We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant value”
Review of Aston Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Court Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant value”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Great value as stayed on Wowcher deal. As others have said decoration is a little tired and needs to be freshened up but not too bad really. In room 212 on 1st floor so not only do we overlook the road we also overlook a pedestrian crossing so very noisy with window open.
Breakfast was good although no eggs or mushrooms when I got mine, sure it would have been rectified if I'd have mentioned it but has enough without.
Reception staff gave been great and would happily stay again if visiting Derby as it is in a great position.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, I am happy to read that you would return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    189
    84
    20
    9
See reviews for
43
188
36
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We really enjoyed out 2 night Wowcher deal at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Room 101 was clean and comfortable. We had a meal in the hotel on our first night which was excellent and so was the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayneW61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
What a great short but positive review, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Leonards on sea
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is quite adequate. It is clean,comfortable and not too expensive although breakfast at an extra £9.25 is a little steep. Our room was very hot and air con would lift the appeal greatly. All in all ok but nothing to get excited about.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I am sorry to read that you found the hotel to be a little warm, unfortunately it is not a small job to install Air Conditioning in such an old building, however we do provide fans if requested at the reception desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we really enjoyed our 2 night Groupon stay at this hotel. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Room 310 is very nice, very clean and comfortable. Small bathroom, with shower over bath, but shower very powerful and plenty of hot water. Nice very soft white towels provided, extremely clean.

Breakfast was excellent, sets you up for the day. Plenty of choice, Individual boxed cereals, fresh fruit salad, grapefruit, prunes, strawberries, etc, yoghurt and a fruit bowl to help yourself. Full English to help yourself to and they will make boiled eggs and scrambled eggs to order. Croissants and rolls and plenty of bread for toast.

Hotel is located opposite the station so in a very good position, just a 7 minute walk to the new shopping complex. Hotel has secure free parking and is very easy to fin.

Room Tip: Room 310 was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skier54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I am pleased you found the deal to be of good value and that you had such a lovely time at the hotel. I do hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had a two night stay on a Groupon deal, on arrival the reception staff were friendly and helpful, letting us use the free car park even though we were too early to check in. Yes the room was a bit tired (209) but it was clean and spacious for two and that was what was really important. I slept quite well, but my partner found the bed a little hard for comfort. Breakfast was good, with a range of fruits available, toast croissants etc and of course the full english (bacon, sausage, tomato, mushroom, egg, beans) all well cooked (althougyh as has been said before the bacon could be a bit hard due to standing on a hot plate, whilst the eggs in contrast were a little cold).

The hotel is ideally placed if you arrive by train, being just over the road. It's about a 15 minute walk to the start of the shopping area of Derby (M&S etc) so it's a good base and the free car park is a real plus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny_Bravo_987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I am glad to read you had a good stay with us and am sorry to read the comment regarding the Bacon & Eggs, this has been discussed with the kitchen staff for future reference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night after attending a convention. Thought it was great, the room was spotless, comfortable and quiet. The reception service was great and the bar staff worked so hard. Would definitely recommend staying here if visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saraj68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just returned from 3 nights at hotel,we had 47 people staying and from the 1st meeting with Emma,she and all the staff were excellent very professional other hotels need to send their staff there for customer service training. I will not make a special mention to any staff they were all great nothing too much trouble. Food was outstanding and all our party agreed.Highly recommend the function room and disco Love the dance moves Matthew a big thank you to the bar staff hoped you enjoyed the late singing. One more point yes some rooms are tired but the refurbished rooms were of a very high standard exceptionally clean Once again thanks you to Aston Court for making our annual tournament such a pleasant one wish we could use Derby every year

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you Jess, I heard from all the staff involved what a lovely time you and your group had however it is always even better to read/hear it for myself from the organiser. It was a pleasure to accommodate your group and just a shame this annual event as come to an end. I look forward to hopefully seeing a few of your familiar faces in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#22 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Court Hotel

Property: Aston Court Hotel
Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Derby, the modern Smart Aston Court Hotel has every amenity for guests, whether for leisure, business or a celebration. We are conveniently located with the Westfield Shopping Centre and Derby Railway Station a brief walk away; local attractions include Alton Towers, Chatsworth House and Royal Crown Derby. Guests will enjoy our smart contemporary rooms with en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and LCD TVs with Free-view, and can relax in the extensive lounge before enjoying a meal in our onsite restaurant. If you are planning a wedding then look no further than the Smart Aston Court Hotel – we can help you with every aspect of your celebration. Unlike many venues, your can simply hire a function room at the Smart Aston Court Hotel and organise the catering yourselves, or you can let us look after you on your special day. We believe our business facilities are among the best in the Derby area with conference and meeting rooms catering from five to 150 people. Naturally we can provide all the services and equipment that a modern business needs for a successful event. The Smart Aston Court Hotel is also the perfect venue to celebrate a birthday, anniversary, Christmas or other special event. Whether you are in Derby for a relaxing weekend, looking for the perfect setting for a celebration or after a modern and efficient venue for a business meeting get in touch with us at the Smart Aston Court Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Aston
Aston Derby
Aston Court Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing