We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for families, poor bathroom” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good value for families, poor bathroom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The brief summary is:

Pros:
- Plenty of free parking & location;
- Large bedrooms;
- Reasonably priced (great value for a family with children).

Cons:
- Breakfast service;
- Bad shower temperature;
- Hairs on floor of bathroom!

Expanding on the pros first.

Location
The hotel is located close to Derby train station and there is plenty of free parking exclusively for hotel guests. There are also a few restaurants nearby (e.g. there is a Chiquito across the road where you get 20% off if you show your keycard).

Bedrooms
The rooms are generously sized. We had a double bed and sofa bed, which would be enough for a couple and two small children. TV had all the freeview channels and there was no noise coming from outside (either because the windows were thick or we were just in a quiet area)!

Value
This 3* hotel is priced similarly to nearby hotels and the 4* Holiday Inn. However, I think it represents good value as you have to factor in that breakfast (for all guests) and parking is included here, which can amount to a significant saving.

Now onto the bad points.

Breakfast
The designated breakfast seating area was packed when we turned up so we had to sit in the bar area (which actually had the nicest seats)! However, breakfast is served as a buffet in a little room off to the side and is far too cramped for weekend capacity. Food quickly runs out and the hot food is put in containers that are really difficult to push all the way open unless you're really tall - I struggled and I'm 5'10''! There were baked beans all over the counter and I was a little surprised no eggs were served. I thought the traditional HIE hot items were sausages, beans and eggs? I supposed 2 out of 3 isn't bad.

Bathroom
This was disappointing on two fronts. Firstly the shower ran unpredictably hot and cold. I'm not sure if we were unlucky with the time we were showing (8am) but we tried tweaking with the power and temperature but things didn't improve. However, the biggest drawback was the cleanliness of the bathroom. When we first went in, we noticed there were quite a few 'hairs' on the floor around the toilet! YUCK! For me one of the most important things in a hotel is a clean, hygienic bathroom.

All in all, an average stay. I've certainly stayed in significantly better Holiday Inn Express hotels. From a value point of view though, I don't think you can get much better than this hotel around Derby, particularly if you were travelling as a family with kids (since breakfast is included for all guests).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pandaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Bromley, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Pride Park.

It is disappointing to see that you had issues with the cleanliness in the bathroom during your stay. Cleanliness plays a huge part in our focus as a hotel, we take great pride in usually scoring very highly on this, so please accept my sincere apologies that during your stay we fell short of the usually high standards we set.

I was pleased to read that you found us good value for money, we feel that we are competitively priced, particularly when booked in advance, where our rates can sometimes be as much as 50% cheaper.

Hopefully in the future you will afford us the opportunity to show you that we are much better than your experience this time around.

Kind regards,

Sean Bromley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    199
    64
    14
    7
See reviews for
149
126
24
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
406 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I didn't stay this time but called in as I couldn't my way back to EM airport .
Top marks to the guy on reception
He printed off google map directions for me
Thanks again buddy!!
Ur an asset to this hotel.
If I'm back in this area I will definitely stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dgosul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Bromley, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Pride Park.

It is particularly pleasing that even when guests don't stay with us they have such a pleasant experience. We find it important that guests (weather staying or not) receive a warm and courteous welcome, and are offered the best service possible.

I will be sure to pass on your comments to the relevant member of staff.

Kind regards,

Sean Bromley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a trip using 3 holiday inn express. This was definitely our favourite. It was the smallest room out of the 3 but the friendliness and welcome from the staff just made it. We had quite a bad journey there so smiling faces at reception with the kind of welcome you would get if you were staying with relatives was perfect. Also it has a good location with harvester and a Mexican restaurant just over the road. (20% off the restaurant for hotel guests and really yummy)
You are able to bring take-away and fast food (there is burger king and kfc 2 minutes in the car away)to the hotel and eat it in the breakfast area which was handy as we got back from alton towers late and the kids were too tired for a restaurant.
Breakfast was good, load to choose.
Next time we go to alton towers I won't even be shopping around for the best price I will just book here. It is a 40 minute drive but that saves us 40 minutes on the journey there and back home and is more than manageable either side of the alton towers trip (after all you wait longer than that for the rides lol)
Home from home feeling.
Also a big thank you to Susan for tracking down my sons comfy toy that we had left in another hotel. We picked it up on our way back and it is now safe and sound.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10veh01idays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Bromley, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Pride Park.

Such great feedback always pleases us, and shows us that we are making great strides in our effort
to provide guests with the perfect stay.

I am pleased to see that you were impressed with the location, been far enough away from town to miss any noise, but close enough should you want a short walk is something that a number of guests appreciate. Coupled with the fact that guests don't have to travel far for food, we find people are often extremely satisfied with the location.

I am also happy that you took advantage of our complimentary express start breakfast. We find that offering the three hot items of sausage, egg, and beans on top of the continental breakfast is extremely popular with our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Sean Bromley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights 20/21 Aug 14 lovely hotel family rooms are small but perfectly workable. The lift was out of action which was a real pain lugging cases up and down stairs. Also check your bill we were early charged with an £8 bar bill which wasn't ours!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Bromley, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Pride Park.

I am pleased to see you scored us so highly for our cleanliness, with such great focus going in to this from the team, it is pleasing to see our guests are noticing how clean the hotel is.

I was sorry to read about the lift been out of order, it would seem that on this particular day we were waiting for some maintenance work to be done, so please accept my sincere apologies that this impacted on your stay.

On a more pleasing note, I was pleased to see you scored us 5 stars for our service, put simply, the service we provide is paramount to a guest been able to enjoy there stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Sean Bromley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Went to stay on 19th august after a long day from Alton towers... Staff was very friendly, rooms was superb no complains... Breakfast was great with all hot items every thing fresh... Had great time staying in Holiday inn derby...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakeela19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express over 2 nights, with my 2 teenage boys, to attend a football match at Pride Park. The hotel is a short 5 minute walk from the stadium and is also a short 5 minute walk from Derby Railway Station and 10 minutes from the Town Centre. There are a number of restaurants within a minute of the hotel.
On arrival we were checked in without delay and the staff were friendly. Our room was on the second floor which can be accessed by lift or stairs and we found it to be clean and tidy and the pull out double bed was already made up for our arrival.
During our stay the staff were friendly and very helpful and attended to our every need. Having 2 teenagers and using the free wifi which isn't the fastest I asked at reception if we could buy the upgraded wifi which cost £3 per day. I was given a code free of charge and shown how to input it into my tablet so the boys had the better and speedier internet access.
The hotel bar area is reasonably priced and the all inclusive breakfast was great as with two growing boys they do like to eat. There was a variety of fried breakfast, cereals, toast, croissants, juice, coffee, tea and much more...
We stayed in the hotel over a busy period with most of the rooms being hired by travelling football fans yet we never had any bother apart from on the second night we had music blaring from the room next to us. The night manager quickly gained access to the room and switched it off.....No problem!
There was a customer service employee who we had a great laugh with during our stay and it was he who tended to our every needs and sorted out the free wifi for the boys. I believe his name was Sean. At the end of our stay we filled in a customer satisfaction form nominating Sean for an award which I believe he would have received a half bottle of wine for his efforts.
Overall I enjoyed my stay in the Holiday Inn Express and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Exactly what we wanted. Hen party so we needed to be close to the town, which we were and we wanted rooms close together which they were. Half of the party were down for breakfast early and managed to get sausages and scrambled eggs, however when the other half came down there was no tables left, no food left and when the food did come out it was gone straight away before any of our party could get any. Food overall was a disappointment due to lack of choice but I suppose you get what you pay for and the hotel was fairly cheap.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riley1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Bromley, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Riley1993,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the hotel.

I am sorry that your breakfast experience was less than satisfactory and I would therefore like to apologise for the fact that you were unable to fully enjoy this part of your stay.

We are a very busy hotel during the summer months, and as our three hot breakfast items are cooked freshly, this can sometimes cause a delay for guests. Our breakfast service is available from 07:00 - 11:00 on weekend days and some guests do find that by taking breakfast either early or late it can be a more relaxing experience.

I am pleased to see that on a more positive note, you have scored the cleanliness of our rooms and customer service skills of the hotel team very highly.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Regards,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park

Property: Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Address: Wheelwright Way | Pride Park, Derby DE24 8SQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park hotel for a peaceful location 10 minutes' walk from Derby town centre. Our modern hotel in Derby is located within the Pride Park business and retail complex, just 10 minutes' walk from Derby train station and a short drive from the A1. Friendly staff and a convenient location mean guests return to Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park again and again. We're a good-value choice too, with free parking, complimentary continental breakfast with hot items and free Wi-Fi access throughout. Plus all of our bedrooms have recently been refurbished and feature a cool new look, we've added irons, ironing boards, better hairdryers and much more! There's space for up to 25 people at events in Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park's meeting room and wireless Internet throughout the hotel means you can catch up on email anytime. Direct trains speed you from nearby Derby station to Birmingham and central London and we're within easy reach of Rolls Royce's factories and offices. It's 29 miles to the stately grandeur and landscaped riverside gardens of Chatsworth House, while the thrilling rides in Alton Towers theme park are just 26 miles away. Pass through picturesque Matlock Bath en route to the dramatic moors of the Peak District, an hour's drive from the hotel. Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park's stylish Lobby bar is decorated in bold red and black and lined with leather sofas. There's a selection of restaurants within the Pride Park complex and you can ask our helpful Front Desk staff for dining recommendations in Derby town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park Hotel Derby
Holiday Inn Derby
Derby Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing