We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

booked with superbreak 2 nights(£99)with 1 night 3 course eve meal.excellent b&b.good location for uttoxeter races.geniune 4 star treatment & food.good leisure center.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livelifelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Ideson, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly and I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

David Ideson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    324
    139
    44
    16
See reviews for
164
372
14
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wales
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

I booked this hotel for a 2 night weekend stay as I had got my other half a track day about 30 miles away on the saturday. Had a fab deal on laterooms £99 for 2 nights B&B with a 3 course dinner on the first night also. We got up graded to a superior room as it was our anniversary this was spacious and also the top floor so had sky light windows was very nice although no view atall!
The 3 course meal was nice but I would not have been happy atall if I had been paying the prices on the menu for the food they were serving. I had the lamb but there was not much meat to this atall and also the steak was not too special either for a value of about £20!! The sweets however were nice I had the panacotta which I could not fault and my partner had the waffle with chocolate sauce which was by all means very simple for a 4 star!!
The spa was lovely, very clean, pool got busy which meant only 2 or 3 people max could swim properly at a time as it is a small pool. The jacuzzi, sauna and steam room couldnt be faulted...good service at the entrance to the gym etc also.
The only real fault I really found was the fact that on arrival we opened the account on the room so we could book drinks etc down to the room the receptionist took £100 which was meant to be a pre authorisation to make sure that the funds are there and then on check out what you don't spend gets refunded to your card like most places.....however this was not the case on check out the receptinoist charged the amount on the bill to my card AGAIN and she claimed that there was no reinburstment to be made. Today I tried to purchase a holiday but was failed to do so as the £100 had never been reinburst, my bank and the hotel tried telling me there was nothing they could do....eventually the hotel think they have found a way but I do not know this for sure as the refund can take upto 5 days to hit my account........It was a lovely weekend just a shame they couldnt have hot the button on checkout to release my money....to save a lot of stress and wasted time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welsh_bird87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Ideson, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review following your recent stay. I was however very disappointed to read your feedback, as we certainly do not wish to disappoint or frustrate any of our guests in the way that we did yourselves. I can assure you that we have taken your comments on board and have reviewed and changed the system used to pre-authorise guests cards and this should prevent a situation such as this happening again in the future. On a more positive note thank your for your kind comments regarding the other elements of your stay and I hope we can welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards

David Ideson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

stayed there for a weekend with their weekend break package (1st night dinner included)
Modern hotel staff a bit young and inexperienced. Room was excellent with modern bathroom. Dinner on first night was in main restaurant and apart from the microwaved vegatables was of a good standard. Second night (saturday) the main restaurant was closed and we were sent to a souless empty italian room as the main restaurant was being used for a wedding (This happens almost every saturday). In the bar afterwards we felt like uninvited guests to the wedding. We stayed the Sunday but went to the Nags Head pub (as recommended). Food and atmosphere was great. If you're going for a weekend I recommend you go here on the second night. Great location for peak district. Great value for the price but don't expect 5 star service.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fgwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

This is a good 4 star business hotel during the week which makes it an excellent hotel for the weekend as it has loads of impressive facilities (great pool and jacuzzi), good restaurant and ample parking. Staff are professional and friendly too. Spotlessly clean, as you'd expect.

Always offer good deals and watch out for their extra value and sensational promotional weekend packages.

So ideal and affordbale for weekend breaks to the Peak District, Alton Towers, Royal Crown Derby/Denby or to Pride Park! Will stay here on business too when next I have to come to this region.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jensenfrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

stayed here a couple of times for various occasions with my partner. though we're fairly local to the area, i thought the only other reasonable nearby hotel, aside travelodges and homemade b&bs, would be the slightly over priced alton towers resort complex. coming across mickleover court was a pleasant surprise, and overall our stay was exactly that.

in terms of location, the hotel is a reasonable distance from many of the main attractions in the peak district and surrounding area (or what i guess people would come here to do!). our main purpose for staying was to go to a function in derby city centre, and with it being a ten or so minute drive away from the hotel there was no need to decide who would be the lucky designated driver, as a cab ride back didn't exactly cost the earth! even though derby city centre isn't far away, the hotel itself is set essentially in the heart of the countryside so if you're after country walks, i'm sure you won't find a trail too far away.
i wouldn't be surprised if going to alton towers would be on your hit list either, in which case, it's an easy half an hour (if that) drive from mickleover (and i would recommend this place over alton towers' hotels purely because you're in civilisation here, the pool is free to use and it's a considerably cheaper price!).

as other reviewers have already pointed out, don't worry about having to pay for the standard slightly more expensive hotel food as there are a lovely selection of takeaways and pubs less than a minutes drive away in the town centre (my boyfriend is convinced the chip shop there is the best in the country!) and a tesco, should you want to get some snacks for whatever reason! though i haven't actually eaten in the hotel restaurant before, the last time we stayed we were informed it was a very quiet night and the fact that it was open regardless was good to see, as i've stayed in hotels in the past which slack on facilities in off peak seasons.

speaking of decor, the hotel lobby and public areas are wonderfully decorated and bright. the conference rooms are similarly tasteful and comfortable, so if you're considering holding a function here, i'd definately give it a visit.

as for the rooms, well generally speaking they could do with being brought into the 2010s, but that aside, they were immaculately cleaned, had everything we needed and the beds were a treat! admittedly i was slightly disappointed by the size of the room we stayed in the first time, with my impressions only being from the website photos but considering i paid less for it than i would've done a travelodge, i wouldn't have rather paid more to stay there instead! during our last stay earlier this month, the heating wasn't really up to standard - we left it while we were out, but did mention it to reception who kindly offered us the option of an additional heater should we need it upon our return at which point the room was lovely and toasty.

leisure facilities are a lot nicer than the standard considering they're included in the price of the stay. the fitness rooms seemed modern with a fair amount of equipment and the pool is almost a tranquil haven with relaxing decor and very clean, though it's not really the kind of pool you'd be able to do laps in when it's busy.

of course, every hotel has its negatives and with mickelover court, i'm having to be slightly picky. the only real thing i could fault is the customer service. i felt that a lot of the time, the staff didn't really go above and beyond so to speak, and just provided us with a service and attitude that was right by the book. it would've been nice to be greeted with a smile whenever we approached a desk or till, but essentially, noone was ever rude to us.

all in all, mickelover court offers exactly what i would consider affordable luxury. for the price i paid for a room and the facilities i got i wouldn't recommend anywhere else for value!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou2188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberside UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

We really did enjoy our weekend christmas shopping/leisure break. This was our first stay in this hotel, and the staff just couldn't have been more helpful. We even had a room upgrade !!!! We had a one evening meal inclusive break with 2 breakfasts, and the evening meal was beautifully prepared and presented. The staff seemed very well trained, and were very pleasant. The access to the Peak District is good. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the location, with single direction direct access from the main dual carriageway. Just put your trust in the sat-nav, and it's OK.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley9HumbersideUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on their B&B + 1 Dinner package. My husband and I stay in hotels quite a lot for our work so it can be a bit of a busman's holiday, but it did not disappoint. The hotel is well placed near major roads, which does make it noisy with the windows open, but there is heating & aircon in the rooms so that is not necessary.
Our room was spacious and clean but was starting to look a little tired. However, everything worked and there was always plenty of hot water.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had a very pleasant meal. We paid extra for a couple of things not included in the package, but there was plenty of choice for no extra cost. The prices were pretty average for a hotel of this type. Our first breakfast was on Sunday morning and it was a buffet. There was plenty of choice and the food was hot. However, the next morning (Monday) it was table service where you had to order what you wanted cooking, and they seemed to be out of most things. The cold buffet consisted of fruit and cheese, not having any cold meats. This was disappointing and contrasted with the quality and service we had experienced up to this point. Hopefully this was a blip and not a usual occurrence.
We have no compalints at all regarding the staff, all were friendly and efficient and happy to help. Even the cleaners greeted us with a cheery 'hello' in the corridors.
We would certainly be happy to stay here again, and to recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kag&Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
6.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.9 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#22 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court

Property: Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Address: Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court is fabulously located in Central England, only three miles from Derby city centre. The hotel has plenty of free parking onsite and 99 comfortable bedrooms including 15 family bedrooms. The hotel offers lots of great facilities including a brasserie, lounge, bar and free superfast WiFi throughout the hotel. A health and leisure club including a swimming pool, sauna, spa pool, whirlpool and steam-room. 11 meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. Stylish wedding venue for up to 200 guests. Sky Sports and BT sports is available within the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Mickleover Court Hotel Derby
The Menzies Hotel Mickleover
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing