We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed upon arrival”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dissapointed upon arrival”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our first impressions were good, a clean and tidy reception area and no trouble checking in, We had booked a room with sofa and were allocated room 128, The room was freezing cold when we arrived and we could not get the heating to work, the toilet seat was broken and the bins were full and had obviously not emptied, upon further inspection the tiles on the fllor in the toilet are were badly discoloured. I reported these facts to reception and were told it would be fixed or we would be moved. We sat for approx 10 mins and eventually Scott arrived with a floor heater. He apologised for the bin and the broken seat, he said he would not be able to repair it but would 'do his best'. I asked if it would be better if we moved rooms but was told there were no rooms available as he hotel was full. Eventually we got the room warmed up and Scott did a temporary repair on the toilet seat and emptied the bin. We were sent a bottle of wine for our inconvenience, I would have preferred a reduction in the bill. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable but on the positive side a quiet night if the hotel was fully booked. The hotel was close to all local attractions and the town centre. Breakfast was veru busy and the staff were finding it difficult to keep up with demand for the hot food, hence long ques forming. All together an average stay with good attention from Scott but poor standards in the room and poor recompense for our discomfort.

Room Tip: Room 128 was at then of the corridor so very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Bromley, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Pride Park.

I notice you have scored us 5* for our location, which we feel is perfect for the football, town, or nice restaurants which are just the other side of the train station.

I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered in your room during your stay. It is important for us to deal with any issues at the time of them arising, and as a team we strive to do everything in our power to resolve these. Whilst we may have felt at the time this had been dealt with, clearly this did not meet your satisfaction, and for us, this is paramount. Moving forwards we will be looking to ensure this issues don't arise again, and we will of course talk with our housekeeping and maintenance team to ensure all issues are dealt with.

I am pleased to see that during a busy night, you had a good nights sleep, this of course is very important when staying at any hotel.

Kind regards,

Sean Bromley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    209
    65
    15
    7
See reviews for
153
135
24
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

On first impressions reception was clean and fresh, rooms very clean but the beds were only double and not very comfortable, pillows were good though. Travelling with a one year old a cot was provided but disappointed that there was no bath in our room, if we were travelling without baby this wouldn't of been an issue. Heating/air conditioning is great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very basic, if you like a full English in the morning you might want to find a local cafe, sausage and scrambled egg is all your going to get from here. Considering the price we paid for our stay you can't really expect much more, most hotels are charging an extra £10pp for breakfast. The hotel is in a great location with a few restaurants/pubs within walking distance. Town centre minutes away as well as a large retail park just up the road. Overall was good value for money suppose you get what you pay for, would probably prefer to pay a little bit extra to get a better breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Pride Park.

I am pleased to see you found the staff helpful and friendly, this can sometimes be the difference between a good stay and a bad stay.

I am sorry that we have not met your expectations when it comes to breakfast, whilst we don't offer a full English breakfast, we do offer sausage, egg and beans and a large selection of cereals, croissants and yogurts.

I did notice you scored is 5* for our cleanliness, which is something we are extremely pleased with, and something we will continue to keep at a high standard.

Kind regards,

Angela Nicholls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night when out with friends in town, never been to a holiday inn express before and was pleasantly surprised. Easy check in with polite staff, nice room with good heating and a window you can partially open for fresh air. Pillows were a bit hard but the bed was lovely but bit small. Free continental breakfast but loads more options than the name implies, sausages, eggs, beans, toast, cereals, meats etc...... Very good indeed. Would stay again

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lesstatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Pride Park.

I notice you are a first time stay, which makes it even more pleasing that you would use us again. Our aim is to ensure people want to return to the hotel.

In regards to the pillows, we try to ensure there are two firm and two soft pillows in each room. It seems on this occasion we may not have managed this, so please accept my apologies for that.

I was pleased to see you took advantage of our complimentary express start breakfast, which we find to be popular with a large number of our guests.

Kind regards,

Angela Nicholls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I have just returned from another weekend at this hotel our third visit in three months We cant speak highly enough of the staff who are always so keen to help. Thanks to Sue on reception for her friendly smile nothing is ever too much trouble for her .We also enjoyed the free breakfast no shortage of food .Hope to return in the summer.
I. Stewart Kilmarnock.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on business and all round had a good stay, easy to get to on sat nav and although there was a match on at pride park it did not cause any issues at the hotel with overcrowding etc etc. my only niggle was that at breakfast I tried to find the marmite to be told they don't have it?? This must be the first Holiday inn I have ever stayed at that does not serve it, also I notice that some people was given discounts and the local restaurant? I was not. Apart from these tiny points, a great stay and I will return

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rossandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Pride Park.

I am pleased to see you found us easy to locate, given we are close to the A52, a 5 minute drive to the city centre and just a two minute walk to the train station, we feel our location is perfect for all guests.

I was sorry to hear you couldn't have any Marmite with your breakfast, at present we don't stock Marmite, however, given the feedback received from yourself this is something we will be reviewing, and in future should there be a demand, we may look to stock this.

Its nice to see that other than the lack of Marmite your stay was very good. We always try to ensure a guest has the best possible stay at the Holiday Inn Express Pride Park.

Kind regards,

Angela Nicholls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

we stayed 1 night it was clean and the staff were very helpful. my carer even had an joining room.
breakfast was a self services continental would have preferred a full cooked breakfast but just sausage ad scrambled egg,
free wi fi is always a plus

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarie209952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night to do a bit of shopping at westfield. The staff were excellent they could not do enough for you especially Gavin on the desk who booked us in early ,gave us discount for the Mexican across the road chiquito which is highly recommended ,and showed us the quick way to the shopping centre about 10 mins if you go through the train station all in all fab stay ,spotlessly clean and great breakfast will stay again

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sime1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,720 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
4.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Derby Pride Park
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park

Property: Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Address: Wheelwright Way | Pride Park, Derby DE24 8SQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park hotel for a peaceful location 10 minutes' walk from Derby town centre. Our modern hotel in Derby is located within the Pride Park business and retail complex, just 10 minutes' walk from Derby train station and a short drive from the A1. Friendly staff and a convenient location mean guests return to Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park again and again. We're a good-value choice too, with free parking, complimentary continental breakfast with hot items and free Wi-Fi access throughout. Plus all of our bedrooms have recently been refurbished and feature a cool new look, we've added irons, ironing boards, better hairdryers and much more! There's space for up to 25 people at events in Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park's meeting room and wireless Internet throughout the hotel means you can catch up on email anytime. Direct trains speed you from nearby Derby station to Birmingham and central London and we're within easy reach of Rolls Royce's factories and offices. It's 29 miles to the stately grandeur and landscaped riverside gardens of Chatsworth House, while the thrilling rides in Alton Towers theme park are just 26 miles away. Pass through picturesque Matlock Bath en route to the dramatic moors of the Peak District, an hour's drive from the hotel. Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park's stylish Lobby bar is decorated in bold red and black and lined with leather sofas. There's a selection of restaurants within the Pride Park complex and you can ask our helpful Front Desk staff for dining recommendations in Derby town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park Hotel Derby
Holiday Inn Derby
Derby Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing