We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Scunthoror
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend Break”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel last weekend. Never been to Derby before and the deal included Afternoon Tea and tickets to Chatsworth House.
On arrival we found the car park spacious and in the hotel the public areas are well decorated and pleasant. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, despite having a terminal problem and having only one monitor working.
We had Afternoon Tea before checking in and found it excellent.
The room 142 was clean and tidy although very hot even with the window open and the provided fan blowing.
There was lots of pieces of furniture but the drawers and cupboards were false fronted which meant there were only 2 small drawers and a sliding wardrobe to store your things.
But in general the room was nice/ok.
Not the quietest room we have ever stayed in, having to have the window open it highlighted the fact we were above what I assume were the kitchens and there were fans and generators buzzing constantly.
Monday morning was noisy with skip removals and deliveries starting at 5 am.
We would stay again if we are even in Derby again but may request a quieter room.
Big plus is the Chatsworth House tickets which we enjoyed very much.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WendyH332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    402
    205
    106
    44
See reviews for
121
507
61
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was a quick find with only booking a week in advance for Valentines day 2014.
We were extremely please on entering the hotel, the décor is modern and extremely elegantly designed. Arrived into the room welcomed by an arrangement of pretty roses and yummy chocolate dipped strawberries, the room was a little dated, but in no way out of place. Could just probably do with a little more TLC as I noticed a door handle missing from the TV cupboard door, in need of a refreshing up.
A romantic candle lit meal with a great choice from a set menu selection of starter, main and dessert. Also including a refreshing glass of champagne each, a rose for myself. The bar was open and spacious with attentive staff and plenty of drinks selection with also the option to take up to the room.

Breakfast was also included with a huge continental section, and also the late checkout was the added bonus.

I would just recommend that if using the parking facility, make sure you keep your eyes peeled as it is not well sign posted and we ended up parking across the street in their sister's hotel car park. Which was only a short distance across the road, it was just the hassle of having to register our vehicle at both reception desks.

I would highly recommend this hotel, good location, great value for money. If in the area again we will definitely consider staying here for a second time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I recently attended a Murder Mystery evening at the Hallmark Hotel in Derby. The hotel was well decorated and fitted with the opulent 1920s theme of the evening. What's more, when I rang the following day to enquire about a missing cuff-link, the staff were very helpful. The item was found and swiftly posted to my home address. Many thanks, Hallmark :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sukhy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks so much for a great review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your murder mystery dinner and we were able to locate and reunite you with your cufflink!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A landmark hotel opposite Derby railway station and next to a bus station.

Said to be the world's oldest railway hotel, the building is an impressive site on arrival, adjacent to the war memorial and has large gardens and on site car parking.

The busy bar is well stocked and the restaurant has a menu with limited options, but very well chosen. The food is high quality, served quickly by the friendly staff.

Large rooms are well appointed although the toiletries are more akin to a budget hotel to one of this status.

If staying there for a while, you may wish to sample the various Asian and other restaurants that are on the hotel's doorstep.

A suitable base for business or leisure travel, I enjoyed my stay at Hallmark Hotel in Derby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbaggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed one night in single room, second floor, overlooking the train station. Had a great night's sleep - comfy bed, large pleasant room, a little warm but there was a fan provided if I'd needed it, clean modern bathroom and absolutely no complaints. Staff were friendly and welcoming and I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I read other reviews and requested a room on the upper floor. It was a great choice, nice and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi28May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked this hotel some weeks ago as it was a ' special deal' We have previously stayed at The Hallmark Inn twice before and have been very happy with the service and facilities. When we saw the Hallmark Hotel on offer at a similar price we thought we would try it (expecting that with four stars it would be even better) We were to be very disappointed!... Upon checking in, we were asked if we wanted breakfast in the morning. When we said we would, we were asked to pay for it up front which we did (though were surprised as this is not typical of hotels of this sort) Having paid for breakfast we went up to our room finding it very hot and stuffy as well as rather dingy. However we opened both windows and that seemed to cool things down a little. The bed was large and comfortable (though the pillows were too hard).....however by morning we both agreed that we would stay here again provided we got an equally good deal. When we went down for breakfast however things went rapidly downhill...the waiter that greeted us at the entrance to the dining room informed us that we had paid for "room only" and that if we wanted breakfast we would have to pay for it!!! We were furious as we had been surprised to have been asked to pay up front anyway! When the waiter went over to reception to ask if we had paid and then asked us to go over to be identified by the receptionist that was the last straw and at that point we asked to have our money back for the breakfast so that we could go and have breakfast elsewhere. The receptionist gave us our money back but offered no apology just saying "That's perfectly fine!"
We have stayed at all sorts of hotels all over the UK and have had mostly good experiences but we were disgusted by the attitude of your staff here and will certainly not be looking to stay here again.
We had a very nice breakfast at a small cafe just round the corner from the hotel (for the information of anyone who finds themselves in the same position)
We are not people to complain (this is my first bad review on Tripadvisor) but felt we ought to warn others.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room which it certainly was (if not much of a view!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a girls weekend, it's a stones throw from the train station and a 5 minute taxi ride into the city centre . The hotel itself is really charming and still has an essence of the Victorian era to it with high ceilings big sash windows and the odd squeaky floorboard. The rooms are clean, well equipped and beds are the best I've ever slept in so I had a great nights sleep. The only thing missing was air conditoning as the room did get really warm especially when using the shower, you are however provided with a fan which offered some light relief. We arrived at 11 and although check in was at 2 reception quickly checked us into our room so we didn't have to drag cases around whilst shopping. I'd absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a weekend away or to stay on business as the free Wifi is great. Staff were friendly and polite and we'll stay here again should we come back to derby.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#22 of 29 in Derby
409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland

Property: Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland is located in the heart of Derby City Centre, next to the railway station. The hotel has 102 great bedrooms including family bedrooms, all equipped with free WiFi. Why not enjoy our delicious food in our brasserie or sit back and relax in our lounge and bar. The hotel has lots of great facilities including nine meeting rooms with capacity for up to 200 delegates, a stylish wedding venue for up to 200 guests and plenty of car parking. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derby
Derby Best Western
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing