We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most convenient location of all Derby Hotels.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2011

As followers of Derby County we go regularly to Derby and have stayed in most of the hotels in the city center. As soon as the Riverlights opened we knew that we would never go anywhere else. It has the best location for shopping, the iconic market hall, the theatre and Assembly rooms. It overlooks the bus station but there are no fumes and watching the many brightly coloured buses is quite entertaining. The hotel is state of the art and has fantastic views from the top floor. The restaurant is elegant and the food is well prepared but not very busy. The rooms have a flat screen TV, well lit bathroom with big towels, an ironing board, a safe and a fridge to store the award winning George Stafford Black Pudding you can get at the market.
The only thing I would like to see is an ice machine in the foyer or on a specific floor.
Value for money at the weekend is tremendous, but for the occasional midweek fixture I'm afraid we have to look elsewhere.
We stay in Holiday Inns all around the world, we are priority club members and collect the points to convert to air miles, the Riverlights is definitely the choice in Derby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the bus station !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kellydawes47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. It is appreciated as is your business as a loyal Priority Club member, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2011

The hotel was so much better than I expected. Firstly, it was so easy to find. It was pretty much opposite the Westfield centre and really close to the train station. When we arrived, we were greeted by very nice and friendly staff and given our key. We stayed in room 212 on the second floor. This was right around the corner of the mini gym (I would have loved to have used it - didn't realise so didn't bring my gym kit).

The room was lovely and clean. It was very spacious and had 3 seats - comfy chair, fold up chair and a desk chair. The desk had a reading light on it and there was an ethernet wire for internet connection (without wifi). The wifi does cost but it wasn't a lot. The bed was very comfortable and there were a choice of pillows (good if you have allergies). There was an iron board and iron in the wardrobe and a laundry bag and form (if you are staying a while then I would recommend using the same day laundry service). There was a hairdryer, mini fridge, safe and cofffee and tea making facilities - shame there wasn't any hot chocolate.

Thw window covered the length of the room so there was a lot of light and a good view.

The bathroom was very clean. It was very modern and had a bath and shower. If you have a bath there is the option to turn off the light and switch on a green light under the sink which creates a nice relaxing atmosphere. Plenty of soap, towels, shampoo and shower gel. There were also things provided at reception if needed (toothbrushes, razors etc!)

In the room there was a digital thermostat which allows you to change the temperature and control the air conditioning - a huge bonus.

Rather than using the restaurant in the evening we ordered room service. We had pizza, chips and chocolate cake. They were reasonably priced and arrived within 20 minutes. The food was very nice.

The plasma TV on the wall didn't have all the freeview channels but it did have the most popular ones on. It also had a couple of radio channels. There was also an alarm on the TV which wakes you up at the time you set it to. It does not just play a programme, it plays soothing music which is much nicer to wake up to than a loud alarm clock!

Overall, the hotel has friendly staff and great facilities and I would recommend that everyone should stay there when visiting Derby.

Room Tip: Bring your gym kit and food for the fridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xinsidethefirex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Many thanks for your extensive and kind comments about the hotel, it is appreciated. I will ensure that the team are made aware of the feedback and I look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon.

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Stayed here for one night. The carpet smell confirmed how new the hotel was. One downside was the lack of hotel parking. We did find an open air NCP down the road a short five minutes walk away at £6 for 24 hours. We were a bit worried however when the shoppers moved out and there were only three cars left including ours. The car was still there in the morning though so it all worked out well. There is a great shopping centre idirectly across the road from the hotel and the river is directly out the back. It was a good hotel for the price I paid and if I had to visit Derby again I would certainly use it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovesholidays49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Many thanks for your kind comments following your recent stay at the hotel, it is appreciated. For future reference we do offer car parking in the westfield Riverside car park. This is at a reduced rate of £3 from 6pm to 8am and £6 for any other time, up until 24 hours. It is a covered multi storey car park and will offer more in terms of security and peace of mind.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Stayed here this weekend. Still a very new feeling about this hotel (and the new carpet smell) so everything in good condition and very clean.

Really good reception staff, friendly and cheerful, nice (although small) double room - the Priority Club platinum upgrade is to an executive room, but apparently they were full this weekend. Comfortable bed, large flatscreen TV (but why only 14 channels? I recently stopped at a newish HIX hotel which provided almost all of the Freeview channels).

The only complaint about the hotel would be noise from the adjoining room, through the connecting door - I try to avoid any room with a connecting door, but was unable to move as there were no other rooms available when I checked in. There appears to be no soundproofing at all, and the door didn't fit well, so almost every noise from next door came through (conversation, TV, even the kettle boiling). Based on the plan on the back of the door, about half the rooms have connecting doors, so this could be a problem for me on future stays. If they can sort this (shouldn't be too difficult to add something around the frames and doors to seal them better) then this would be my no.1 choice in Derby.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2011

Many thanks for your positive comments about the hotel. I am sorry that an executive room was not available when you arrived, but these are allocated on arrival on a first come, first served basis for our Priority Club Rewards members. With regards to the sound insulation between the 2 rooms, please rest assured that this is being looked into, and we will do all we can to rectify it.

Many thanks once again, and we look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon.

Alan Northern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights in December 2010. The property is brand new, and therefore the rooms and cleanliness were top notch, however because of this the staff had little experience so did not provide full information on parking, looking confused when we questioned the pricing, and the bar staff struggled to do a hot chocolate - we also were given no explanation on using the gym and only found out this information from reading the Hotel directory.

The Hotel is let down by its poor car parking - the only option is a multi storey car park which is quite a walk (outside, no connection direct into the Hotel), with no sign posts. As a female I would not want to be making this walk alone in the dark as you have to go under a dark bridge where anyone could hide (and would also struggle with your luggage!).

The area is also only just beginning regeneration, with the Hotels being the first piece of the puzzle - meaning the rest of the area is still run down, with roadwork etc. Hopefully in a few years once the area is fully regenerated this will improve the Hotels city location, instead of being a good 10 minute walk to the nearest reputable bar. It is also a good 10 minute walk to the main part of the new Westfield shopping centre, instead you are faced with the run down streets which have become derelict because of the new shopping centre.

Overall the property is lovely, however with views over the run down Eagle Market instead of out over the river (the new Hampton by Hilton has these views) this is another disappointment.

I like the property for its city location and its fresh, modern style, however its main let down is parking, poor views and the unregenerated area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobHotelInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2011

Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay at the hotel. We had only just opened in December, and I apologise if some of the team seemed a little unsure on some of their roles. I am sure that you would notice a difference if you were to return back to the hotel. Unfortunately we do not have car parking on site, something that is a feature often with city centre hotels. We have chosen the closest car park to the hotel, and have an arrangement that the cost is subsidised for any users from the hotel.

I look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future

Alan Northern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

This is a new hotel in a great location in central Derby. I was given an Exec room which is HUGE! The beds are comfortable, the heating system works, and the decor is very nice indeed. The breakfast is made of low quality ingredients and the chef needs to cook the sausages more - very anaemic. Although I didnt make use of it, the Gym looked impressive.

I may stay there again.

This will be a great hotel for those staying in Derby on a weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logmeinsucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2011

Many thanks for your comments following you recent visit to the hotel. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast offering was not to your expectations, and I have passed your comments onto the Head Chef who will investigate further.

Alan Northern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I've deleted my previous review, because I wrote it just after the hotel had opened and they've since fixed some of the problems.

Excellent rooms - go and stay whilst it is new!

Priority Club Platinum members - make sure you get a room upgrade if Executive rooms are available. These rooms are massive and have a lounge area. You also get soft drinks, water and chocolate in these rooms. You used to get free wifi as well, but they've stopped that, although it is only £3.50 per night, which is a significant improvement on the £15 charged in older Holiday Inns.

There are a few negatives:

Showers are low pressure (as mentioned above).

Ventilation in bathrooms is inadequate and steam up badly. The mirrors are supposed to be heated so the middle part doesn't steam up, however having stayed in 5 rooms to date, this only worked in ONE room!!

Car parking is too far away if you have luggage - you use the Westfield multi-storey at either £3 or £6 per night (£3 if you arrive after 6pm and leave before 8am). There will be a drop-off layby in front of the hotel WHEN Derby eventually finish doing streetscape work outside the hotel. I can see this being permanently full of parked taxis though.

Still a few teething troubles - ordered newspapers only appear randomly and usually an Independent appears or nothing at all, room service opened my room door last week (having got the wrong floor) and walked straight in. I had just got out of the shower - Good job I had my dressing gown on!!!!

I haven't eaten in the hotel - Westfield shopping centre, Weatherspoons/Lloyds No1, Nandos, local restuarants/pubs and various McD/BK/KFC/Pizza are close by (plus kebab shops for your post-beer snack!!)

Hotel is getting busier, although still very quiet during the week. Apparently 85% full last weekend of January, but I would guess no more than 25% during the week at the moment.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FutureCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2011

Many thanks for your comments following your stay at the hotel, and I am pleased to read that you are happy with the hotel through your repeat visits. I am currently looking into some of the operational issues you have highlighted such as the mirrors and the inconsistency with the newspaper delivery and the issue with Housekeeping.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Alan Northern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,923 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#8 of 29 in Derby
1,803 reviews
3.6 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights

Address: Morledge, Derby DE1 2AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £53 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Derby-Riverlights is situated next to the Westfield Derby shopping centre in the heart of the city. Derby bus station is next door and we're a 10-minute walk from Derby Midlands rail station. Flights touch down at East Midlands Airport, 14 miles away. You'll feel relaxed when you step off the bustling street and into our sleek Lobby, with its 4-story glass atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights Hotel Derby
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing