We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Birthday Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here for the 3rd time with my husband and daughter for our birthday's. We had a fantastic time over our 2 night weekend stay. The hotel gave us an excellent price which included a meal on the first evening and breakfast on both day's. Check in was pleasant, the hotel was fairly quiet. Our room was really lovely and very clean, we had no balcony this time but a huge room with sloping ceilings, seperate dressing area and nice bathroom. We found the leisure facilities very good as always. The food in the restaurant was really nice, some review's on trip advisor recently had been less than complimentary about the food, but we all thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal and both breakfasts whilst we were there. We found the staff in all areas to be pleasant whilst being quite relaxed. On our 2nd evening we went to an Indian restaurant called The Cinnamon Tree (about 8 mins in a taxi), again we had an excellent meal and the decor was really chic. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will definitely be returning again in the future.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on top floor are lovely although no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerri_sweeting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    322
    131
    42
    15
See reviews for
158
362
14
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
193 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Had a fabulous weekend at this lovely hotel. Having travelled through very bad weather to reach the hotel the friendly and efficient reception made it all seem worthwhile. Spotlessly clean and spacious room. Heating not easy to get to grips with - we should have phoned Reception for help! After about 30 mins in our room we had a visit from a member of staff asking if everything was OK and to our liking. Also happened the following day after the room had been serviced. A nice touch. All the staff were very friendly and chatty without being overbearing. Food was wonderful, breakfast and evening meal had very varied menus and cooked to an excellent standard. Swimming pool etc also very clean and a god temperature. All in all can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotty129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

having tried the bar for lunch the previous day we decided to try for a quick lunch before visiting our daughter in the nearby Derby Royal Hospital. In the Brasserie we were treated to probably what was the best value lunch ever. The dining room was spacious and what you would expect from a quality hotel. The choice of starters was great. We chose home made soup and melon but pate/melba toast and prawn/apple salad were tempting too. mains were carvery style and included perfectly cooked roast beef or pork - both excellent. Fish or Cod were other options. Deserts were great too. I had bread and butter pudding and my wife a nice vanilla studded panacotta. This was for £9 pounds something for 3 courses - unbelievable. Good old school hotel service as well.

Room Tip: Extremely generous bar snacks - I had chicken caesar wraps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

As one of a part y 84, our arrival was well organised. Staff on hand and very helpful. Rooms were spacious and comfy. Service was very efficent and food piping hot. overall a very good experience. only drawback - the loo paper. one star quaility in four star holiday - would recommend you pack your own roll!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritad211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

What a wonderful hotel this is. My hubby and I came over from Canada to Derby and my sister and her husband treated us to four days at this hotel over Christmas. We loved every minute of it. It was the best service we have experienced by far at any other hotel. Whatever we asked for was accommodated if possible and the staff were so polite and friendly that other hotels should take note. The food was excellent every single meal and we had three meals a day. It was an all-inclusive four day break and I have to say it was probably the best Christmas we have had in many a year. You just could not fault it. If I had anything negative to say it would be that I found the bed a little on the firm side for me but this is just a personal preference. The rooms were clean and modern and every day they left a treat of chocolates, fruit and nuts in the rooms and bottled water. It really is a very nice place to stay and so relaxing and anything you asked for they accommodated even going to the trouble of offering us a chocolate mousse that had been on the menu a day or so earlier and which was by far the best mousse we had ever tasted - and they offered us one a day or so later even though it was not on the menu which my husband was thrilled with because it was so good. They could give lessons to any hotel out there for service and politeness of every single member of the staff. Their waiters and waitresses were exceptional. My sister (the Fletchers) stay at this hotel for a mini weekend break quite often and they love it and I can see why. If I could have given this facility and the staff ten out of ten I would. Well done everyone you made our Christmas 2012 very special and thank you very much for that.

Room Tip: We had no issues with any of the rooms they were all well located and likely any room would not be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We were a little apprehensive about booking a 2 night New Year break here as the building looked quite modern and we wondered whether it might be a bit soul-less and too near to busy roads. It wasn't like that at all and the stay was worth every bit (and more) of the special deal price we paid!

We were thrilled to be upgraded from a superior double to a suite. No fuss, it just happened! Suite was roomy and the bathroom was lovely. Overall, the suite was comfortable with good quality furniture etc. The bed was a really good size and proved great for getting an excellent two nights' sleep. The only small issue (and it is very small) was that the sofa bed in the 'living' room area of the suite was a bit battered. We weren't aware of any road noise in our room and had a nice view over the countryside.

The facilities at the hotel were all of a good standard. Our deal included dinner on one of the evenings and it was to a high standard. Breakfasts were very generous and we both ate too much both mornings. We ordered room service on the second evening, it arrived in very little time and was the same quality as the restaurant food.

The pool and spa facilities were great. We made good use of them swimming and using the sauna/steam room 3 times. There are gym facilities too but as we were relaxing we gave those a miss but they looked pretty good too.

There is a health and beauty salon in the hotel which we used and were very pleased with the pampering treatments we had - at very reasonable prices.

Last, but not least, all the staff were friendly and efficient - from reception, to restaurant, pool, bar and room service we could not complain at all. The staff made us feel very welcome and really contributed the the relaxed atmosphere of our break.

Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ67C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
6.9 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court

Property: Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Address: Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court is fabulously located in Central England, only three miles from Derby city centre. The hotel has plenty of free parking onsite and 99 comfortable bedrooms including 15 family bedrooms. The hotel offers lots of great facilities including a brasserie, lounge, bar and free superfast WiFi throughout the hotel. A health and leisure club including a swimming pool, sauna, spa pool, whirlpool and steam-room. 11 meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. Stylish wedding venue for up to 200 guests. Sky Sports and BT sports is available within the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Mickleover Court Hotel Derby
The Menzies Hotel Mickleover
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing