We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed here on the night of our Wedding Reception and had a lovely night, the room was huge with a seating area in front of the Television. It was quite a quiet hotel for saying it is in the heart of the city. Unfortunately the bed was so comfy we slept through breakfast the next morning so I am afraid we can't comment on the restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Across the road from Westfield, with a pub opposite and Jimmy's World Grill and Bar next door. The hotel has very helpful reception staff, rooms spacious clean and comfortable. There's a mini gym which has all the usual equipment. The restaurant and bar area are very clean, good selection of food and drink, and staff were very friendly. Would definitely revisit when I'm next in Derby.

Room Tip: Westfield Riverside Basement car park is closest. Book breakfast in advance, it's cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Hotel itself was clean and modern, but we had a very disturbed night as we were awakened every 2 hours by a 15 minute loud buzzing from the air conditioning vent, despite our aircon being off. We reported this to reception and on the third occasion we were moved to another room at 4am. This was not ideal as the first room we had an adjoining room with our two children.
In the morning when we complained we were told that the buzzing could have been turned off by a isolator switch and they were not sure why this was not done, this could have been done at 11pm when we first reported the noise

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 929Dave929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear 929Dave929,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise from the air conditioning unit prevented you and your family from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do truly appreciate the perfect score for Cleanliness. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Have stayed in a lot of hotels of this brand. Was delighted by the can do attitude of the staff and their friendly nature. The hotel itself is very modern and smack in the middle of the city next to the shopping centre. Not quiet but very functional.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed Holiday inn on a weekend trip with a coach company. The room was clean and comfortable. The only snag we had we were over the bus station, so Saturday night was a bit noisy. The dinners and breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Good clean modern Holiday Inn. Prime location for Westfield Shopping and Central Derby. Free Wi-Fi and friendly staff. Car Parking is across the road which is not a massive problem. Certainly one of the better Holiday Inns and will stay again

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank 5cotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Having checked into our rooms earlier in the evening, we returned at around 10.30pm expecting to get a good night's sleep. However, our rooms were on the second floor, directly above the casino. There was a tribute band on and the music was loud enough for us to hear every word the performers were singing. I went down to reception to complain and was told that it should be over by midnight. I'm sure this cannot be the first time that the hotel has received complaints about the noise in these rooms from the casino below and am most disappointed that the rooms were allocated to us on a night when there was such a loud event on directly beneath. We expected to feel rested the following morning but instead began the day feeling tired and cross.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room on 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliz1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear aliz1406,

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. We will be addressing the matter with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future. Your comments are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,903 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#8 of 29 in Derby
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights

Address: Morledge, Derby DE1 2AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £52 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Derby-Riverlights is situated next to the Westfield Derby shopping centre in the heart of the city. Derby bus station is next door and we're a 10-minute walk from Derby Midlands rail station. Flights touch down at East Midlands Airport, 14 miles away. You'll feel relaxed when you step off the bustling street and into our sleek Lobby, with its 4-story glass atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights Hotel Derby
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing