We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston Court Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
175
203
96
28
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
203
96
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcity centrecar parktwo nightsdouble roomthe ground floornight porterderby stationgood sizepowerful showerbirthday partyroom was clean and comfortablehash brownslounge areaafternoon teaspecial thanksfull english breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here on a Groupon Deal and it was fantastic. Afternoon tea and breakfast was really good. Our room was lovely and cosy. Great location to walk to the shops and the park with the river running through it. Free car park too. We had a really lovely weekend, thanks very much.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank traceytag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you so much, I am really glad you found the deal to be of good value and that you had such a pleasant stay with us. We all hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a 2 night stay and for the free tea on arrival I asked if they had glutton free bread and Emma said no but we will get you some which they did. I thought this was brilliant as I've asked previously to be told no. Tony went to get the bread. The breakfast was very good and bacon really tasty. We ate out as the town center is 10 minutes walk away and we went shopping. We wanted to do a walk from the hotel and staff told us the best way to get where we needed to be, they were all very friendly indeed. Yes the hotel does need some TLC but come on for the price it's amazing. Would certainly stay here again. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eunice38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

What pleasant feedback to read, thank you. We do try to help wherever possible when guests have certain dietary requirements. Emma will be very pleased to have been mentioned in your comments, I have worked with her for many years and she enjoys interacting with the customers and having a good chat, ensuring they are looked after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A budget hotel situated very close to the railway station amongst other hotels. This was a 2 night amazon voucher very reasonably priced and included high tea on arrival or the choice of a glass of wine. It has a 3 star AA rosette but I think this is a little generous. It has the benefit of its own car park at the rear but from the rear the hotel itself looking a little jaded and need of TLC. The ground floor including reception is bright and welcoming and the staff very friendly and helpful. After a minor hiccup over rooms we changed to room 205 which faces to the rear and is much quieter than those that face the front over a busy road. Although on the small side the room has all the essentials and the bathrooms have been refurbed recently. The double bed was clean and comfortable.The buffet breakfast was well presented and was as good as any. It's only a 10 minute walk into town and there are plenty of pubs, Indian, Chinese and Mexican restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms that face to the rear are quieter than those that face either the front or the side.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bobbyboyat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback I am glad after your little hiccup you did enjoy your stay overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A good experience in terms of the staff and the trouble taken to make guests feel comfortable. The hotel itself is a little dated and the room was very cramped but they are really trying! Food at breakfast good and the hotel itself was comfortably furnished. Nice little garden which is helpful for smokers! Cannot say enough about the helpfulness and warmth of the staff.
A good place to stay to get to the city centre. Choose 'Parksafe' to park in the city - absolutely brilliantly safe car park in the cathedral area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your comments it is really appreciated, I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is in the centre and very near the station making it great as a central base for touring the area. Our visit was a stopover that we extended to 2 nights having bought a Amazon Local voucher on the cheap.
The hotel is a 3 star but not a bad one, there are good reception, lounge and bar areas which is often lacking in hotels of this grade. The staff were brilliantly helpful and chatty without being intensive. The room was small but a nice big bed was compensatory. There is free parking as well so it tiked all the boxes for what we wanted at that time.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back to avoid road noise.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, it is a pleasure to read. I am glad you found it ticked all the boxes for your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews