We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here last week as part of a coach party and it was a nice change to be treated with consideration and courtesy, not as 'second class citizens' like some establishments make you feel!
The staff were very good, pleasant and certainly helpful. The rooms were clean and modern, towels were changed automatically after a couple of days! The food was well above average, menus were well thought out and when a few of us requested chips (yep, sad I know!) that were not on the menu, the chef sent out some wonderful 'home made' chips! Nothing was too much trouble! I had a couple of requests which were attended to with helpfulness and pleasantness. Truly an very good place to relax and stay in.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for assistance, you will receive excellent attention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea_walters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    324
    139
    44
    16
See reviews for
164
372
14
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel was a base for a Barnes coach trip for the weekend visiting Chatsworth House, Bolsover Castle and lots of other wonderful places up in Derbyshire. The staff were so friendly, the manager made everyone feel so welcome and comfortable. There were a number of older members in the group who were looked after really well. The food was amazing and the rooms very comfortable. My mum's favourite bit was a nice relaxing jacuzzi before getting changed for dinner. Thoroughly lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyA1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for my wife's birthday trip to Alton Towers, instead our usual Premier Inn as we left the kids behind. The reception staff were ok but kept asking if we had stayed before. The room was well appointed, clean and tidy with a good air con unit and patio doors opening to a small balcony, shame about the view of the rubbish bins, but there needs to be somewhere for the rubbish to go. Huge king bed and comfortable. The shower was powerful very refreshing after a long drive. The bar though was less than impressive for a 4 star hotel. There were two bars, the one on the first floor was closed, maybe this is for functions only. The bar on the ground floor was open, serving Starbucks coffee and alcohol. When I arrived at the bar the 3 lagers on draught on had glasses covering the handles. I was told they had trouble with the gas. They had 330cl bottles though at 20p more than pint or they could go upstairs and pull a pint of Budweiser but would take a couple of minutes. I did not fancy the beer that had sat in the pipes, so instead gave up after a moan and walked 5 minutes to the nearest pub and was 50p cheaper. The staff were also not bothered.
For a hotel that offers weddings it was lucky there was not one on this particular Saturday night or there would have been a riot.
Next time I will not look for something a it better than usual a Premier Inn is just as good but smaller, the beer is cheaper and doesn't stop working.
If you do stay take a five minute walk to the masons pub have a pint in there or sit outside.
The location for Alton Towers is good about 1/2 hour drive.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely hotel, clean spacious rooms air conditioning, bathroom spacious and very clean, also we got adjoining rooms with our kids and that was great overall a lovely hotel quiet and peaceful would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My boyfriend and I booked in at the Menzie hotel in Mickleover for one night as we we're attending a wedding nearby and well if I am honest the images provided for this place on the website need changing as they really don't do the place justice! It's clean, light, airy and exactly what you would want from a hotel for this sort of occasion.

I booked a standard double and was delighted to find when we opened the door to our room that we had been upgraded to a king room at no extra charge! This included little touches such as robes and a complimentary mini fridge.

The service was excellent the reception staff, room service and breakfast staff were all on top form and pleasant throughout!

We had opted for breakfast despite the fact that I'm skeptical when it comes to the idea of a buffet. However, there was a vast selection to choose from and all the cooked breakfast was hot!

As someone who has worked in hotels I an honesty say well done Menzies I will recommend and use the chain again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiestockings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

3 nights recently and upgraded to spacious superior room for £15 a night well worth it.Just for complimentary soft drinks bar.Nice place loads of fitness and pampering facilities. Evening meals in restaurant very nice and reasonable.Place is very clean but some areas look a little worn.10Minutes from Derby.Plenty of interesting places close by including Peaks and National trust places,Chatsworth house and Alton Towers.
Overall well pleased and would definitely use again,very comfortable friendly place.

Room Tip: Overlooked main road but not effected by any noise.Superior room very large and well equipped.Some r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I booked a weekend stay at the Mickleover Court Hotel recently, for a well deserved rest for my wife (and myself)

I chose this hotel as we have always had consistently good service at the Mickleover and enjoy the surrounding area and easy access to the city centre

I had a concern on my room and spoke to Chris (Deputy Operation Manager) at reception, he immediately resolved the issue and booked us into a far more suitable room for our stay.

Chris went on to deliver a great customer service throughout our stay and even scouted for a local Chinese takeaway for us to have delivered to our room. brilliant!!!

The evening meal was excellent and the breakfast was delicious, hot and well varied ( definitely a 4* dining experience)

The room was cleaned to a high standard (even checked by house keeping management)

The spa/pool facilities were as good as ever and clearly well mantained

ALL the staff were pleasant and friendly and we were made very welcome throughout our entire stay

Well done Menzies and a HUGE thank you to Chris for assuring our stay was enjoyable

Room Tip: Book the larger Executive rooms or upgrade to a suite for a spacious stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enigma781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
6.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.9 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#22 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court

Property: Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Address: Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court is fabulously located in Central England, only three miles from Derby city centre. The hotel has plenty of free parking onsite and 99 comfortable bedrooms including 15 family bedrooms. The hotel offers lots of great facilities including a brasserie, lounge, bar and free superfast WiFi throughout the hotel. A health and leisure club including a swimming pool, sauna, spa pool, whirlpool and steam-room. 11 meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. Stylish wedding venue for up to 200 guests. Sky Sports and BT sports is available within the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Mickleover Court Hotel Derby
The Menzies Hotel Mickleover
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing