartments we have stayed in.
It was such a cosy feeling to the apartment and most of the weekend we just wanted to sit in and relax rather than go out as it was such a nice environment to stay in.
We were welcomed by Chrissy on reception who went out of her way to accomdate anything we needed. Parking was great right outside our apartment block so did not have to carry our stuff in from too far away. We took a taxi to the centre which was around £6 each way. There is a nice pub called the broadway, straight down the road less than 1 mile away if you wanted to walk it is possible.
I have just booked again for another 2 night stay in April, looking forward to returning again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiran k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchover, Owner at Birchover Darley Abbey, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear kiran k

Thank you so much for your review of Birchover and, as you've mentioned in the review, we're already looking forward to seeing you again next month! It's always wonderful when guests have such a good stay that they return so soon.

Your review is very comprehensive and I am sure it will be useful for potential guests considering coming to stay with us. All 1 bedroom apartments are as spacious as the one you stayed in (they're all identical in size and layout - the differences are down to the furnishings, electrical items and toiletries, etc) and so I'm pleased to confirm your next stay will be equally as relaxing from that point of view.

It's great to see Chrissy receive yet another mention for great service; this is becoming a common theme, Chrissy! Well done. And the ladies who ensured you had such a clean apartment were Jean and Magine.

I'm sure we'll speak before you next return, but thank you so much for this informative and positive review.

Best wishes,
Carl, Lisa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    18
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
88
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This place is just fab . Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they are so freindly and make you feel very welcome . The apartments are spotless which is a must for me and there is everything you need plus more . Derby is 5 mins in a taxi and has lots of bars and eating places . The next time we visit derby we will definitely return here for our accommodation .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maisie155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchover, Owner at Birchover Darley Abbey, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear maisie155

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. On the night that you stayed, Chrissy (the lady on Reception) sent us all an email saying how lovely you were, so it's great to see that the feeling was reciprocated. I'm also pleased to see that you thought that the apartment was spotless - Karen, Sharon S and Sharon B were the ladies who cleaned your apartment on that date.

I am really pleased that you'll return to Birchover whenever you visit Derby and I'll be in touch directly regarding future stays - it would be great to meet you and say thank you personally.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Birchover.

Best wishes,
Carl, Lisa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here 18/02/2014 the receptionist was very friendly and had the most exquisite smile and demeanour I have come across lately.

Was shown to our apartment and given all the information we needed to enjoy our stay. The decor of the all of the rooms was first class. A mini sauna in the bathroom was an unexpected bonus.

You are in the middle of the A38 but surprisingly could not hear the road noise.

Room Tip: Room 57 very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1969Weekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchover, Owner at Birchover Darley Abbey, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear 1969Weekender

It was a real pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. To know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us is great - and you've given us enough clues from the review for me to be able to say that I hope that the birthday break here at Birchover was fantastic.

Chloe will be delighted to hear that you felt her exquisite smile and demeanour were so friendly and welcoming. With that in mind, it is timely that we give special mention to Chloe, Chrissy and Rebecca because we have been 'one manager down' in the past few weeks - which, for a small company such as ours is a huge impact. The fact that we have received 13 consecutive 100% reviews on Trip Advisor during that period is testament to the skill and dedication of these 3 ladies, who have both supported and led the hotel team so brilliantly.

We are really pleased that you like the decor and the bonus of the sauna within the apartment. And it is true that our plot of land backs onto the A38 but we're fortunate that the windows block out the sound and, as a result, like yourself, guests rarely mention the noise. I live in a tiny, remote village and am pleased that when I occasionally stay over in our hotel here, the road noise is imperceptible.

I have written to you personally to say thank you and hope that you'll return to Birchover in the future. It would be great to say thank you in person for this review.

Best wishes,
Carl, Lisa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Another great stay in these apartments. We stayed for four nights. But one of the party stayed for 5 nights. When we arrived the lady on reception was lovely we were given a spare key. We had everything we needed in the apartment. We hade room service on the Monday. The staff are all wonderful. Thank you. We took the children to Hickory dickory's soft play centre. We also spent the day at Water world stoke on Trent. Highly recommend it. We went to a couple of nice garden centres as well. We went bowling as well. Thanks again to all the staff for making it an enjoyable stay! Christine. Janet's party.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 898ChristineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchover, Owner at Birchover Darley Abbey, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Christine

As ever, it is a real pleasure when you and your party come and stay with us - we are really honoured that you keep returning!!

Once again, you have excelled in letting potential future guests - especially those with families - know about attractions in the area. I've personally not been to either Hickory Dickory's or Water World, so am going to research those, because we know that future guests do read recommendations on our page here about places that are great to visit.

I hope you enjoyed the room service - the Jack Rabbits food is going down a storm with regular and first-time guests as word spreads about the fantastic Aga-cooked food that they provide. Amelia and the team there have got the same ethos of trying to ensure every customer has an amazing experience and we highly recommend guests to visit their continental-style cafe, deli and food hall in the Cathedral Quarter.

Chrissy was the lovely lady on Reception, whilst Magine, Adrianna and Maria were the 3 ladies who cleaned your apartment ahead of arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you all again and thanks so much for your continued support of our hotel.

Best wishes,
Carl, Lisa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This was a surprise present and I must say it was a very pleasant surprise. The apartment itself was 5* and as soon as we got in, I never wanted to leave. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The private sauna through 'Narnia' was brilliant and really made the visit. We stayed for two nights. The apartment had everything we required and recommend this for a few relaxing days. DVD collection was a bonus. Did not want to leave 5* all round

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ngiculela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchover, Owner at Birchover Darley Abbey, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear ngiculela

We were delighted to read your review - it was especially exciting knowing that it was for a surprise stay and that you loved the Narnia experience! Hearing that you didn't want to leave is great and all of the aspects you've mentioned are useful for potential guests to know about - particularly the free DVD library which is proving increasingly popular.

For the 3rd time in 4 reviews, I'm delighted to give a special mention to our little superstar housekeeper Anna, who has been responsible for the housekeeping (this time, along with Sharon B). Anna won an outstanding award at our annual team event last year and is well-loved by everyone here, so to be able to give this deserved recognition in a public forum is great. Chloe would have been the lady who greeted you on arrival and I am pleased that you felt that all staff were very friendly and helpful.

I'm sure the whole team will be excited to read this review. Given that you didn't want to leave, if you do choose to return, please contact us directly and we'd love to say thank you personally.

Best wishes,
Carl, Lisa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in January 2014. The apartment was cheaper than a hotel and much nicer - lots of space and of course the private sauna. Even though there was a main road nearby we found it quiet and peaceful, would happily stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AR_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchover, Owner at Birchover Darley Abbey, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear AR_London

Thank you very much for your great review of your stay with us at Birchover. I'm delighted that you both had a lovely stay and enjoyed the sauna, the space and the peace and quiet.

It's wonderful to know that you'd happily stay again and, if you do choose to return, please do contact us directly so that we can personally say thank you for this review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Birchover.

Best wishes,
Carl, Lisa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

The best hotel/apartment I have ever stayed in. Luxurious, clean, and best of all, incredibly spacious. The service was also fantastic and my partner and I felt very welcomed as soon as we arrived. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yasin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchover, Owner at Birchover Darley Abbey, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Yasin I

Thank you so much for your great review. To know that we're the best hotel/apartment you have ever stayed in is just fantastic. You stayed with us on New Year's Eve and we were completely full, with a high number of arrivals. So it is great to hear that you feel Lesley made you feel welcome - she was clearly doing a great job on what was a busy day.

Adrianna and Anna were the ladies who cleaned your apartment that day. I'm delighted that you feel the apartments are incredibly spacious - it is one of the great advantages we have over a 'normal' hotel that guests get so much more space to relax in.

It's wonderful to know that you'd like to return and please do feel free to contact us directly if you would like to come and stay again. I'm really pleased that you had such a wonderful break over new year.

Best wishes,
Carl, Lisa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derby
4.0 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
2.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
17.4 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Farmhouse at Mackworth
2.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchover Darley Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchover Darley Abbey

Property: Birchover Darley Abbey
Address: Church Lane North | Darley Abbey, Derby DE22 1EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchover Darley Abbey 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birchover Residences Darley Abbey offer you affordable luxury in a beautiful suburb of Derby. Every apartment has a sauna within the Master en-suite and all apartments benefit from free parking and free Wifi. With a separate lounge/kitchen/dining area and en-suites to every spacious bedroom, it really is affordable luxury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchover Darley Abbey Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing