We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed here twice in the last two months and both times have enjoyed our stay. Staff very helpful and nothing too much trouble. Close to the centre of Derby and you can walk in if you fancy the exercise. Breakfast the standard continental with the hot option of sausage and scrambled eggs, but plenty of everything to choose from. We will visit again when we next visit Derby.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westmorland2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Pride Park.

It is pleasing to see you have scored us so highly on value. We feel that we offer great value for money, particularly when booking on our Advance Saver Rate, where you can pick up some extremely good deals.

I also notice your title on the service received, over recent months we have noticed the positive feedback on the service we provide, and we hope to continue to provide such high levels.

We will hopefully be welcoming you back very soon

Kind regards,

Angela Nicholls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    212
    68
    15
    7
See reviews for
156
140
25
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed one night at this Holiday Inn Express. Good location after a few hours driving with a number of different restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast was up to the usual high standard. Staff helpful and attentive. The only downside was, as a Platinum member, being allocated a disabled room. This would have prevented someone more deserving being able to use this room. That said would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: From previous reports of noise you could ask for a room facing away from the retail park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fhil520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Pride Park.

Our Express Start Breakfast is something that we offer all guests complimentary, and I was glad to see you took advantage of this, its also pleasing that you enjoyed a good start to your morning.

With regards to the Accessible room that you were allocated, we try on a daily basis to ensure all guests who request a double room are assigned one, on this occasion it appears that we had accessible rooms that were not in use, so to ensure you were given a double bed we assigned this room to you. If this was in any way an inconvenience I would like to offer my apologies.

It was pleasing to see that you would use us again, which is always important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Angela Nicholls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Generally okay, stopped for one night whilst having work done at home.
Rooms are clean. Bed was super comfy and the quilt lovely and warm!!
A shame that they don't serve food or have a restaurant but I ordered take out food so it wasn't much of a big deal.

Staff were nice and friendly.

There are plates and cutlery at reception etc which was good, although when I asked if some could be brought to my room they said no and that I had to come down for it? Bit annoying since I had to get redressed out of my pj's, but oh well!!

The shower was a nightmare however and took about 20 minutes to sort out the temperature!! It also didn't drain at all and I had to stop mid-shampoo and sit for about 20 minutes and then get back in once it had gone down a little, as I didn't want to flood the floor! The bathroom is TINY and seriously needs some form of updating!!! And none of the rooms have baths apparently, after I called to reception!

Overall, not bad. Would probably try other hotels next time, but on a tight budget it was okay.

Room Tip: Collect cutlery/plates etc when you're dressed, saves having to change!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at the hotel.

It is lovely to read that your found our beds and duvets to be really comfy, we do all that we can to ensure that our guests have a great night's sleep every time they stay at a Holiday Inn Express.

I have noted your comments in relation to the water temperature and the shower drainage issue during your stay with us and this has now been investigated & rectified by the hotel maintenance team.

I do hope that this didn't affect your stay with us too much and note that have still scored the hotel highly in most areas. I do hope that you will choose Holiday Inn Express the next time that you visit Derby.

Kind Regards,

Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This hotel is well located if you are going to an office or business in the Pride Park area. It was near a Chiquitos mexican and there was a pub and a few other restaurants within walking distance.
The hotel is pretty basic but clean and would be fine for a few nights. Room was clean and functional but bed was a bit hard.
The hotel bar is open until 12 most nights and has a limited selection.
Breakfast is express and serve yourself but scrambled eggs were edibile. Don't be late down as 930 eveything is taken away whether eaten or not.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenwjwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Pride Park.

I am glad to see you have noticed the nearby restaurants. We have three restaurants all within a two minute walk from the hotel doorstep, which we try to encourage out guests to make use of.

I do apologise if you found the bed to be a little hard, on a regular basis we assess the beds to ensure they offer guests the best sleep quality possible.

It was pleasing to see you scored us highly for our cleanliness, we have a housekeeping team who work very hard to keep the main areas and bedrooms as clean as possible.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future,

Kind regards,

Angela Nicholls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel is conveniently located by car or taxi, although it's not walking distance from Derby centre. The room was quite basic in terms of the furniture, and the lighting was a bit dingy, but it was fit for purpose and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning/heating unit was easy to control. The ground floor room I was in also had a full disabled-access bathroom. The hotel provides free wi-fi, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The breakfast in the morning left a bit to be desired - all the buffet items were a bit congealed and sad-looking, but then it was almost the end of the breakfast period at the time.
All in all, a good value overnight stay, but I've stayed in better budget hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickylp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Pride Park.

I am pleased to see that you scored us highly for our service, this is something we put great emphasis on, so to see people commenting on this is extremely pleasing.

With regard to breakfast, we do always try to replenish breakfast at regular times, there are occasions when this can be a struggle, such as extremely busy periods. I apologise if at the time of collecting your breakfast you found it to not be fresh.

On a positive note, I was pleased to see you took advantage of our free WIFI.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Kind regards,

Angela Nicholls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Location is in an easy to find area with secure free parking and restaurants in easy reach.room was clean and good choice at breakfast.staff where friendly and made welcome by Sue H when checking in. Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Location is in an easy to find area with secure, free parking and restaurants in easy reach.

Room was clean and comfortable and breakfast plentiful and of okay quality (the eggs left a bit to be desired).

I'd happily stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Derby Pride Park
4.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
1,589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park

Property: Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Address: Wheelwright Way | Pride Park, Derby DE24 8SQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park hotel for a peaceful location 10 minutes' walk from Derby town centre. Our modern hotel in Derby is located within the Pride Park business and retail complex, just 10 minutes' walk from Derby train station and a short drive from the A1. Friendly staff and a convenient location mean guests return to Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park again and again. We're a good-value choice too, with free parking, complimentary continental breakfast with hot items and free Wi-Fi access throughout. Plus all of our bedrooms have recently been refurbished and feature a cool new look, we've added irons, ironing boards, better hairdryers and much more! There's space for up to 25 people at events in Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park's meeting room and wireless Internet throughout the hotel means you can catch up on email anytime. Direct trains speed you from nearby Derby station to Birmingham and central London and we're within easy reach of Rolls Royce's factories and offices. It's 29 miles to the stately grandeur and landscaped riverside gardens of Chatsworth House, while the thrilling rides in Alton Towers theme park are just 26 miles away. Pass through picturesque Matlock Bath en route to the dramatic moors of the Peak District, an hour's drive from the hotel. Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park's stylish Lobby bar is decorated in bold red and black and lined with leather sofas. There's a selection of restaurants within the Pride Park complex and you can ask our helpful Front Desk staff for dining recommendations in Derby town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park Hotel Derby
Holiday Inn Derby
Derby Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing