We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aston Court Hotel(Derby)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,184)
Filter reviews
1,184 results
Traveller rating
192
311
296
186
199
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
311
296
186
199
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrefree car parkingfull englishrailway stationexcellent value for moneywestfield
Filter
Updating list...
592 - 597 of 1,184 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel receptionist - very polite, but not so helpful (see below). An old building trying to look modern, but failing. No elevator. Good furniture, but with no style - all felt thrown together. Good sized rooms (but then we were in a junior suite, so we don't know what standard rooms are like). Tiny TV screens for size of room. After getting into our bed clothes we found the sink, bath and toilet plumbing were all blocked. We had to dress again and move to another room. Then, after getting into bed clothes again and despite the ad here saying we would have wireless in our room, we found that we couldn't access wireless on any of our 4 devices. When the receptionist was told this he told us he could access it in reception. How should we have interpreted this? 1. We were expected to dress, yet again and work in the reception? 2. He didn't believe us? Anyway this was highly inconvenient. The plumbing in the second room was poor too, the sink filled up if you left the tap running while brushing teeth and the bath come shower was close. We didn't try breakfast as we just wanted to get on our way. This hotel is far from a 4 star hotel. If listed as a 3 star you may be disappointed. Best Western get your act together!!

Room Tip: If you need wireless tell them this is essential at the beginning and check it out on entering. You might check the plumbing too.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us about your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

With reference to the wi-fi, we only offer this in the public areas, however, we do offer wired internet access in the bedrooms.

With reference to the plumming issues you encountered, I have passed this information onto our maintenance department to be resolved.

Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but I do hope that this experience will not deter you from stay with Best Western in the future.

With kind regards

Jenny Cartwright - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Reception and bar clean and welcoming, however the rooms were a little tired and not spotless, the air conditioning unit was very noisy. Was OK if you want basic. Easy to park good size carpark. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

With kind regards

Jenny Cartwright - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Very poor breakfast,cold coffee, burnt toast undercooked poached egg, hubby fried breakfast was worse then a backstreet greasy cafe, room was to hot, no air con and empty box of tissues, complimentary chocolate wrapper was ripped and shabby looking. Not impressed, cleanliness was good though just need better attention to detail.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us about your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Once again please accept our apologies and we do hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with Best Western in the future.

With kind regards
Jenny Cartwright - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have just come home from Derby after leading a group of 32 over 70,s touring the Dales. It was not the original hotel booked by 'Just For Goups' to accomodate us as we should have been in The International, which has a lift. The Stuart has no lift and we were promised that most of the group would be on the ground floor. This was wrong as many were up stairs, among them a 93 year old. Luckily he managed the stairs alright.
The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant. The food was ok but came on cold plates, and we had to order all our dinners at the beginning of the week. We sometimes had to wait ages between courses too. The kitchen looked very clean but the service was slow. For accessabilty to the city centre you cannot fault it but sadly Derby has allowed the surrounding area ie: the old infirmary and the delightful Nightingale nursing home to fall into dereliction, making that area scruffy. I loved the dales and Derby is very interesting. I hope the council sorts London Road area out soon because The Stuart is well placed to become an asset to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pottyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us about your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Once again please accept our apologies and we do hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with Best Western in the future.

With kind regards
Jenny Cartwright - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews