We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the place to go for a coffee”

Thorntons Derby Westfield
Ranked #23 of 34 Coffee & Tea in Derby
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not the place to go for a coffee”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We ordered two coffees which come with a Thornton's chocolate. The chocolate was delicious but even though we persevered to try and drink the coffee we failed and we both ended up leaving over half a mug. It was tasteless and thin. We have had nice pots of tea before but when we fancy a coffee we shall be heading to Costa instead (there are three Costa's in/around Westfield :-)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaWte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unsatisfactory experience. Won't use again ! ! !”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was a really unsatisfactory experience, shame that NONE of the staff could manage a smile, and a woman clearing the tables virtually insulted my wife when asked would she mind clearing the table we were going to use she replied " when I've got time " and walked away.
All I can say is nice chocolate SHAME ABOUT THE STAFF!
Ps, and do they know it's Christmas???

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Derby”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is by far the best coffee shop in Derby.
I need my coffee fix every day and having tried the rest I always return to Thornton's it's by far the best coffee served in Derby and a free chocolate with every cup!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“chocolate Heaven”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Typical Thornton's, Gorgeous Chocolate, off the planet prices, what more is there to say???

It's a lovely clean shop as always, very popular, just a shame the price they charge for goods rendered are through the roof, should be cheaper, after all it's only chocolate at the end of the day...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neddyseagoonNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Chocolate Lovers Heaven”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

This is the perfect place to take a well earned rest if you have been shopping in the Derby Westfield Centre and love chocolate.
The seating area is typical coffee shop style with a mixture of standard chairs and comfy armchairs. The main difference is with the goods served. As you would expect chocolate drinks here are exceptionally good but teas and coffees match the other coffee shops in my opinion, I loved the aroma of chocolate while I enjoyed my drink.
Service was very good and was both quick and polite.
Cost is not cheap but to be honest I considered it to be perfectly good value.
When leaving after your drink you pass the well stocked Thorntons chocolate shop which serves an excellent range of high quality chocolate goods. I treated myself to a small chocolate bar to round things off.
If you are shopping in Derby Westfield and fancy a break give it a try. It's well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thorntons Derby Westfield also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Thorntons Derby Westfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing