We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it used to be.”

The Blue Peter Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery
Ranked #335 of 581 Restaurants in Derby
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what it used to be.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Used to love the food portions and quality but since the new manager has come in to make the place better it's gone down hill, less meat for the same price and the place is looking dated, not very clean or looked after and the staff don't seem to be bothered about what's going on I.e we whiteness a kid licking chocolate sauce out the bottle on the help your self stand for ice cream then put it back, overall it was pretty shocking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhyssmith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    21
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derby
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“gone down hill since lady manager”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

me and my other half eat here every Sunday without a doubt since 3 weeks ago the meals we're big cheap and very tasty. ever since seeing this blonde manager and how she watches over the staff you get a 1 piece of meat or 2 if your lucky and dry vegetables. feel sorry for the staff. won't be coming here again! take note people!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rebzticklex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not happy”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Took my partner out a few weeks ago and was disappointed. They had no stuffing, the chefs uniform was dirty, the Yorkshire came out ten minutes after the meal, the beef looked raw and the turkey looked burnt. They also had a few empty pots of veg. Such an embarrassment and the staff should be ashamed unlike the bar lady who was on show playing on her mobile!!! Needs sorting out before I step foot in that place again!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good spread.”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I recently attending the wake of an old friends brother at The Blue Peter and I can only praise the new landlady for the delicious food she provided in the form of a buffet. There was everything you could wish for provided and all of it was presented very well. I can't comment on the carvery at this time as I haven't eaten there for quite a while but I think the new landlady will make sure it's all good..

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackieDerby_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year's Eve”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Went to the New Year's Eve party, when we got there they were quite a lot of people. There was a buffet which was included in the admission fee,the buffet haven't been catered for the amount of people that was there,so we got no food,and some of the customers were piling their plates with food that it was dropping off the plate as they were walking across the floor with it.There were kids running and rolling all over the floor and did this until the end of the night which was 1 o'clock in the morning. In the ladies toilets there was urine on the floor in both toilets and was left there all night, also the toilet seat was handing off. Just before midnight the bar staff came from behind the bar to bring the new year in, they reopen the bar about 15 minutes later by then there was a good queue of people waiting to buy drinks, there were four members of staff behind the bar what only two was serving, I noticed there was a few people that was jumping to the front of the queue, but then realised that they were friends of the manager whom she gave priority to and some of the people that was in the queue wasn't happy about it,but how the saying goes not what you know it's who you know

  • Visited December 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margoEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Peter Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery also viewed

Alvaston, Derby
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
Derbyshire, England
 

Been to The Blue Peter Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing