We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Brilliant Stay at this hotel, the staff were friendly and the room was beautiful. Location is brilliant also. Would definitely recommend and stay again. thank you very much for a fantastic experience :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinsmith2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01332 340633.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback.


Sincerely,

Jenny Cartwright
Sales Manager
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for one night (thank goodness it wasn't longer). Clearly short staffed, no lifts, no offer to help with luggage to room on second floor. Rooms poky and ceiling stained where roof had leaked. Walls painted battleship grey - adding to the prison cell vibe. Restaurant played techno disco music - hardly relaxing ended up with headache. Fire alarm went off (seems to be a regular occurrence). Wifi didn't work. Generally awful, would have to pay me to come back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank DiggerOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for yiour feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

With reference to the fire alarms going off on your stay, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience of the fire alarm sounding, however, we do need to follow procedures when an alarm sounds, to ensure the safety of all of our guests.
Our Wi-Fi is only available in public areas, however hard wired internet access is available in the bedrooms.
Once again, please accept my sincere apologies. I hope that this instance will not deter you from staying with Best Western in the future.

Sincerely,

Jenny Cartwright
Sales Manager
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel fairly nice overall. Checkout problem meant I was late for an appointment. Breakfast was average, but included in the price. You get what you pay for I suppose. The location would be good for the football stadium. Close to major roads so easy to use for travelling elsewhere

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

On arrival car park is at rear down a tight alley that was not well lit at night, person on reception was polite, friendly and efficient.
Room was spacious enough but carpet needed replacing and bed was squeaky.
Felt whole accommodation area and corridors need sprucing up.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 169Niall1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was given VIP tickets as a guest of Ducati during race day of the World Superbikes at Donington Park. The organiser decided that we should meet up the night before so we dont have such a long drive on sunday morning. As it was a last minute thing there wasnt much choice of hotels to stay at near the circuit. This was one of the closest that had availability. The pictures on the web look quite nice but when we pulled up into the carpark we were met with a much different picture. Red brick with plastic white windows. Very dull looking and the car park was riddled with pot holes. I was given a lift to the hotel. I dont think i would like to leave my car in the carpark over night. Not sure if there are cameras. Once you get to reception it doesnt look too bad. A little dated but ok. If you expect a motel kind of building you wont go far wrong. I have stayed in Best Western hotels before but never any like this one. The staff were friendly enough and the booking in process fairly straight forward. I was given my door card and off i went to my room. On arrival to my room the door card wouldnt work. I walked all the way back to reception and waited for my turn again. I advised them it wouldnt work so it was reprogrammed and off i went. On arrival to the door, this time it worked but as i entered i soon realised that someone else was already occupying it. Once it sunk in i quickly exited the room and walked back to reception. They apologised and gave me a different room number. It worked this time and there was no one else in there either. It was supposed to be an executive room but i wouldnt have said so. There was no trouser press in the room or iron. No complimentary drinks apart from one small water bottle. The TV was only about 17". The view from the room was straight down to the grotty carpark i had just parked in. All i could see was red brick walls and plastic windows. It was fairly quiet though even with the windows open all night. I did get woken by a boy racer at 04.30am doing burnouts up the main road but not really the hotels fault and can happen anywhere. The room was clean and the bed felt comfortable. I slept well but i had a few glasses of wine which always helps!!! The toilet roll holder was falling off the wall in the bathroom, the WC was stained and the shower had hardly any pressure. It was like washing with a mist system. Apart from that the bathroom was clean and the towels were fresh! The bar only seemed to have one type of white wine. Not sure about anything else. We ate out so dont know what the restaurant is like. In the morning i went down to breakfast and just had cereal. As you would expect. I didnt have the cooked breakfast so again i cannot comment. Check out was straight forward and we were on our way. To summarise.....if you are in the area for work or need somewhere fairly close to Donington Park Race Circuit then it serves it purpose. If you want somewhere romantic or luxurious look elsewhere.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 324 and it wasnt above the bar or next to the road. Views onto carpark :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01332 340633.


Sincerely,

Jenny Cartwright
Sales Manager
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We always take my mother and father away for a weekend for there birthdays and decided on The Stuart Hotel Derby as it looked nice enough and as I was collecting Best Western rewards points thought it would be somewhere different. The check in service was rather poor with an older gentleman who was really miserable and not friendly checking us in. After we got in the room I noticed 2 bulbs in the bathroom were not working and went back to reception to have them replaced, only to be told by the man on reception this would be done later - We went out for the afternoon and 6 hours later the bulbs had not been replaced, so I went back to reception and a different man who was not working got the bulbs replaced for us without any fuss - he was a lot more helpful on several occasions during our stay. The hotel is ideally placed for the large shopping centre and there is one pub which is in walking distance of the hotel. Apart from that we found Derby rather boring. The restaurant menu is limited and could do with revising to cater for more tastes - the breakfast was very good when it arrived after 30 minutes - at least I know it was freshly cooked. The hotel was extremely busy on the Saturday night and the restaurant only had 1 girl serving and the bar 1 man. Considering that the hotel should have known how many customers were booked in they should have had additional staff working - there were around 30 customers in the bar area mainly watching the football and the 1 man serving at the bar had to keep rushing off to the restaurant to provide drinks to customers in there which wasn't ideal when you had to keep waiting for 10-15 minutes each time to get served. Overall the hotel was clean enough and would be fine if you are attending some function in Derby

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank LoBeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01332 340633.


Sincerely,

Jenny Cartwright
Sales Manager
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#17 of 29 in Derby
506 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#19 of 29 in Derby
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Stuart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Stuart Hotel

Address: 119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £41 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Stuart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel is in the heart of Derby city centre close to many restaurants and bars with easy access from the motorways and the peak district. The hotel has 100 bedrooms, stylish restaurant, hip bar, conference and banqueting facilities, free car parking and free internet access throughout the hotel. We have excellent food and beverage options for you from our cocktails and nibblets menus to our a la carte menus and 24 hour room service menus. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Stuart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Derby
Best Western The Stuart Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing