We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs refurbishing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Derby
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Needs refurbishing...”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Everything in this hotel feels too basic without any charm. A few examples: heating system in the middle of the room on the ceiling leaving half the room cold, the other half too warm, no movies available on tv, wireless incredibly slow, etc. I tried the room service and played safe ordering a burger, big mistake. Unless a major revamp is done here, I will not return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FroggyCritics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    336
    150
    47
    17
See reviews for
171
392
16
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just back from weekend break deal . Very good value for money at £99 for 2 including breakfast and one dinner. Food very good. Staff very helpful. Rooms large and well equipped WiFi works well. Had standard room ... second room ordered was allocated to Exec room. Newer and smarter, but smaller.
Standard rooms could do with some refurbishment, taps sometimes a problem.
Swimming pool layout very nice and steam room and sauna great. However...... the Spa was out of order for complete weekend and the cleanliness of the changing rooms was poor. The wash basin was horribly dirty. The water on floors between changing room and swimming pool will sometime cause an accident!

Room Tip: All rooms the same, some at front may be quieter in summer, but no noise from road at rear. It looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSLFUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishops stortford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here for two days with my dogs in tow. Staff were very efficient and helpful particularly wen it came to late check out. Service was attentive and rooms were clean spacious and came with a balcony so the dogs could get some fresh air. The health club was good clean and refreshing. Bit of advice tho, if you plan a massage it's run by a third party and books up very quickly! Don't expect to be able to turn up and book.
Restaurant and bar are overpriced ( as are most hotels) and my chicken was very pink which put me off eating it , but again the service was good. Breakfast was average , arguably not worth the cost but there was a good selection of hot and cold buffet and tea and coffee brought to the table. Overall very nice stay and would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherspringall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just had a fantastic break at Menzies Mickleover Court. Great Spa, brilliant restaurant and lovely friendly staff. Food was so good we would go back just to eat there.Can't say enough to recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dronfield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed Friday/Saturday night on a 2 night Getaway deal £99 for two people on the recommendation of our son who had enjoyed this deal/location before.
We were well advised to do so.
We have come away very refreshed & rested and full of good quality food. We have calculated that after meals are accounted for, the room is effectively for nothing, and our room was very comfortable. No discernable road noise troubled us.
However, the main asset this hotel has is the warm, welcoming and 'nothing too much trouble' attitude of the staff we came across. Particular mention must go to Lorraine in the restaurant at breakfast time both days. A bright,cheerful and interested lady who brightened our day with her welcome. Even when busy, which it was particularly so on Sunday morning, she made us feel like we were her most important customers and had time to talk with us. The other restaurant staff were all helpful and efficient too.
Overall, were were delighted with our stay and look forward to another opportunity to return some time soon on this deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaks18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to Menzies Mickleover Court around this time of year on their 2 night getaway. It is very much worth every single penny, and we are already looking for the next opportunity to take them up on this offer. All we was looking for was the chance to be able to relax, enjoy some good food and unwind after a busy Christmas period. The hotel rooms are of a good size and deliver in comfort. The pool area is clean and allows for some well earned relaxation. Like most places though it is the staff that make or break a place and the staff here are certainly a credit to the hotel. The restaurant wouldn't feel out of place on the high street, the food is that good, the featherblade of beaf is to die for! Dont just take our word forit though, give Menzies Mickleover Court a try you won't regret it

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thepeebobs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

An excellent hotel to stay at - service, quality and food are superb - couldn't fault it. Great value for money don't know how they do this for the price they're offering- highly recommended - will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
6.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
7.9 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,720 reviews
3.9 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,534 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court

Property: Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Address: Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court is fabulously located in Central England, only three miles from Derby city centre. The hotel has plenty of free parking onsite and 99 comfortable bedrooms including 15 family bedrooms. The hotel offers lots of great facilities including a brasserie, lounge, bar and free superfast WiFi throughout the hotel. A health and leisure club including a swimming pool, sauna, spa pool, whirlpool and steam-room. 11 meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. Stylish wedding venue for up to 200 guests. Sky Sports and BT sports is available within the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Mickleover Court Hotel Derby
The Menzies Hotel Mickleover
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing