We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable afternoon and tour.”

Royal Crown Derby Visitor Centre
Ranked #10 of 78 things to do in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Royal Crown Derby is one of the original companies founded in the 18th Century that is still producing fine bone china in Derbyshire, England today. The company is the most distinguished, authentic Made in England manufacturer supplying English fine bone china tableware, giftware and collectables since 1750 The present factory was established in 1878, but the business traces its origins to the original factory which was set up in Nottingham Road in about 1750. Queen Victoria granted permission to include the title "Royal" in the company name in 1890. The current site on Osmaston Road, Derby stands on a four and half acre site, employing approximately 200 staff. The Royal Crown Derby Visitor Centre offers a customer experience whether visiting the 1750 Tea Room, Museum, viewing the latest exhibition arranged by our in-house Museum Curator, taking a factory tour to see our first class products being made by hand or purchasing from the onsite retail shop. Please note the opening times refer to the retail shop only and the 1750 Tea Room is open Tuesday to Friday. Factory Tours are available 11am & 1.30pm Tuesday to Thursday and 11am only on Fridays.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable afternoon and tour.”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Mixed bag for us. Five stars is for tour (with Sheila) which was friendly, interesting and informative. Cafe lovely, very reasonably priced and excellent quality. Gift shop experience was severely let down by sales assistant (Jane) who was rude, condescending and very unhelpful. This wasn't just with us, it appears that she has this approach with several customers. We visited the tea room twice, took the factory tour and spent £160 in gift shop only to be met with a very frosty reception when we asked for our tour price to be redeemed against our purchase (which is standard policy). We work in customer service and Jane's attitude would be completely unacceptable, perhaps a little customer service training is in order? It's a good job that the beautifully crafted wares sell themselves because they certainly weren't getting much help on our visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    39
    12
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ridiculously expensive”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Three of us visited, the tea room is pricey, you have to pay for the exhibition, then a frosty sales assistant decided that an item from the seconds shelf merited a higher price than that shown on the price list. Avoid unless you're prepared to spend lots of money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peterrslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Just spent the day at the Crown Derby factory, to say the least it was amazing, the whole process takes place on site, from the mixing of the base ingredients to making the blanks, shaping, decorating using lithographs and hand painting, the hand painting was by real artists and can take up to 3 weeks for each piece to be ready, finally the gold is added and yes it is real gold.

If ever you are in Derby you must make a visit and be sure to tour the museum as it contains the complete history and I promise you will not fail to be impressed.

Any spare money will buy you something that is unique and an investment, all to your own design.

A truley English product and yet recognised anywhere in the World.

The guides are great and take time to explain all the processes and very knowledgeable.

Good cafe on site and traditional afternoon tea available all on Crown Derby, makes it all taste so much better.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisg0ufp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
234 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Try the scones!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We decided to have yet another factory tour - with cream tea afterwards.
The guide was very informative and friendly - but - most of the time, very few people in our small group could actually hear her. If you are offering a tour - you must have a guide that can be heard above peripheral noise - and a factory has a lot of that!
I would recommend that the guide has a microphone -at least it would give customer satisfaction.
The museum and small exhibition are well worth visiting - especially the two beautifully set out small rooms.
The cream tea was very nice - and the staff in the restaurant were stressed but very helpful.
There were some initial problems with our 'first' visit which were eventually ironed out (by HR) - I had previously contacted reception - but this was a classic case of lack of communication and (possibly) staff training - and didn't reflect well on this wonderful company.
On our return, after direct contact by and with RCD, we were treated royally. And we will definitely revisit - if only for the cafeteria who made a huge effort on our second visit.
ps The adjoining 'factory' shop is a place of treasures!
And if you are planning a visit and have specific dietary needs, tell them beforehand for mutual benefit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank OakwoodUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We visited on a Groupon voucher which was excellent value. Even at full price however it would have been worth the money. A wonderful tour with a knowledgeable guide and a superb museum. Seeing the freehand painting showed such skill from the paintresses. I live nearby but this was my first visit and I recommend both locals and tourists to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank hicaz446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Crown Derby Visitor Centre also viewed

 

Been to Royal Crown Derby Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing