We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find”
Review of Bean Caffe

Bean Caffe
Ranked #90 of 645 Restaurants in Derby
Price range: US$4 - US$8
Cuisines: British, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Creative. Award Winning. Fresh. Friendly. Local. Freshly Baked. Wifi. Cakes. Coffee. Tea. Breakfast. Lunch. Brunch. Opened in 2010 this is a large airy space where you can relax, reflect and rejuvenate. Tucked away at the back of Friar Gate Studios with a 'where on earth is it' style illusiveness, we are here to serve those in the know. The coffee is great and the service is smiley! Our ideal is to create a real feeling of community spirit, a focal point for Derby business folk and local creative's, a place to feel relaxed and a place you'll want to come back to whatever the time of day. We are open for breakfast, lunch and brunch to knock your socks off.
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch yesterday, the goat cheese tartlet was wonderful, kids loved it... My husband had the fish finger sandwich, clean and friendly and excellent food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sharon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Owner at Bean Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are welcoming when you do find us and we love to see new faces here. And our best welcome is always a homemade lunch! You had my favourite....goats cheese tart, freshly baked.......and everyone enjoys a fish finger buttie! Thank you for review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I don't know how this place wasn't busier! It's really clean and nicely decorated with very friendly staff who look after you well. We went for brunch and I had Derbyshire pyclets with eggs and bacon. I'd recommend going for the more unusual and local stuff on the menu like I did - eggs benedict is great but there's only so much it can differ from other places. The coffee was really nice too and the outside terrace was good in the sunshine.

Overall probably the best brunch in Derby and I'd definitely return.

1  Thank JodieCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Owner at Bean Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Hello and thank you for your review, it's so great when customers take time to post a us lovely comments in today's busy world! So pleased you found us....we are most definitely tucked away, but we are here for those in the know! Share us with your friends and family! Brunch is a busy but relaxed affair in the cafe, menu to suit all tastes we hope! With the summer the way it is at the moment the garden is every ones favourite spot! It's so quiet and sheltered.....a tiny oasis in the city centre!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

They just about manage to overcome the nasty corporate catering furniture. But brunch wasn't good. Great to see oatcakes on the menu. But mine didn't come with the cheese as described on the menu but with poached eggs. Hard poached eggs. Hard!!! My berry smoothie was blended with ice and slushy. So, not really a smoothie. And coffee not good.

1  Thank LGaryThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Owner at Bean Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are an independent cafe tucked away in Friar Gate Studios. Three years ago we started a new business in a sad and rather empty building. We had very little money to spend but with sheer determination, lots of passion and plenty of very hard work we have grown our business & our reputation and breathed life and built a community in the heart of Friar Gate. We deliver locally sourced fresh food without additives, made mostly here in our little kitchen. Our coffee is Fairtrade and triple certified and very popular with regulars, so much so in all this time we have never dared to change our beans! Sorry you didn't like the coffee or the tables & chairs. We had to stick with the furniture that was here when we opened, but we are ready for a revamp now we agree. It takes time to build a business and we try so hard to ensure we deliver service with a smile and a chat & love to make customers feel welcome and happy with the food we serve,so they return time after time. Normally they do!! I remember serving you the day you came in and talking to you. I explained it was my fault you had the incorrect topping on your Derbyshire Oatcakes, which you said was fine, not a problem. Its a shame really you didn't express your upset at the time. Please come and see us again once we have have had a face lift and try our brunch, we would like to think we would could change your mind about our cafe! Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Fab coffee, fab service always with a smile. Great food. Careful of the 'healthy' flapjack, it's addictive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Manager at Bean Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

The healthy flapjack is a firm favourite with most of our customers....it must be the secret ingredient we add. It makes us happy to hear that you think we are doing a great job, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It is always a splendid start to the day to walk into the café and be served with a smile. Very rarely, if ever, have I had a bad experience in the café. Be it breakfast, lunch or diner there is no disputing the freshness and the quality of the food served here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Manager at Bean Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We appreciate your review, and we are glad that we set you up for your day. It is always a pleasure having people become such regular customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bean Caffe also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Bean Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing