We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, great restaurant, brilliant staff and service, parking and wifi included.
Spacious family room with a/c, quiet at night, very happy with stay, would recommend this hotel to all.
No negatives to report.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 169Niall1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here twice now. On the plus side it's clean and the staff are helpfulish. Bad side food is poor and not very nice. Telephones in room don't really work and the lift is temperamental at best. Had a few faulty towers moments with the staff and the malfunctioning phones and the restaurant service - asked for an earl grey tea, breakfast tea delivered to table, waitress ran off, few moments later other waitress "is everything ok" "no not really I ordered an earl grey" "oh we'll never mind". Needs time and care spent on it and the staff.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank DiggerOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights May 8/9/10 , from the minute we walked in we were made very welcome and our room was lovely, we had a superior room which was light airy and very big, the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for a hotel bed and the "extra's" were great. The food was very well presented and cooked and the whole staff were very helpful and pleasant. we will definitely be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardiffparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Took a coach party of 52 here for 5 nights. I can honestly say there was not one complaint about anything, which is a first in the ten years my wife and I have been organising these trips.
Chris and his team were extremely welcoming and helpful, supplying tea and coffee on arrival whilst the cases were being taken to the rooms. He also supplied a room and PA equipment for us and another coach party to hold evening quizzes and arranged for post dinner coffee and mints to be served at the quiz. Cases were picked up from the rooms for departure.
The choice and quality of the food was excellent compared to normal coach party standards. My pet hate is luke warm food on cold plates but these plates came with a safety warning from the waiters and the hot food was beautifully cooked and plentiful. The advertised Veggie Turnover was not available at breakfast and a couple of people said they were surprised to see no Black Pudding at breakfast although it did appear a starter one evening. The general choice at breakfast was very comprehensive with some dishes being cooked to order.
The hotel is situated on the edge of Mickleover a three minute walk to shops, banks and pubs. A couple of people at the back in the twin rooms said they could hear the traffic on the by-pass but it was not intrusive. My wife and I had a first floor room (129) overlooking reception and did not hear a thing except for the occasional door shutting heavily. My one other critical comment would be to be replace the bath mastic with the type that does not support black mould (Plumbers Gold et al) as our room was starting to look a bit jaded with a cupboard door having to be reattached using my Swiss Army although overall it was much better than some hotels we have stayed in. The shower was excellent. A safe would also be a useful addition and is now fairly standard equipment.
The swimming pool and gym was of a very good standard and used by several of our group. Bar prices were above that for a local pub but not excessive. Bottles of wine started at about £14.
Overall it was a great experience and we would happily book this again if we were in the area, either as individuals or for a group. Many thanks to the management and staff for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have great views but overlook the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here for four nights from 2nd-6th May. Everything you could wish for. We were able to take the dog with us which was an added benefit. Reception staff were very welcoming and always very helpful. The restaurant was of a very good standard, both food and staff. Yes there were two coach parties who dined early but we always eat late so this was not a problem. Breakfast was a very good experience, even with large numbers it went smoothly. Room was large and comfortable. only negative point was that the bed was a little hard for our liking. The over ridding factor is that we can not wait to stay here again. We come to Derby a number of times each year and this will be our number one destination to stay

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111DavidB1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

On the face of it this looked like a good hotel, but looks can be deceptive. Built in the 1980s or 1990s it is beginning to show its age. The décor was dated and fittings in the rooms were tired and worn. The rooms are big, with more desks than you could shake a stick at and seemingly each had a balcony but there were plenty of scuff marks and hanging doors. The big disappointment was the restaurant. During both nights of our stay there were large coach parties staying which meant that we could not eat until they had been served. Once in the dining room service was very slow and there were several dishes off the menu, presumable exhausted by the coach guests. If you are going to stay here check first about coach parties, as individual guests do seem to come a poor second.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely few days with my family for my husbands birthday.

We had a spacious family room that had all the facilities we needed. Added bonus of complimentary drinks and chocolate for the children.

Cannot fault anything about our stay. The staff were friendly and welcoming, really good with the children. The food was delicious and fresh and the hotel was clean and comfortable.

We spent time using the leisure facilities including the pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna room. Again clean and well looked after.

Overall we had a really nice stay and would revisit if we are ever back in that area.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Gavnav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
6.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
7.9 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
3.9 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#8 of 29 in Derby
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court

Address: Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £60 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court is fabulously located in Central England, only three miles from Derby city centre. The hotel has plenty of free parking onsite and 99 comfortable bedrooms including 15 family bedrooms. The hotel offers lots of great facilities including a brasserie, lounge, bar and free superfast WiFi throughout the hotel. A health and leisure club including a swimming pool, sauna, spa pool, whirlpool and steam-room. 11 meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. Stylish wedding venue for up to 200 guests. Sky Sports and BT sports is available within the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Mickleover Court Hotel Derby
The Menzies Hotel Mickleover
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing