We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2011

My place of choice to stay in Derby and I have stayed in more than my fair share.

The rooms are nice with a big bath and the exec suites are huge. Breakfast is tasty and plentiful and the restaurant menu is quite broad. Generally, the food is very although I have heard of a few cases where people have been unlucky. For a hotel in this price range the gym is also very good. Location wise it is very central to everything you need: bars, restaurants, bus / train station and is located right next to the new Westfield centre.

The staff are all pleasant and friendly too

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin_heaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor review following your recent stay with us.

Your comments were very positive and will be shared amongst the departmental teams.

We do hope that you visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Carrie-Louise Darby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

We wanted a city centre hotel for our disabled daughter to spend the occasional weekend in town with her carers and looked at the 3 newest hotels: Jury's Inn - no adjoining rooms, lift access from car park through the kitchens!; Hampton by Hilton - 50 yards from the road, nice adapted rooms with adjoining room but beds far too high; and finally the Holiday Inn which was by far the best.

In terms of access to it, the reception is at street level with disabled (3 hour) parking outside. There is (I think) a low-level desk at reception for wheelchair users. The hotel is very central - just across the road from the market, shops & cafes, with the Westfield centre shops & cinema just beyond in one direction and the Quad Center and Assembly Rooms in the other.

The accessible room has been designed with a lot of thought. It is an enormous corner room with 2 large single beds and most adaptations you could ask for - low wardrobe, non-slamming door, large bathroom with fold up shower seat and low sink. There is even a facility for the hard of hearing to plug in an alarm pillow. There is a small fridge where specialist drinks or medicines can be kept. The adjoining room is a standard double room.

She has stayed there twice now and every member of staff went out of their way to welcome her and make her and her carers' stay comfortable. Any requests were dealt with very quickly. She will be going back.

The icing on the cake is Holiday Inn's enlightened policy of providing carers with free accommodation in the adjoining room when accompanying disabled guests. Good for them.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyVoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review.

I can honestly say that we pride ourselves in providing all of the facilities to enable us to welcome our guests requiring accessible rooms. The Holiday Inn policy offering a complimentary carer's room does enhance this.

We do hope that your daughter will return to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards
Carrie-Louise Darby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The room and common areas were very clean and well presented.
The food was disgraceful.
Breakfast - pre-cooked breakfast - kept tepid under lights - why would anybody believe to serve this up in any hotel is appropriate - let alone a 4 star.
The Italian restaurant - reheated food yet again - poorly seasoned and presented - extremely poor quality food. To make and serve such terrible food is difficult but the cook [not a chef] here managed it.
Do not eat here there is far better places to eat in the town.

How this rates 4* is beyond me. I would not bother again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simco1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I am appauled to understand that our usual high standards for both food quality and presentation did not reflect during the time you were resident with us.

I can assure you that your comments will be shared with our kitchen team to ensure that we revisit our standards, as we certainly wish to exceed our guests expectations every time they dine with us.

With regard to the actual products; they are all freshly made, whether at breakfast, lunch or dinner; including our pizzas which are homemade in our own wood burning oven. We recently were finalists in the Derby Food & Drink Awards, reflecting our passion for the Stresa Restaurant concept.

I do hope that you would consider visiting Stresa Restaurant again.

Kind Regards
Carrie-Louise Darby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

we stayed in this hotel in December 2010, but only just got around to reviewing now. The hotel was virtually brand new and had that wonderful new carpet/decor smell. We were a family with two young children and took an interjoining room, which was a must for us with such young children. These rooms are not available in many other hotels and make all the difference to us as we can have independence without waking kids but also the security of leaving the door between us open when sleeping.
The hotel is briliiantly situated if you want to shop shop shop! it is on the doorstep of the Westfield shopping centre. The only slight snag was the parking which is not onsite but a 2 minute walk up the road in a public car park.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moishelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Guest

I am glad that you have found the time to complete a Trip Advisor review after your initial visit nearly a year ago. You did visit within the first month of us opening; and I can confirm that the Hotel as it is coming up to its one year anniversary tomorrow, is the exact high standard product that you initially saw.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again; if only so that you can do some Christmas shopping in the Westfield Centre next door!

Kind Regards
Carrie-Louise Darby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This hotel is a nice modern hotel with a good location, modern interior and comfortable bedrooms with lcd tv. There are positives and negatives to this hotel when you compare it with the Hampton by Hilton next door to it. The Hampton provide free breakfast, the Holiday Inn you have to pay for breakfast. The Holiday Inn has a small fridge in the room which comes in handy, the Hampton has no fridge. Both hotels have a small gym, but Hamptons is slightly better. The Holiday Inn has a green LED bulb underneath the sink in the bathroom, to me this is a nice extra touch as at night time when going to the bathroom it is easy on the eyes. The Internet is free at the Hampton, the Internet is £3 (I think) at the Holiday Inn. There are more front desk staff at the Hampton when checking out and are effecient, sometimes when checking out of Holiday Inn you could have a long wait, as they are short staffed. You can buy takeaways and eat your food in the Hampton Inn and use their cutlery, in Holiday Inn they have their own restaurant (available to Hampton Inn Guests). Both hotels have their good and bad points, but if I was to choose one, I would choose the Hampton. Hampton Inn is slightly cheaper than holiday inn.

Room Tip: Choose a riverside room, the bus station side is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SukyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor Review.

I appreciate all of the comparisons you have made between ourselves and the Hampton; which are mainly the reflection of the Holiday Inn being a four star, whilst the Hampton is a three star offering.

Our rates are always competitive to ensure that we offer value for money.

Kind Regards
Carrie-Louise Darby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed here on a friday night to go out on the town at night and spend the next day shopping at westfield. Paid £65 for the executive suite which was ment to be £130 so it was a bargin. The room was massive and it had everything in there. Was really clean and comfortable too. The bed was huge, soft and very bouncy. the hotel was very modern and I enjoyed it.

Would definatly stop here again in the future, the only downside was the car parking as there is no dedicated park for the hotel, you get a discount ticket for the westfield centre.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesbailey999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Dear Guests

Thank you for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted with your comments, and glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Hopefully, we will welcome you to back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Carrie-Louise Darby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I stayed here 3 times on business in 2011, each time for more than 3 days and every time on the second floor.
The rooms were clean, spacious and had a flatscreen tv and tea/coffee facilities, but as the hotel is on the main road, front facing rooms can be a bit noisy.
The hotel has a mini-gym on the second floor, which is free to use, and has a cycle, treadmill, cross-trainer and a selection of resistance weight machines, as well as free weights.
The restaurant (on the top floor) is contemporary and stylish, and the food is good. I ordered the same dish on two separate occasions and there was a marked difference in quality, so it may be pot-luck as to whether you get the better chef.
If you want breakfast, make sure you ask reception for vouchers when you check-in. The breakfast choice was excellent, with everything from full-english to pastries, fruits and cereals.

One other tip. If you want to dine out and like Indian food, you must visit Anoki - simply the best Indian food I have ever had.
There is no parking at the hotel, but there is a multi-storey car park opposite and reception will validate your parking for a £3 charge.

Room Tip: Choose away from the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor review following your recent stay with us.

We appreciate all comments from our guests as they inspire us to continue to exceed our customers expectations.

I can assure you that your comments regarding the consistency of the food offering will be addressed with our Head Chef, as he is very passionate about his food and this is shown in the support from his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on another occasion.

Kind Regards
Carrie-Louise Darby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,924 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#8 of 29 in Derby
1,803 reviews
3.6 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights

Address: Morledge, Derby DE1 2AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £53 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Derby-Riverlights is situated next to the Westfield Derby shopping centre in the heart of the city. Derby bus station is next door and we're a 10-minute walk from Derby Midlands rail station. Flights touch down at East Midlands Airport, 14 miles away. You'll feel relaxed when you step off the bustling street and into our sleek Lobby, with its 4-story glass atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights Hotel Derby
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing