We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Derby
SW UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Stayed at this hotel on a three day break with a group. An excellent place- staff very helpful- especially the Restaurant Manager- Mr S.V - he is brilliant at his job and should get a special mention! Thank you/

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Ideson, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review following your recent stay here at the Mickleover Court Hotel, it was a pleasure to read such positive feedback and I have passed your kind comments onto all the team and more spcifically our Restaurant Manager. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future, if however, I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

David Ideson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    341
    152
    47
    17
See reviews for
179
398
16
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
northampton
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2010

This hotel was a relly nice hotel, it had a lovely swimming pool. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. The food in the restaurant was of an excellent standard. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelagent007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Ideson, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court, responded to this review, 6 May 2010
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, it was very kind. I was of course very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to the team. I also hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon where I may have the opportunity to meet you personally.

Kind regards

David Ideson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I was here for three days on a business trip. The hotel, like most chains, is fairly identikit in terms of its look and feel - it's clean, it's effective and it has a health suite/spa. The facilities are what you'd expect for business meetings and there were four or five different companies using the hotel for seminars and similar while I was there. The rooms are fine - plenty of space and adequately equipped. The air conditioning/heating unit is on the balcony which is one way to keep the noise down in the room, though none too succesful at that at dead of night.

Best bit ? The restaurant. The evening menu reads like typical chain hotel food but it is that bit better cooked and higher quality than most, and not over-priced. There's someone good working in the kitchen, and the waiting staff are very professional.

While this isn't necessarily a destination hotel it does what it does well.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorchlightLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Ideson, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I was pleased to read your kind comments regarding both the quality of the food and the service that you received in the restaurant. I will pass on your kind comments to the team and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

David Ideson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We wanted to go to Derbyshire for a couple of nights, but the weather wasn't great, so we chose this hotel for its facilities as well as its position. Booked it on Laterooms for £200 and thought that was a fair deal, but then on the hotel website got it for £160 - a better deal - so cancelled our first booking. This was for a superior room, which we found wasn't huge, so the standard rooms must be pretty small. The hotel website doesn't make it clear what the differences are, but we got a fridge (unstocked), bathrobes, a/c and a sitting area to the side of the bed. No tissues, limited choice of channels and an old-style TV. The bed was comfy and the shower powerful, but the bathroom wasn't huge. Breakfast was included and was fine for a hotel breakfast, no surprises. We also ate in the Brasserie the first evening - a bit pricey for our budget at £50 for two mains, one starter and tea for one (wine on top was £17 - almost the cheapest on offer). However, the food was great - not big portions but attractively presented and tasting really good, so perhaps the price wasn't so bad. Finally, the leisure facilities - it's also a club for locals and the gym was a good size for a hotel gym. There was also a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and pool - all very pleasant. The pool isn't a lane pool but it's not tiny and you could swim up and down if you wished. Changing room facilities were acceptable - not fancy but very clean. It all looked well- cared for and we enjoyed a couple of hours in there on our first rainy day. Would have been happy to visit the next day too.

It was really quiet when we visited midweek, because it was the week after Easter, but normally it's busier apparently, as it's a conference hotel. Usually weekends are the better times to visit if you're looking for good deals.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobeewho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Ideson, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. With specific regards to your comments on the price of dinner, I am sorry that you felt the prices expensive and I would like to assure you that we constantly strive to offer great value for money. I would also like to assure you that we do consistently work to improve the hotels offering and we are hoping to upgrade our TV's as we have upgraded other areas within the hotel in the near future. I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon but if I can be of any assistance in the meantime please dont hesitate to conatct me..

Kind regards

David Ideson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex, u.K
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Hotel was ok, but is listed as dog friendly. However, my dog was not allowed anywhere except the room! That isn't a dog friendly hotel. While I appreciate I cannot pull him up a chair in the restaurant and allow him to dine along side us, I did not expect to be told that he wasn't allowed ANYWHERE. I am always taking him to dog friendly hotels and he is allowed in the bar and lobby etc. Not here.
At 1am I woke up with a blinding headache (due to the extremely flat pillow). I went downstairs and asked for an orange juice. The reaction I rec'd was as if I'd requested an antelope omelette cooked by Gordon Ramsey. The late night guy scratched his head and seemed utterly put out. However, he did get the juices and was actually a very helpful man, but his initial reaction was quite unwelcoming.
On check out I encountered a surly girl, Laura, who seemed inconvenienced. After to-ing and fro-ing with the bill, she got quite chatty which was a shame as the first impressions she gave were not befitting of her actual personality. A smile would not go amiss here from the recpetion staff. We personally felt we were putting them out just by walking through the lobby. I wouldn't stay here again. Clientele was a bit rowdy too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Ideson, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review following your recent stay. I was however very disappointed to read your feedback, as we certainly do not wish to disappoint any of our guests. I do take your comments most seriously and I have discussed them with the team to ensure that we can learn from our mistakes and improve for the future. I am also sorry I did not get the opportunity to meet you during your stay, as we would have been delighted to resolve any problems with you at the time.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope we can change your mind and welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards

David Ideson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EYorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We chose this hotel following a visit to Alton Towers. Alton towers is a 40 min drive and 25 miles away. Probably further away than we had anticipated but We are pleased to have stayed there all the same. Staff friendly and helpful. I asked for an iron and a staff member promtly brought one up for me with an ironing board and asked if he could put it up for me. Rooms large and comfortable, the bed was enormous and pillows comfortable despite what other reviews say. Food great. Very good value. Swimming pool and spa facilities very relaxing and a great way to spend sunday morning with a small child.
Would return again without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Ideson, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review following your recent stay, it is always very pleasing to read such positive feedback from a guests stay at the hotel and I have passed your comments onto all the team. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

David Ideson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denbighshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

this is our third stay at a menzies hotel,previously(baron's court and strathallan) both superb.The food is excellent, just about everything here is faultless.We can't wait for our next trip to a menzies hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lippo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Ideson, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review following your recent stay here at the Mickleover Court Hotel, it was a pleasure to read such positive feedback and I have passed your comments onto all the team concerned. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future, if however, I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

David Ideson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
6.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
3.9 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
1,558 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court

Property: Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Address: Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court is fabulously located in Central England, only three miles from Derby city centre. The hotel has plenty of free parking onsite and 99 comfortable bedrooms including 15 family bedrooms. The hotel offers lots of great facilities including a brasserie, lounge, bar and free superfast WiFi throughout the hotel. A health and leisure club including a swimming pool, sauna, spa pool, whirlpool and steam-room. 11 meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. Stylish wedding venue for up to 200 guests. Sky Sports and BT sports is available within the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Mickleover Court Hotel Derby
The Menzies Hotel Mickleover
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing