We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very happy”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just spent two night break with friends at this hotel. Reception staff greeted us with a warm welcome. Our room, although a little cold to start with as heating had not been put on, was all that we required and quickly warmed up. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate selection with biscuits. Shower was adequate, but we are used to a power shower so found it a bit weak. Nice to have a complimentary iron and board in wardrobe. Good selection at breakfast from buffet and likewise evening dinner had good selection. Staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautifully decorated for christmas with xmas songs playing which made us feel very festive. We did not use the bar as we thought it was expensive. We used pool facilities and again this was a very enjoyable experience. This hotel is in a great location for exploring and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDM57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    332
    145
    45
    17
See reviews for
169
386
14
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was a 'halfway' meeting place for my husband & I plus his sister & her husband -we'd booked several months ago as a bargain break and it surpassed our expectations. On arrival we both had a free upgrade to the best suites as a large coach party was due. Lovely rooms which were cold but soon warmed up when we worked out to do the heating! Part of the deal was dinner on the first night -it wasn't gourmet but there was plenty of choice and we all enjoyed it. Breakfasts are better -fantastic choice of juices, fruit (& delicious coulis), freshly baked breads & croissants, help yourself hot buffet which had the best sausages I'd ever tasted in a hotel. Waiting on staff were very attentive & pleasant. Spa facilities were excellent also with agood sized pool.
My only hesitation in recommending this hotel was it was 'taken over' by Topland (?) during the weekend after Menzies went into administration. We were lucky as our booking continued as planned, we heard from staff that 3 other hotels in the group did not fare so lucky when then were closed with immediate effect (without telling a coach party who were on their way!) So if the new company continue with the great value I would definitely book it again.

Room Tip: We had the best ones so don't know what the others were like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel-paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Arriving after midnight ,after several hours on the motorway you good not wish for a better welcome than from Kevin the night Manager. quick efficient check in with no fuss.very comfortable bed and stunning misty morning scenery. Excellent breakfast.location great too not to far from main arterial routes

Room Tip: ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steelers 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

When staying at a hotel for the night, it's the little extras that make all the difference! We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast offer, in an exec room. Ok, our room was not the quietest, you could hear the traffic, but you could also see the sun rise out of the big windows, our room was near the pool, you could go down in your lovely fluffy bathrobe, without going through reception. All the leisure facilities were excellent! There was a wonderful selection of freebies in the in-room fridge. The bathroom was lovely and big. the bed comfy. Breakfast was plentiful, we ordered poached eggs, which came at the right time. Check in and out were both good, friendly receptionist. The lounge has a fun glass lift and the hotel is convenient for Derby city.
But, I'm afraid, there were some negative points too, The room was very cold when we arrived and the ceiling fans are very noisey! Although the staff were all very attentive, the food was not all very good. Our starters were very tasty, but our main wasn't, the mash was so salty I could barely eat it! I did tell the waitress and she seemed apologetic, but we didn't fancy waiting for more to be made. Also the lack of vegetables was unacceptable, we had 1 piece of carrot and 1 piece of parsnip, I just wished I'd ordered a side order of veg, but for that price you don't think you would need to, PLEASE PUT MORE VEG ON PLATE!!! The sweets were gorgeous but the coffee was horrid! But a kind waitress carried it into the lounge for us. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but I'm not sure if I would eat there again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper don't sleep in room 417.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekender066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was once a lovely hotel, we have being staying here on and off for business for the last 15+ years. We returned at the weekend for an overnight stay and as usual the reception staff where very welcoming and helpful. We had booked a superior room and they had upgraded us to a suite on arrival foc. Very kind we thought..........well, the so called suite was dreadful and had I been paying for it I would of been very upset. It is not a suite just 2 adjoining rooms with a bed removed from one and the whole thing was so old and tired we thought we had stepped back 15 years. The room smelt musty, the carpet and furniture was stained and unpleasent, the chair at the dressing table had to have a towel put on it before we could sit and although very clean (top marks to house keeping) the bathroom was so old it was very dull and tired, in fact the bath was grey inside not through dirt but through age.

The tea & coffee was practically non existant bearing in mind this was "a suite" 3 teas & 3 coffees is very tight. A good selection of cold drinks in the mini bar to buy if wanted and comically one chocolate toffee bar!!

Breakfast was also a bit chaotic, with my husband having to wait 10 minutes for 2 fried eggs amongst other things, by which time I had finished. Just needs some tweaking staff wise.

As I say had we been paying for this we would of complained but we actually both agreed that unfortunately we will not go back unless some money is spent on the hotel to jusitfy their above average prices. Such a shame..............
BTW I will be sending the comment card off to the head office.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Great family room, lovely evening meal and excellent breakfast. The staff were very friendly, the pool was great and I didn't feel like the kids were a nuisance. I would recommend this as a great family friendly hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Emmumof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

The title says it all, this was our second visit and I'd happily stay again, the staff are warm and welcoming, rooms to a good standard, clean, always comfortable and relaxing after a hard weekend at Alton Towers. Although a bit pricey it's in a good location with ample facilities. The breakfast provided a wide choice and always left us feeling content.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olliewood_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
6.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.9 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#22 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court

Property: Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Address: Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court is fabulously located in Central England, only three miles from Derby city centre. The hotel has plenty of free parking onsite and 99 comfortable bedrooms including 15 family bedrooms. The hotel offers lots of great facilities including a brasserie, lounge, bar and free superfast WiFi throughout the hotel. A health and leisure club including a swimming pool, sauna, spa pool, whirlpool and steam-room. 11 meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. Stylish wedding venue for up to 200 guests. Sky Sports and BT sports is available within the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Mickleover Court Hotel Derby
The Menzies Hotel Mickleover
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing