We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel when travelling with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Staff were all very happy to help and inform us of all the hotel facilities. There was breakfast buffet included which made this stay even better as the city centre was atleast 15-20 mins walk from the hotel, would have been a mission sorting breakfast!

Room Tip: We had a double bed and a sofa bed (almost the size of double bed) as well due to us travelling with...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

The rooms were spotless and well-appointed. Appreciably more costly than the accommodation we had first looked at in the same general area, but very worth the difference. Excellent location to historical downtown, and close to the river garden walk. Complete quiet through the night and wifi 'hot spot' were greatly appreciated. Clerk David was knowledgable and most helpful, assisting us in so many ways, that he is the very reason we will return to this hotel and recommend it enthusiastically to friends who travel in this area. The half-price parking in the nearby car park made up for the lack of on-site parking. An overall most positive experience.

Room Tip: Northeast rooms have great wifi ! Very quiet for sleeping.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here often. Always clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff, especially front desk, really pleasant. Right in the centre so good for bars and restaurants. I would certainty recommend for both business and pleasure travel

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Here-my-am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review.
With regard to your heading of 'not great for parking'; we do not have an onsite car park but we are able to recommend the Westfield Riverside Car Park a few minutes walk from the hotel and we offer 50% discount on the overnight charge.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Carrie-Louise Holleran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here this last weekend and visited Alton Towers the next day which was around a 40 minute drive. The hotel was lovely, very clean and spacious. The staff at check in and breakfast were very helpful and prompt. The room was comfortable and clean. However was a little noisy when rooms nearby used the water supply. The breakfast had a good choice available. The parking is literally across the road from the hotel and is discounted to £7.50 per night and appeared to be very secure with pedestrian doors only opening if you had a parking ticket to swipe. Excellent choice for Alton Towers as the Ashbourne Travelodge, which is of lower quality, is now more expensive than here and does not include breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Claireypopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for a family trip to Alton Towers. The hotel is spotless and is really well positioned for the town centre and for the theme park which is a straightforward 40 min drive through lovely countryside.

We paid £195 for two nights for 4 people and for that we got two rooms - the boys' rooms was massive with twin beds and connected with ours. As our kids are now a tween and a teen the extra space was wonderful. We also got breakfast and wifi included in the price.

The staff are really pleasant and helpful - Fiona and David at reception were really good on check in.

Only slight downside is there is no car park in the hotel so you need to drop off luggage in the loading bay outside, go and park in the shopping centre car park next door and then walk back. You get a discount on the cost - £7.50 instead of £15 but that does add to your costs. This is a bit of a faff and is the only reason I did not give the hotel a five star rating.

Overall I would recommend to any type of traveller, but the hotel is particularly suited for business trips.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kags2168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your delightful 4 star review. We are glad that you had you had a great stay with us as your base for Alton Towers and that your children appreciated the added benefit of interconnecting rooms.

We do hope that you choose to stay with us again for your next trip to Alton Towers.

Kind Regards
Carrie-Louise Holleran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed one night, check in OK, checked in a little early which was good. Hotel nice, rooms decent size, quilts too small, shower more of a trickle but rooms had a bath too. Didn't have breakfast but it was £9.95 if you wanted it. Plenty of food places nearby. Carpark a ripoff at £15 a night. Overall a nice hotel regardless. Interconnecting rooms available.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights whilst attending a neaby music festival. As i am not much of a camper I was thrilled at the idea of staying in a hotel for the weekend. On arrival we were able to check in early, roughly 11am. Recption staff were both very friendly and helpful, pointing us in the correct direction to the car park (which wasnt the easiest to find but heyho). The rooms were a great size and the bed was so comfortable! The fact that there was a fridge in the room was also a good plus. The breakfast in the morning was also of a good quality! I would recommend the hotel to anyone! All of the staff were very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,812 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#6 of 29 in Derby
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.4 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights

Address: Morledge, Derby DE1 2AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £61 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Derby-Riverlights is situated next to the Westfield Derby shopping centre in the heart of the city. Derby bus station is next door and we're a 10-minute walk from Derby Midlands rail station. Flights touch down at East Midlands Airport, 14 miles away. You'll feel relaxed when you step off the bustling street and into our sleek Lobby, with its 4-story glass atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights Hotel Derby
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing